We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TEENS ENJOYED IT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
levant, maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“TEENS ENJOYED IT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent 8 days at HRH in March. I am a single parent with 4 teens ages 18, 17, 17, and 16. It was a very relaxing vacation and the teens had a blast. We stayed on the Hacienda side. The Heaven side is for adults only and frankly, I did not go explore it. Here is what I thought of HRH.

Food: No complaints. Plenty to choose from. We got into the asian restaurant twice which is popular as the chef puts on a show and makes the food on a hot grill in front of you.

Beach: There is none. If you enjoy walking an endless strip of beach you won't find it here. I rather liked it that way. There are sheltered lagoons so you can enjoy the ocean without being beat up by the waves. You can snorkel there but won't necessarilly see all that much.

Pools: The pool staff was awesome in getting those that wanted to participate, involved in some fun game or activity. There are several pools for all age groups. They were cool and clean. MY BIG COMPLAINT.....there are not enough lounge chairs and not enough shade. HRH is putting in a ton of new palm trees when they should be putting up those tiki hut shelters. This is a family resort and there was no shade for some of those families with small children. Guests get up at 5am and stake out their shaded hut area by putting personal items on the chairs and then aren't seen actually enjoying the pool till 10 or 11am.

Resort credits: Yes , you can actually use them. If you use all 1800 credits, you will be billed 20% which is $360. The least expensive massage is 50 minutes for $140. So essentially you are paying $28 dollars for it. We used our resort credits. We went on a trip to Tank-Ha which are cenotes and zip lines. We paid out-of-pocket about $20 each. It was FANTASTIC! We swam in 4 sink holes/cenotes.......one with bats flying overhead! We took two zip line rides, a short canoe paddle, and then had an awesome mayan meal at a village. There were bathroom facilities there. It was all-inclusive. We thought it was a deal and the teens had a blast. Another trip we took was speed boat and snorkel. That was decent also. We booked a trip to Venado beach but the booking was not correct on our ticket and we missed the bus. We got there hours later and it started to pour so we came back to the resort. Had we gotten there at the correct time, we would have had a few hours at this nice beach. The staff were very helpful at Venado. The place was clean. I did not like that at their entrance there were skanky looking men smoking and hanging around. You also pass a farm house where they keep their horses……..and dozens of roosters in tiny cages. On that note, I would not return there. Pick another trip. I went to the travel planners and asked for our money back as we arrived hours late and did not get any time on the beach. They declined even though it was their fault putting the wrong time on our ticket. They called the day before we left and gave us a refund on our out of pocket cost but by then, there was nothing available for us to use our credits on. I was disappointed.

Resort credits can also be used for trips like dolphin swim, Chichen Itza, Tulum, Aktun Chen caverns, and Hard Rock Cancun tour. You can also get Golf, dinners, spa, photography, and wine,

We got in a cab and went to Playa Del Carmen. It was the touristy thing to do and we had fun. We bought some souvenirs and hung on the beach for a while. I think if you use your resort credits and book the Senor Frog trip, it will bring you right to Playa Del Carmen.

Overall, it was nice on the Hacienda side but no night life as it is mostly families. We stayed at Moon Palace two years ago. There were more activities there for the teens and for myself. I probably would not return to Hard Rock. I’ll try something different or return to Moon Palace.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hello twinmomLevant_Maine!

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about Hard Rock Hotel Rivera Maya! We are beyond thrilled that you and your teens enjoyed your time in Riviera Maya with us. Because we pride ourselves on providing exceptional, friendly and unparalleled service to our rockstars.
It’s great that you took advantage of our Limitless Resort Credits program to get such amazing tours and services, however I would like to extend our heartfelt apologies for the Venado Beach booking misunderstanding and the inconveniences this caused you.
We hope you keep us in mind next time you visit Riviera Maya. It was great serving you. Kind regards!

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    640
    327
    126
    148
See reviews for
885
826
25
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Where do I even start…. I saw this property when it was a Palace Resort, and during the transformation to become a Hard Rock. I was just there this past week for the Grand Opening event with Bon Jovi, and it's incredible how amazing the changes are!

The Bon Jovi concert was incredible, of course, but that aside, everything else was just amazing. The amount of work they put into the details in the decor at this property blew my mind! It's stunning!

The service is some of the best I've seen in Mexico. From the house keeping, right to the staff around the pool, and even on the beach, bringing drinks and even food orders!

The beach looks sooooo much better than it used to. Even though it's a man made beach still, it feels just like a real beach now that they've taken out the rock steps and placed sand for a beach feel. There's tons of pretty fish right in each of the inlets across the property as well. You don't even need to sign out the snorkel equipment if you don't want, you can just stand knee deep and watch them swim around you! Incredible!

The entertainment is better than most resorts I've seen as well. Live bands at the pool! whaaaat!?!! yes please! Amazing!

I could go on and on about the food, the entertainment, the staff… but you just need to see it for yourself. The fact that the resort is so large, means there's also lots of variety for whatever you're looking for. If you want something more peaceful, you can grab one of the pod chairs on the beach and just chill. If you want to get a bit wilder, you can hang around the main pools and do the activities or listen to some music.

Overall, one of the best trips I've had in a long time for sure!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hey mexicanjammer!

How’s it going? First and foremost, thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and for taking the time to share such incredible feedback with us; we're thrilled to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your every single wish. Overall, it sounds like you and your friends enjoyed an authentic experience that rocked and we hope you will keep us in mind the next time you come back to Riviera Maya.
Thanks again for your five-star review

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I was lucky enough to escort a group of guys to the opening of the Hard Rock Hotel. They were Wounded Warriors who happened to be in Puerto Aventuras for a fishing tournament the same weekend.
When Dana from the PR department from Miami found out they were here she got them set up for celebrity status at the opening.
The hotel was beautiful. The staff could not have been better. We enjoyed wondering around and looking at the memorabilia. Great food and drinks.
Everyone at Hard Rock made us feel like they were honored that we were there and just wanted to know what they could do to make our visit a wonderful experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi there Glenna U!

We were really excited to receive the positive feedback about your recent stay here at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. These comments confirm that we've accomplished our goal - to create authentic experiences that truly rock for every one of our guests. This is our passion and we're glad it’s working. We're grateful to have been part of your recent travels and hope you'll be back so you can experience the amazing Rockstar treatment you already know. Thanks again for your five-star review!

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. It's huge and so much today. We've never had better service...I mean over the top initiative. Heaven side Lobby Bar has a duo of bar tenders, Jose Ramon and Carlos who are very skilled and creative. They mmake special drinks just for you. Their mango Martini was amazing. They are quite the characters and make everyone relax and laugh. Restaurants are greatand there is a good sselection. Pool bar is loud and crazy on Heaven side bit there are very quiet bars as well. There is a points promotion where you can book unlimited services at the spa. The spa therapists are the best skilled I've had. This is an amazing resort for adults of all ages, good mixed crowd, and families too. Sun is bright, memorabilia is really cool to look at, golf carts take you from adult lobby (heaven) to family side (aka hell or hacienda). Lots of grounds for walking and exploring. Monkeys are native on the property high up in the canopy on one side of the property. Music keeps it upbeat...and its not just hard rock, its a good mix. $18 cab ride to Playa del Carmen and $10 ferry from there to Cozumel. Check out amazing fitness center with spin classes and zumba, morning yoga at hit over the sea. Water aerobics at the pool. Not on a true beach bit they have added sand and amazing lounge beds. They have rock barriers blocking sea but water gathers in what they call coves. People are snorkeling and kayaking. Bring a raft for the pool and bug spray for evening...not too many mosquitoes but they are around. The amenities are simply luxurious, lots of pool chairs and beds. Building 3 centrally located. Pick whether you want to be closer to lobby or pool area or in middle. Good free WiFi and phone calls to US from room. Good nightlife whether it is a show or Live Music or Disco which opens at 10p. Room service included and mini bar and liquor in room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi there BaltimoreRose!

Isn’t great how a simple visit turns out into so much fun? We are thrilled to see that you loved every moment of your stay at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. Your review confirms our commitment to create authentic experiences that rock for all of our guests; that’s our passion and we are glad to see it’s working.
We love hearing that you received such an attentive service from José Ramón and Carlos; I will let them know you thought they were outstanding.
On behalf of everyone at our team THANK YOU for recommending us so highly. We hope to be honored with your preference in the near future so you can experience the rockstar treatment you already know.

Kind regards.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Hard Rock Riviera Maya and have a new favorite resort. The Hard Rock rocked everything from food to service to nightlife. There is something for EVERYONE at this resort.

The Hacienda side had fabulous pools and great restaurants. The super cool/hipster lobby was a great place for kids and adults to hang out. They even had karaoke with a LIVE band which was a blast to watch. The cove's are excellent for kids/adults who want to swim, snorkel or kayak in the ocean.

The Heaven side was equally as nice and also had a killer lobby area to hang out, get a drink and take in the gorgeous surroundings. The pools were fab as was the poolside service. I loved that you could be in the main pool and rock out to tunes or slip away to a more quiet pool and relax. There was even a teen disco!

The rooms reminded of an upscale Vegas hotel. Our mini bar was always stocked and having turn down service at night was great. The room had Rock Spa products which smelled divine. Having complimentary WiFi in the room was a plus and the free calls back to the US to check on the kids was a great perk.

We ate in several of the restaurants and really appreciated not having to make advance reservations. You just never know how your day is going to go and we loved not having to rush back to the room to get ready for dinner. We were able to dine when WE wanted to. All the food and service was phenomenal.

The grounds were very well maintained and I loved that there were small coves where you could veg out with just a couple other people or larger coves with lots of chairs. The guitar shaped hot tub over the ocean was pretty cool not to mention the martini bar/hut overlooking the ocean. There were tons of out of the way places to hangout.

The resort was just a $20 cab ride from Playa del Carmen so if you want to leave the resort (not sure why you would as they offer more than town does) but if you do it is just a short cab ride away.

This was an adult vacation for me however, I can't wait to return and bring my kids, as the resort offers fun for all ages. I've traveled extensively and can say with full confidence the Hard Rock Riviera Maya is at the top of my favorite list!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hey arenee!

We couldn’t be any gladder to see that your vacations at HRHRM rocked! Thank you for stopping by and leave us a note about your experience at our hotel. These comments confirm that we have achieved our goal that is to generate authentic Rockstar experiences for all our guests. It’s wonderful that you enjoyed the food, the drinks, the rooms and of course the service.
It’s been a pleasure having you here, can’t wait to welcome you again with the whole family to deliver another even better experience at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya.

Kind regards

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Beautiful facility, very friendly, excellent restaurants, and clean. We were there 5 nights for my son's wedding and we will be back! Wait staff was excellent! The pools needed some shade over the water, and the pool closes too early.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi there Dubra Ann W!

On behalf of everyone at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya I would like to thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your fun experience at our hotel. There is nothing more encouraging for us to keep working hard every day to achieve every guest’s satisfaction than reading these wonderful comments. Thank you for making us part of your big celebration. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards!

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I was lucky enough to have been invited to attend the Grand Opening of HRHRM May 4 and WOW! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left our needs were met.

The staff is always close by to ask if you need another cocktail or warmly greet you with "hola"! Our room was restocked everyday with amenities, turndown service and full bar...no complaints at all.
The food is far above what you see and most all inclusive and includes some truly unique dining experiences like Zen (Asian fusion and tepanyaki show) to my fave Ipanema (Brazilian rodizio), the grilled pineapple is to die for!! I loved the beach grill by the Heaven pool as it always had a quick snack for you to grab during those long, hard days of lounging and listening to awesome tunes ;) The pizza grill on the Hacienda side makes the best capresese pizza evah! You def won't go hungry at this place and may want to take advantage of the gorgeous spacious grounds, gym, boot camp circuit or yoga to keep a few pounds at bay....that's right they have alllll that and more to keep you playing and busy all day!
Entertainment is great with every night having a different theme, my favorite is the fire dancers...must see! Pool parties, pool games and tons of beach activities. And don't stay here without visiting the HEAVEN Nightclub at least once for a wicked time and watch some phenomenal flair bartending where they make rainbow shots and light things on fire..way cool!
Hard Rock is truly taking the all inclusive to the rock royalty level and leaves you yearning for your next vacay!
Way to ROCK Renee Malacara and staff...thanks for all you do to make this resort one of my top picks!

Room Tip: room block 5 is Hacienda but very central to both sides of the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks to you 3kidtraveller!

We are very glad to hear that you had an amazing time at Hard Rock Hotel Rivera Maya and that our all-inclusive concept exceeded your expectations in every way. Nothing rocks our world more than receiving such amazing reviews from satisfied guests like you. It’s great to see that you loved every single moment of your vacation at our hotel and we are very excited to know that you would come back for more rocking experiences. Thank you for making us part of your vacations.

Kind regards!

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views , a private white sand beach , and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas . It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.