We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at the Hard Rock Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE UP TO 35% OFF
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Time at the Hard Rock Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The poor reviews made me nervous about this hotel - I almost cancelled the trip a couple of times. I'm so glad that I didn't!

First, let's get the construction out of the way. Yes, there is still some going on but in no way was it intrusive. Every once in awhile you might encounter a workman with a ladder or see a splotch of paint somewhere, but I heard no noise and experienced nothing that detracted from my vacation.

My room was on the top floor of Building 4 on the Heaven side. It had a great view of the Caribbean from the balcony. There is a set of stairs inside leading upward and, when I asked about it, the bellman informed me that they led to another terrace with a hot tub! The view from the terrace was wonderful. The only drawback was that there were no chairs on either balcony. There were some chairs inside that I could have taken out to the lower balcony but which couldn't be taken up the stairs (too heavy). Some outdoor furniture would have made for a lovely experience. Most of the rooms in this building had hammocks on the balconies but mine did not.

As some have mentioned, there is no solid wall between the bedroom area of the room and the bathroom which could be a challenge if you are rooming with a platonic friend. (There are doors on the shower stall and the toilet cubicle.) But the bed was comfortable and the room was serviced every day; everything was clean. In fact, everywhere I went at this resort, people were cleaning and keeping things spiffy!

The stellar thing about this resort is the service. Everyone, from the gardeners to the servers in the restaurants, greeted me with a cheerful "Ola!" No matter what we asked for, people went out of their way to get it for us. There's a slight language problem that resulted in a few mixups with food or drink orders - when my friend asked for ginger ale she got a scotch and soda! - but these were quickly remedied. The staff seemed eager to make sure that we had a good time and had everything we needed. It was interesting to note that though the alcohol flowed freely - there were five bottles of liquor in my room! - I saw no one at any time showing evidence of overimbibing. This made for an extremely pleasant experience! However, on my rambles around the resort I saw no evidence of an ice machine so you probably need to order it from room service.

My impressions of the food are mixed. My favorite restaurant was the French, Le Petit Cochon. We ate there twice, we enjoyed it so much! Try the oil-poached salmon and the mussels. The Mexican restaurant was good, too. I didn't enjoy the Italian or the Brazilian restaurants so much but others in our group liked the Brazilian. For breakfast each morning, the Ciao restaurant (Heaven side) put on a sumptuous buffet with anything one could want, including cold and hot dishes and made-to-order eggs, omelets, and pancakes. Really good, although I had a problem finding butter at one point. The Toro restaurant put on a similar huge buffet for lunch and allowed us to sit outside, talking over drinks, almost all afternoon.

But the nightlife was puzzling. I was with a group that attended musical events in the evening that concluded around 11 p.m. At that time, on the Heaven side, there was one bar that stayed open till 1 a.m. inside and the martini bar outside where we could dance until 1 a.m. as well. There was no food that I could see so, if you are hungry after this time, the 24/7 room service is the only way to go. All the bars shut down at 1 a.m. so if you're a night owl looking for late night action, you'll need to go somewhere else.

The resort is quite spread out, with the all-adult Heaven side and the family-oriented Hacienda side. There's a shuttle that runs every few minutes between the two sides, or you can take a 5-minute walk to go from one side to the other. I've seen complaints here that people come down early and claim lounge chairs by the pool which is true, but the week I was at the resort this was not a problem, there were plenty of lounges to go around. Don't expect a wide sandy beach to walk on; a few people in our group were disappointed by this.

All in all I had a wonderful time at the Hard Rock. Once the construction is all finished and with a few small improvements (outdoor furniture on the terrace and a place for a late night bite, for example), it's going to be a stellar place to have a vacation. Muchas gracias!

Room Tip: Room 4314 was quiet with a great view of the water and an upstairs terrace with hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Jill F,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are truly appreciated. We are happy to see that you had a great time at our resort and we are grateful that you have given us the opportunity to show you first hand the Hard Rock experience despite the bad reviews. Regarding the observations you have kindly mentioned, we have passed the information to our management team and we have made proper adjustments. We are happy and proud to inform you that The Heaven night club will be ready by mid March, which will improve considerably our night life as you assertively indicated. We hope to have you back soon and show you how our experience improved since your stay.
Love all, serve all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,575
    755
    383
    152
    164
See reviews for
1,113
966
29
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Lake, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The services at this resort were great. We were disappointed with our room - no separation between the bathroom and bedroom. Also the room had a humidity problem, we were either freezing with dry clothes or comfortable with damp clothes. We don't spend a lot of time in the room so most of this wasn't a big deal for us.

They also didn't pass along information very well regarding activities at the resort. We had to hunt them down on our own. None of the current renovations impacted our stay at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Jill C,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your comments. We have passed this information to our management team and we have taken proper action to improve, among other points, the areas of opportunity that you have observed. We hope to have you back soon and give you the best experience rock and roll can offer.
Love all, serve all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Didn't realize the resort was way out in the country. We attended a convention at this resort. The place and rooms were clean. We were disappointed our room had 2 double beds. No view of the beach. Chair on patio was cracked. Placed chair in the middle of the room with a note but never replaced. We requested a king size bed. We went back to the desk but they said they could not switch rooms because this type of room was requested. They were not busy so we were sure there were vacate rooms with a view and a king size bed. The air conditioning blew on you while you were in bed. Food was the same every day. We did not find anywhere that had a schedule of the activities of the day, except for a list of things on the beach. We found out there was a theatre that had entertainment but the schedule did not tell us what was going on. We did attend a Beetles show at the theatre which would have been more enjoyable if the music wouldn't have been so loud. Also there was a number of restaurants but only names on the map but it did no tell what kind of restaurant or food they were serving.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello tillieV,

Thank you so much for sharing your latest experience at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya; your remarks help us improve our opportunity areas in order to keep a high level of satisfaction among our beloved guests. I will personally follow up in order to re-inforce our procedures.

Once again I appreciate your comments regarding your experience at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya.

Best Regards.
René Malacara
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. It is almost finished so we did not encounter any construction. the rooms are very nice and the service is superb. The pools atre beautiful, the spa is beautiful and the food is excellent!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Eduardo Enrique V,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are much appreciated. It is inspiring to see that our efforts are appreciated as we are working relentlessly to exceed your expectations with the rock star service that sets us apart. It has been a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you soon. The band will be waiting and the stage will be ready for our next gig together!
Love all, serve all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the family side (Hacienda) of the resort from Dec. 30 to Jan. 6. We have two kids, ages 12 and 16, and shared a double room. The beds were comfortable and the room was nicely decorated. I would suggest though if you are travelling with older children that you book two rooms. The room was pretty small for four people.

We had a balcony with a hammock and a couple of chairs overlooking the concert area. It was nice to be able to watch the bands from the comfort of our balcony. Once New Year's passed, we began hearing construction noise drifting over early each morning. I am an early riser so I was treated to the sounds of the ocean along with saws cutting concrete as I sat reading on the balcony. It was not ideal!

The staff in the restaurants were really great. My daughter and I are Celiac, and we were provided with a letter to give to the restaurant staff. The staff were all really helpful, but some were confused about what gluten is and it made hard to figure out what we could order at times. It would be super helpful if they could put an ingredient list along with the name of the dish on a special allergy menu because then we wouldn't have to rely so heavily on the staff. Our meal times were really long because mostly they made everything to order, which was really kind, but we just wanted to get outside to soak up the sun!

The pool was nice and there were wait staff on hand to bring you a drink. My daughter ordered room service one night, and it was prompt and fresh.

We used our resort credits to swim with dolphins. The brochure they give you at the resort is not what you get at Dolphinaris. We had an abbreviated visit with the dolphins and had to take a taxi there and back. It was fun, but just don't assume you get what is described in the brochure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello VivaMexico2014,

Thank you so much for your review, I appreciate much not only for sharing your experience, but for encouraging us to keep up with the service that you and your family received and it helps other fellow travelers to have a better idea of how Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya delivers, so they can take a better and more informed decision regarding their travel destination. Make sure that all your comments will be passed on to the team.

Hope to see you back very soon at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya.

Best regards,
René Malacara
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Have to say after reading some of the reviews prior to my trip, I was nervous. Happy to say that our trip was awesome and I would recommend this resort to anyone. It is important to note they are going through a restoration phase to make the place better, however none of the restoration efforts had any impact on our trip !! Everyone in the resort was very friendly and we had a great time !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Jason B,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are appreciated. We are grateful that you have given us the opportunity to show you first hand the opposite of what those bad reviews have stated. We will continue working diligently to maintain our high standards in quality and keep reaching with the rock star service that sets us apart. It has been our true pleasure and we hope to have you back soon for your new vacation so we can make another great memory together!
Love all, serve all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Not having to make reservations for the restaurants was nice. Not having to sign for anything was refreshing. The staff was very friendly and the quality of food was amazing! made it an easy vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Carl B,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is a pleasure for us to see that our efforts are appreciated. We will continue working restlessly to keep satisfying our rock stars expectations going the extra mile and achieve the epic service that sets us apart. We look forward your next vacation, we would love to have you back and spend a great time together once again!
Love all, serve all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#9 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,992 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#4 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,358 reviews
23.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#8 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 11,336 reviews
22.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
16.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#5 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views, a private white sand beach, and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas. It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.