We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish I could go back today.....!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Springdale, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“wish I could go back today.....!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is our second trip to Puerto Aventuras and our first to stay at the Omni Hotel. This is the most peaceful hotel we have ever experienced. Our ocean front room included a fabric hammock with a view of the ocean that I found hard to leave.
While the beach has erroded somewhat, the crystal clear water and fabulous snorkeling right off the beach do make up for it. the pool side food is wonderful, especially the fish tacos!
The staff are very friendly and the surrounding area- complete with dolphin, sting ray and seal watching while sitting at outside cafes make this place our new favorite spot.

Room Tip: higher room, ocean side offers the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    104
    17
    13
    15
See reviews for
80
159
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We won a 3-night stay at the Omni Puerto Aventuras at a school fundraising auction and decided to add 3 more nights on the last week of October to make it a wedding anniversary celebration. It was a leap of faith because you never really know if the website is accurate or not - never been there, no expectations - just wanted to get away for a week. We were so blown away by all the amazing surprises and perks of staying at this hotel that we are DEFINITELY GOING BACK!!!

1. Gorgeous white sand beach and coral reefs teeming with life - Imagine wading through warm calm waters and seeing tons of sea life swimming around you. I'm nursing a frozen shoulder so I couldn't go snorkeling, but it didn't matter - I just had to wade waist-deep and look down at the corals and colorful fish of different sizes and shapes. We even saw several thin long fish "running" on the surface of the water on their tails! My husband went snorkeling and had a blast! Sure, the beach was small but at that off-season time of year, it was big enough to secure everyone staying at the hotel a happy spot under the Mexican Riviera sun.

2. Swimming pools and wading bar - I'm not a pool person but it's nice to know there are alternatives to people who don't like having sand in their swimwear. The wading bar has two jacuzzis, one at each end, bar stools and some bar tables all in the water. And they know their food and drinks. We tried mostly everything in the menu and they were just delicious. The drinks (you've got to try their margaritas and pinacolada) are to die for.

3. Free breakfast - We live in the SF Bay Area, so that having poached eggs with all the bells and whistles and fresh fruit/juice, coffee and sweetbreads with stunning views, warm breeze and pelicans diving into the water for their morning chow is not our idea of a free breakfast.

4. Beautiful (and CLEAN) hotel - We got so spoiled here that it was so hard to get back to our usual routine in the US. Whoever designed the hotel did an outstanding job with all the details and function. The rooms are clean (plus you have your own hot tub in the privacy of your deck) so you can enjoy the evening either listening to the live band music somewhere in the restaurant stretch if you have a garden/street view, or relax as you look at the ocean if you have an ocean view. Our first booking was the street view and I really liked dancing by the deck, and we switched to the ocean view later on which my husband liked better, because he likes to relax and sleep more than I do.

5. The Stretch - The hotel is situated beside a dolphin cove where you can swim with dolphins, manta rays or feed manatees for half the price and double the time you get to do at Sea World. Around this cove are several Mexican and Italian restaurants all with outdoor seating. There are no wrong choices to make - we explored and so did our palates and ended up gaining a few pounds. Communication was a very pleasant experience. People spoke broken English and we spoke broken Spanish, but we had a great time. There are also a lot of stores for souvenirs where you can haggle using broken Spanish. We got jewelry dirt cheap as well as other items that you normally pay more at other local stores or in the US.

6. The Sweetest Staff - One of the most important considerations I have in rating a place is the service, because even if the hotel and its perks are the greatest, if I felt in any way dissatisfied with how I have been treated, I'll never go back. We just fell in love with the people here. They were warm and friendly, and are always alert to make sure you are taken care of. From manager to food to the cleaning staff, we give them all our thumbs up. What can I say but "thank you" to all the extra effort and care they showed in making our stay - and our anniversary- the best yet. From check-in to check-out, it was perfect.

Room Tip: If you like night life, choose the garden room and have free live music streaming in until 11 pm. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder,Co
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are looking for a great beach..skip this place..the beach is gone..gone..gone..the hotel put rocks in to keep the bar from ending up in the Caribbean..too bad ..this was once a beautiful place..no more..skip it..and go to an area that still has a beach..

Room Tip: skip the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Past Omni Puerto Aventuras Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here in this forum. The resort´s beach is smaller than it has been in recent times, but just to clarify there are still beach areas at the hotel.
There has been erosion and the ownership has been working with the local ecological authorities to enhance the beach and enlarge it.
As awlays, we will continue with this project and of course provide the excellence in service and accommodations that so many have commented on in this site.
We appreciate your feedback and hope when you are back in the area, that the Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort will be a place for you and your family to visit.
Sincerely,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
OMni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Omni PA and we agree this was the most stress free place to be this time of year. It is the slower season in this part of Mexico which made for a wonderful stay. There is not much of a beach but the snorkling great. There is a dive shop on the grounds where you can rent snorkle equipment, schedule a dive lesson or even get your PADI certification. (see seperate review for Dive Adventures) The Staff in the resturant was fabulous. They leave you wanting for nothing and in our short stay became our newest friends. There is also a small sushi/taco stand that we found to be some of the best sushi we have had. Our room was clean and comfortable with a hammock on the balcony that I used daily and a whilrpool spa that we did not use. Other nice features of the area include resturants, shopping, a convenence store and a dolphin discovery all within a 1 to three minute walk. The Hotel is in a gated comunity with pleanty of security so we felt safe anywhere we went. As with any fair review there are a couple of down sides. There is no elevator in this three story hotel and the sidewalks outside of the hotel are uneven and rough. All in all we will go back if nothing more than to sit back and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've stayed here 2 consecutive summer vacations. I love the hotel and the whole resort (few rooms, nice pools, nice restaurant and bar, convenient gym), but this year I found that the hotel beach is increasingly accessed by local people. Although I'm not against this, it gets a point in which it's really disturbing because they are so many using hotel facilities that I guess it's something the hotel administration needs to take care of (Agree with local authorities to set up a public spot with adequate facilities in the area?). Nevertheless, I'll continue going every time I can because the overall experience is worth with no doubt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Omni Puerto Aventuras Repeat Guests,
Gracias for such a nice review of your return stay with us and we appreciate all your support of our little gem of a resort. Your comments are important to us and please rest assured that we will always continue to improve upon the wonderful experiences we wish to continually provide to our valued customers.
On some occasions the resort does have more activity than usual with people from the neighboring community. As we are not an all inclusive resort, we do allow visitors to come and dine at our restaurants and see our beautiful hotel. You are correct that we should always make sure that our guests are comfortable and well taken care of, which we will continue to do so in our genuine, hospitable manner.
On beahlf of our fellow Associates at the Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, we look forward to welcome you back home to su casa, one day soon.
Warnest regards,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel and it was the best we could ever do! It's a small (less than 30 rooms) hotel, with a very nice pool and it's so relaxing! The staff was wonderful, very friendly and always helpful. It's located close to restaurants and bars in Puerto Aventuras, as well as to the dolphine acquarium and marina. We would go back again next year, if possible, since we just loved it there! The roms are very nicely set up, with an outdoors jacuzzi and a large balcony. Thanks to everybody at Omni Puerto Aventuras!

Room Tip: Try to book an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We used the Costco Travel website to book this trip only 5 days before departure. I plan for the moment. Anyways, I usually book my trips by piecing it together (air, hotel, car rental). This time, I didn't want to spend the time to book each component to the trip. We used Costco Travel and I was more that pleased with the results. We ended up with good seats on the airplane, there and back. Then there was a van to take us to the hotel from the airport in Cancun. The van also was there for the return to the airport.
When we arrived at the hotel, I was more than pleased with the view of the beach and pool from the lobby. Then when we arrived at the room, it was outstanding! Each morning the breakfast was included and not your usual toast and coffee. The breakfast included everything!, coffee, juice, toast, eggs, bacon, pastries, fruit....
The beach, wow! It was beautiful! Plus, the pool is next to the beach and there is a bar between the pool and the beach. You felt like you had the whole beach to yourself. If you go to the beach in Playa del Carmen, you will be sharing your beach with hundreds of people. Staying at the Omni is worth it just for the beach.
I rate the Omni excellent. When you put it all together, you have the hotel, service and food. If you have kids, the beach is perfect. Across the street is the Dolphin Discovery, which the kids will enjoy. Your wallet won't enjoy Dolphin Discovery.
There are several restaurants across the street, if you don't want to eat at the hotel.
Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: check the Omni website, but we had the garden view which had a view of Dolphin Discovery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Puerto Aventuras
Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Puerto Aventuras Omni
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.