We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riviera Maya Best Resort - Aventure Cove/Spa Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% OFF + $1800 CREDIT
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Riviera Maya Best Resort - Aventure Cove/Spa Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This was our first experience in the Riviera Maya area and I am very happy that we had the opportunity to discover the Aventura Cove. Combined with the Aventura SPA the whole complex became available for our leisure. The restaurants in both areas were excellent and the service was impecable. We were there for the week of Feb 6, 2011. We were welcomed at the front desk with a refreshment and directed to the check In. From then on the vacation experience started. The rooms are excellent, views are tremendous but most of all and I am stressing it again, the Service by all was "EXCELLENT". We were told by many staff members that they are proud to be working for the "Palace" group, and they pass this message on to the guests. A happy employee goes a long way in making ones vacation a very enjoyable one. Even though this hotel does not have direct access to the beach, in my opinion was made up with the different lagoons and pools that are within the complex. Also, being a guest of the Palace Resorts, it gave us the capabilities of visiting another one of their resorts (Playacar) with the same benefits that we had at the Aventura Cove. (Meals, drinks, facilities, etc.) Also, another plus as it was to our surprise once we checked in, the resort is offering their guests a "Resort Credit" of $1500US that could be used on amenities in the hotel, outside tours, or other amenities that are offered at other Palace resorts such as Golf. Other features that we used are WIreless Internet in our room along with free long distance back to Canada. That is also available to US and Mexico.

These comments are from the heart and they represent the feelings that my wife and I shared at the hotel. We truly had a positive experience and hopefully it will be the same for others that visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    395
    196
    84
    96
See reviews for
631
434
19
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DSM
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Disregard any of the negative reviews you have read. Resort is beautifully manicured and very clean. We stayed on the "family friendly" side which is the south 1/3 of the resort property. Staff was incredible. The only place that I have seen service like this, is at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs. This place is indeed a 5 star resort. This includes the staff from the 3 different family friendly restaurants, to the front desk and especially the activities event staff. What I mean by this, is that they got you involved with activities and made the whole week extremely fun for the entire family. Jairo and Victor knew how to entertain the kids and make sure all were included. They also knew when to not bother you and give you your space. Jasmin was excellent keeping our drinks coming from the poolside bar and we were never left thirsty. Carolina was very caring with our kids in the kids club and had many activities for the to do when they did not want to be in the sun. This resort is right on the ocean, but you can not swim in the ocean, as it is a rock ocean front and coral reef bottom. At first I was dis-appointed by this, but you still the ocean from your room and their is an ocean inlet lagoon right on property by the pool so you can still go snorkeling or scuba diving in the lagoon to see all of the beautifil ocean life. One more thing, the rooms have tile floors. This is because the sandy environment would ruin the carpet and hurricane sdo happen. Much easier to dry off the tile floor than replace the carpet. I would take my family back here in a heart beat. A special thank you to the in-laws that made this vacation possible for all 11 of us. It was an incredible week!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Right when we got to the hotel, the staff took care of our bags and treated us to their specialty drink (non-alcoholic). They made sure that we were very comfortable. The room wasn't huge but enough room for 2 double beds, a table and a jacuzzi bath tub. We had the family suite which was a connecting room to a king size bed. Our room was close to the lagoon and pool. The room was always clean and each day, after the cleaning service had been there, there would be towel animals around the room. There's a show every night and we went to all of them. The food was good, we went to all of the restaurants. We enjoyed all of them except for Mundaca. The lagoon was the perfect size. There is a snorkel tour every day, and you can use kayaks in it too. The pool was huge but freezing if it's not a warm day. The staff was great. Carolina at the kids club was amazing and the kids didn't want to leave when we picked them up. Victor and Jairo were great entertainers at the pool/lagoon area. We did the Chichen Itza and Isla Mujeres tours. Chichen Itza was incredible and Isla Mujeres' snorkeling was great. The only thing was that there were lots of people trying to sell us things that got a bit annoying. We also did the swimming with the dolphins. That was one of the best experiences. This trip was so much fun and the hotel was great. Definitely want to come back again!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Please ignore all negative reviews, especially about the food. Anyone that says the food here is inedible obviously has no taste buds or ability to try different things. There's various choices at the buffet and we were always able to get pasta or chicken/fish/steak cooked to order etc. there. The guacamole at the Mexican restaurant and the Mayan Coffee's were excellent. I'm an avid guacamole fan and make it all the time, I took home their recipe!
The room service was excellent and the a la carte restaurants were amazing too. We had access to the SPA side as well and enjoyed their restaurants. We especially found the brick oven pizza / burgers etc... by the pool excellent.

The kitchen tour was a nice treat, it says a lot about a resort when they are comfortable enough to show you their kitchen.

Every staff member always had a smile and would go out of their way to say hello and get to know us, except for one Hugo who messed up our SPA reservations and did not seem to enjoy his job. All the others more than made up for him though!

As for the beach, we knew before going what to expect so that wasn't an issue... we enjoyed the cove thoroughly and went kayaking, snorkeling and fed the fish. We did excursions and fully enjoyed the beach at Playacar Palace, Senior Frog's is there and we had a blast. Not to mention the shopping in Playa del Carmen, a short walk away!!

We also went to Tulum/Xpu Ha and swam with the dolphins AMAZING and for FREE- using the $1500 resort credits. We enjoyed the SPA, mani/pedi/massages - although I must admit the massages were a bit too deep for mine and my friends liking.

The rooms were always immaculate and we received flowers and towel art daily.
The arcade and disco were a lot of fun! For those that say there's not much for kids, they weren't really looking.

The entertainment staff did a great job. We've seen better shows elsewhere and at other Palace Resorts but they put a lot of effort. Our favorites were the Fire Show and the break-dance. The Michael Jackson was fine but Cancun Palace has them beat!

I would recommend this hotel, we had a wonderful stay here! Go and Enjoy with an OPEN MIND and PALETTE !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We booked a two week trip with young children, parents and grandparents to the Aventura Cove Palace in December 2010. We left after 2 nights. I do have to commend the management of the resort, who worked very, very hard to make our trip more enjoyable. They were great, but unfortunately, they just didn't have much to work with here.
The rooms need a good, strong cleaning. They are showing their age, showers are dirty and musty and the bathtub in the middle of the room is something I'll never quite understand. The rooms are also extremely noisy. The tile hallways have nothing to absorb noise, so you hear every word uttered by those walking the halls... to say nothing of the service carts that seem omnipresent.
By far, however, must be the food. My general philosophy is that you don't come to an all inclusive for food. However, it's fair to expect it to be edible. This is not hyperbole- the food here is inedible. Breakfast buffet is terrible, and if you can't do breakfast right you can't do food right. There's an appalling lack of choice, despite the buffets taking up a lot of real estate. And, for a Mexican resort to have awful guacamole, salsa and chips is simply unacceptable. Dinner took FOREVER, and the food was just not good at all. We basically fed ourselves on the snacks we had leftover from the plane ride down.
Again, let me say that management is excellent. They should really be working for a better resort, because they handled matters beautifully and they deserve to have satisfied customers. If the best thing you can say about a resort is its management, however, the resort has some serious issues to deal with.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This place was nice except there is no access to the beach. There is a man made cove that is sort of gross and hard rocky "sand". There is a huge rock ledge that prevents from getting close to the water. The resort was nice but if you are looking to feel the waves on your legs and your toes in the sand do not go here. The staff was gracious in getting us transferred up to a sister hotel Playacar Palace in Playa del Carmen which had a wonderful beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

room: great; property: great; service: very good with a caveat; kids camp: great; pool: great, but should have a hot tub; excursions: excellent; spa: excellent; entertainment: very good
food: lousy to horrible; service regarding the booking of excursions: horrible.
On the 1,500 dollar credit, beware: it is extremely frustrating at first to figure it all out. Only 300 is allowed for the spa; golf is unlimited and the excursions are very good. But, at the hotel one hand does not know what the other is doing. Expect to spend one morning figuring it out and trying to arrange it all. We used all our 1,500, but it was a challenge.
we came with 10 people, 2 teens and 2 young boys. all had a very good time, but the crappy food really put a slight damper on things. went to playa del carmen for dinner, which was a great place to visit. trip to tulum and to swim with dolphins was excellent.
Can't recommend the place, though, because food was, at times, inedible.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.