We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort to your Saves list
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“What a great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel and it was the best we could ever do! It's a small (less than 30 rooms) hotel, with a very nice pool and it's so relaxing! The staff was wonderful, very friendly and always helpful. It's located close to restaurants and bars in Puerto Aventuras, as well as to the dolphine acquarium and marina. We would go back again next year, if possible, since we just loved it there! The roms are very nicely set up, with an outdoors jacuzzi and a large balcony. Thanks to everybody at Omni Puerto Aventuras!

Room Tip: Try to book an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    116
    23
    13
    16
See reviews for
92
195
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We used the Costco Travel website to book this trip only 5 days before departure. I plan for the moment. Anyways, I usually book my trips by piecing it together (air, hotel, car rental). This time, I didn't want to spend the time to book each component to the trip. We used Costco Travel and I was more that pleased with the results. We ended up with good seats on the airplane, there and back. Then there was a van to take us to the hotel from the airport in Cancun. The van also was there for the return to the airport.
When we arrived at the hotel, I was more than pleased with the view of the beach and pool from the lobby. Then when we arrived at the room, it was outstanding! Each morning the breakfast was included and not your usual toast and coffee. The breakfast included everything!, coffee, juice, toast, eggs, bacon, pastries, fruit....
The beach, wow! It was beautiful! Plus, the pool is next to the beach and there is a bar between the pool and the beach. You felt like you had the whole beach to yourself. If you go to the beach in Playa del Carmen, you will be sharing your beach with hundreds of people. Staying at the Omni is worth it just for the beach.
I rate the Omni excellent. When you put it all together, you have the hotel, service and food. If you have kids, the beach is perfect. Across the street is the Dolphin Discovery, which the kids will enjoy. Your wallet won't enjoy Dolphin Discovery.
There are several restaurants across the street, if you don't want to eat at the hotel.
Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: check the Omni website, but we had the garden view which had a view of Dolphin Discovery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Wrote a review last July and now have traveled back to pa 8 x over the last year, never once have I seen any improvement in the beach area, it's only getting worse. The website still does not reflect the fact that the beach in front of the omni is none existent. It's simply misrepresentation of the beach area. Maybe they should spend money to do some renovation since the wait staff are great and the hotel is outdated but gets charming reviews, it is an omni, need to step it up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Repeat Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort,
Thank you for your comments posted on this forum. We appreciate your feedback, which helps us to analyze our operation and improve upon our service and offering to our guests.
The beach at the resort has suffered erosion, most recently and is reduced compared to former years and we are in the midst of a recuperation project with the local authorities once we get through the current season. The tides do change the coastal area and either give or take away beach, depending on weather patterns as well.
We are doing our annual maintenance to our hotel and will also look to enhance our property for the future enjoyment of our repeat as well as new guests coming to the Riviera Maya.
Hope we have the opporunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Omni is an excellent hotel. I stayed here for eight days and enjoyed everything about the hotel.

FOOD: good; had both room service and meals at the hotel restaurant. Everything was good, though nothing was outstanding.

ROOM: large, nice and spacious. The nighttime music can be heard from most street-side rooms, however, it ends at 10pm. I recommend a sea-side room.

AREA: the area has a small marina and about 30 shops (1/2 are bars and restaurants and 1/2 are stores, including a convenience store). About 1 kilometer away is a supermarket if you need anything else. Dolphin Discovery is located adjacent to the property (swim with the manatees, dolphins, and sea lions)

Room Tip: sea-side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband, son, and I have been all over the world, and one place we consistently come back to year after year is the Omni Puerto Aventuras. It says a great deal about the way a hotel is managed to see the same wonderful familiar faces after almost ten years, who also remember you each time you visit. I do not have much to add to what has already been said by other reviewers, other than to thank the staff for another relaxing June vacation for my family. We really did not want to leave... And to anyone considering staying here, you will not find a hotel with a finer staff who always go out of their way to make you feel welcome and special and that they really are happy to see you. Keep in mind the vibe here is very laid back- relaxation is the order of the day- but service is outstanding. Special thanks to our friends in El Xenote who are so sweet about preparing and serving the fish we catch (with, of course, a hamburguesa for our son). And a special shout out to Abner, who is so patient with me as I butcher the language and who tries to teach me a little more Spanish during breakfast each time we visit. :-)

Room Tip: We prefer the marina view rooms, where we can sit on the balcony and watch the dolphins and their tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Past Omni Puerto Aventuras Family,
"Gracias" for such a wonderful review of our unique, intimate Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort. It is truly a gem, with only 30 oversized guestrooms, located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, that is harmonious in it´s surroundings so that a truly relaxing family or couples vacation can be enjoyed.
We are very proud of our Associates, who pride themselves on delievring warm, genuine hospitality in order to fulfill our valued clients experience. It is heart-warming to them that so many of our guests remember them, and acknowledge their moments of service provided. They truly enjoy seeing the familiar faces come back and visit year after year as well as to welcome the first time guests.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome your family and you back home to "su casa" one day soon. We will be waiting for you.
Warmest regards,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights between 26 April and 04 May 2012 and enjoyed a fabulous stay in room 307 at the Omni. Although the hotel only has 30 rooms surprisingly it was not full during our stay and the restaurants in Puerto Aventuras were also relatively quiet.

I agree fully with the other reviews praising the excellent location, pool area, restaurant and staff so will try and provide some additional information about the hotel:

Room - We slept comfortably on the wide 6' 6" bed. Our bath towels were changed twice daily, Beach / pool towels changed daily and a nightly bed turn-down service provided. We also enjoyed the almost daily towel art display we received. The free wifi worked well in the room and we made use of the fridge / minibar to store additional items purchased at the OXOXO supermarket opposite the hotel entrance.

Swimming Pools - There are 3 pools with 2 being interconnecting and suitable for children as the deepest area is 3 foot deep. The pools were at their busiest on a Sunday when some local family's purchased day tickets to enjoy the hotel's facilities.

Beach - very nice but quiet small. Work is commencing shortly to recover some of the beach lost to past hurricanes. There are some rocks and stones in the shallows of the sea so you would be advised to wear water shoes.

Hotel Xanute Restaurant - We really enjoyed the American breakfast each morning. In the evening it is the only restaurant in PA that provides a view and the sound of the ocean although after 7:30pm you are just left with the sound to enjoy. Food quality was good and represented value for money although more expensive then the other restaurants in PA.

The Omni was recommended to us by friends and we have no reservation in recommending this fabulous hotel to others.

Room Tip: If possible I recommend you stay in a 3rd floor Ocean View room as the view and lack of any noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Puerto Aventuras is a gated community about an hour south of the Cancun airport. The Omni PA is a 30 room boutique hotel on the beach. We loved our stay here! Our room was on the third floor (the top floor) and therefore, had a cathedral ceiling. The room was spacious and clean. It had a walk-in shower and you could go from the shower outside to the balcony and to the spa tub on the balcony. Of course, there was also an entrance to the balcony from the br. The balcony was large and had a hammock which my husband enjoyed. Our king-sized bed was firm and comfortable. I should mention that there are no elevators in the hotel so if that is an issue for you, request a room on the first floor.

Oh, I should mention that we had an "American Breakfast" included in our package. It had everything you could want: a fruit plate or fresh squeezed orange juice, two eggs any style, a choice of meat, a basket of sweet rolls and tea or coffee. I read elsewhere a complaint that you had to order this breakfast but that is not true. The American breakfast is the most expensive meal on the menu at 195 pesos. You could order anything you wanted and had a credit of 195 pesos. The breakfasts were excellent and promptly prepared. We occasionally enjoyed the Mexican eggs.


Service was wonderful at the Omni. Special thanks to Jorge in reception, Abner at breakfast in El Xenote, Miguel at the Pina Colada and Edier, waiter on the beach. Each tried his best to meet our needs and usually exceded our expectations. An example of the fine service: I had ordered too much for dinner one nighta at El Xenote. The next day for lunch I took my pulled pork to the restaurant and asked if they could heat it up for me. That's all I wanted. They wanted to know should they make it into tacos for me? Did I want guacomole? etc. All I wanted was for then to heat up my dish. They always wanted to go the extra mile.

Unfortunately, due to several hurricanes and the enlargement of the entrance to the marina, the beach is quite eroded. However, there is beach space to the right and left of the hotel where you can relax on the sand under palapas. The snorkeling in front of the hotel is quite good. We took our own snorkeling equipment but you can rent it. We saw turtles -- actually swam with one for about a minute-- a small ray, various small, colorful fish, and my husband saw a moray eel. The beach is shallow for quite some time and the surf is calm. We did not see any sea urchins--yay!

Puerto Aventuras is close to many activities and sites you might want to visit -- Tulum, Xplore, Rio Secreto among many others, and is 15 minutes from Playa Del Carmen. It is not great if you want night life but we are early to bed and get up early.

Outside of the hotel is where they do dolphin swims. It is fun to watch. Around the dolphin area are a series of outdoor restaurants where you can have an inexpensive meal and watch the dolphins swim.

I became a certified diver in November and this trip I dove in PA and Cozumel. The diving in both places was excellent. In fact, the PA sites to dive are so close to the hotel, we actually came back to PA in between dives. We had very short boat rides to the reefs.

We loved our stay at the Omni Puerto Aventuras and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Puerto Aventuras
Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Puerto Aventuras Omni
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.