We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation! Great All-Inclusive Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation! Great All-Inclusive Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I visited the Aventura Cove Palace in June 2013 with my daughter, Mom, sisters, and niece. This was a "Girls Only" trip and we were looking forward to just relaxing, laughing, enjoying the sun, and pampering ourselves in the Spa. This resort far exceeded our expectations. It is by far the best All-Inclusive Resort I've ever visited.

Elias Garcia from Public Relations was an immensely fantastic help prior to our stay in getting things lined out for us to ensure our vacation was everything we wanted it to be. He was also a great help during our stay and made us all feel so very special. Thank you Elias!

Beginning upon arrival when we were escorted into the lobby and handed a cold beverage, we had the most wonderful service from all staff at the resort. They truly go above and beyond to provide the best customer service experience. The front desk personnel were beyond friendly and helpful. Front Desk Supervisor Santiago's friendly warm personality, ever-present smile, and exceptional customer service was wonderful! Marlen was also great! From check-in to check-out, the quality and timeliness of the service was excellent.

Though we booked this vacation with full knowledge that this resort is located in a cove and not on a traditional sandy beach (this is made very clear on their website), I was initially concerned about this one aspect of the property. HOWEVER the lagoon areas with the man-made "beach" turned out to be one of our favorite parts of the vacation. Peaceful, serene, and relaxing listening to the ocean waves crash and break against the beautiful, rocky cove. FANTASTIC! The lack of a sandy beach was a total non-issue. And Esteban and Carlos, from the cross-current pool bar, were so attentive and took such great care of us that it REALLY didn't matter!

All of the Ala Carte restaurants were wonderful. The quality of the food is impeccable and that is unusual from my experiences at other All-Inclusive resorts. At the Mexican restaurants and Brazilian steakhouse, be sure to ask for Mayan coffee with dessert. The preparation is a show all by itself, flames and liqueurs and the whole works. At Mundaca, Johnny and Luis did an amazing job of preparing and serving our coffee. Take pictures, but turn off your flash. Great coffee and great pics! Also loved the "Sweets and Coffee" shop. Wonderful light breakfasts and lunch offered every day. Gabriella makes the very best cappuccino and remembers your order every morning with a big smile.

The $1,500 resort credits sounded too good to be true. But they were fabulous! We were able to use all $1500 resort credits in the spa, which we did. The vacation planners, especially Job, made booking very easy. We had massages, facials, body wraps, pedicures, and manicures...EVERY DAY! Be sure to arrive for spa treatments 1/2 hour to an hour early so you can enjoy the hydrotherapy services. The sauna, steam room, whirlpools and reflexology pool are so relaxing and you will be well taken care of by lovely women offering cool face cloths and fruit flavored water. Ask for the magic hands of Emilio or Rogelio for your massage. They are both excellent. Spa manager Sandra's commitment to excellence in service is obvious and impressive. Well done and thank you!

I strongly encourage the new management company, Legendary and Hard Rock, to wisely hold onto its service staff as they truly were the rock stars of our experience at Aventura. This was such a beautiful, memorable vacation with my family as we celebrated my daughters' graduation before she leaves home for college. The service throughout the resort was superior. We felt pampered at every turn. With this level of royal treatment, the staff is nothing sort of magnificent. One more very, very special thanks to Elias from Public Relations for being supremely professional, incredibly personable, and for helping us make this the most wonderful vacation ever. Elias, you rock! Thanks again for making it so special for us! We WILL be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Debbie P, it`s good to know that you were pampering during your “Girls Travel”!

Everybody loves Elias, he is a key player in the team, you were so lucky to have had him in your vacations, his service is outstanding. We also are happy to hear that you felt the exceptional service that is characteristic from our staff, we will Santiago knows that you highlighted his service.

We have 8 different restaurants where we cook high quality dishes for all the tastes, there are other options as a la carta dinners and the 24 hours room service, we really appreciate the comments provided in this regards, we will share them with the staff mentioned, the only dilemma will be the extra pounds once you go back home!

As many people think the 1500 RC is the icing on the cake, it´s good to know that you took advantage from it!

We hope to see you on our Grand Opening, I am sure that you and the girls will love our upcoming changes!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,427
    696
    347
    137
    154
See reviews for
964
897
26
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We came for a wedding, came on a chartered bus.
Everbody had reservations, had to wait for over an hour in the heat, no A.C.
Next day went to the front and were told that a golf-cart would be by every 5-minutes.
After waiting 20 minutes in the heat again an employee went and got a golf-cart.
We understand the hotel is in Transition to Hard Rock, but it will be most of the same staff.

The porter (Enrique) who took us to our room was very helpful.
When you called the front desk they were not helpful.

Would not recommend this hotel!

Kevin

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello kevin c, we appreciate the feedback from your recent stay.

We were very disappointed to read that we failed to create an exceptional experience for you. Most of the time we receive great comments about the service and amenities that we offer to each our guests.

Also we have gotten many accolades from other guests on the excellent experiences they have received and commented on as well on Trip Advisor, unfortunately in your case we failed terribly and for that we are very sorry.

We reviewed our records and we did not find any information on the system regarding your issue, we always recommend to our customer to bring these matters to our attention during your stay to take the corresponding actions.

However, let me inform you that we have been forwarded your comments with our Management Team for further revision to avoid similar situations in the future.

We will include Enrique on our incentive program, thanks for highlight him treatment.

I sent you a private message to contact you to provide you the follow up that you deserve.

I hope hear from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed June 25-29 and have far more complaints than compliments. First off-We experienced roaches in our presidential suite and lobby. Then Ii was convinced with free dolphin tickets to attend a non time share meeting to learn more of the hard rock property and would learn of benefits hard rock members could have world wide in an hour and a half but it was a time share offer after all. Wasted 2 hours of our limited time. The construction was disrupting the beautiful sound of the ocean. No teens disco and the kids club did not live up to our expectations. On the up side the shows were great, the food is wonderful and the entertainment at pool was sooo fun! My kids loved being in the pool playing water polo with other children around the world. The cove was fun to swim in and didnt really need our swim shoes. The resort credit was ok but we didnt use half of them. i called the resort begore we flew out to mx to try and book our excursions but the front desk told me we Had to do it when we arrived. i think They should let you book in advance. Ok last review-the bakery staff is fantastic and I couldn't get enough of the tres leches!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello Blanca C, while we receive positive comments about our service and staff, I understand it was not exceptional and we definitely go back with our team to review it.

We want to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. With all due our sales team invites all the guests to the sales presentation, however you are able to decide if you want to go, in this case they provided you a gift as way to attend the presentation, we also reviewed our records and we did not find any information on the system regarding your issue, we always recommend to our customer to bring these matters to our attention during your stay to take the corresponding actions.

The transition that you mentioned from Aventura Palace to Hard Rock Riviera Maya will be taking place in smooth phases, from one resort area to another at different times throughout the next few months.

The teens disco has been moved to another location but we still having this activity.

Our entertainment team works very hard to offer you shows and activities to create a fun atmosphere.

We appreciate that you highlighted the food service provided by our chefs. We have an email to schedule in advance the RC activities; at our website we have the restrictions to use it.

I personally sent you a private message to listen more details about the glitches that you mentioned.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We vacationed at the Hard Rock Adventura Cove Palace June 19-26 with four boys, 18, 16, 12 and 10. This was our first time taking a "resort" vacation. I was a little hesitant after hearing the resort is in the process of transitioning to the Hard Rock brand and it is in the middle of construction, but we were pleasantly surprised that the construction was barely noticeable and did not impede our vacation at all.

Unfortunately our stay did not start out smoothly. When we arrived to check in, the clerk informed us we had a balance owing of $350.00. I had asked for a confirmation email just the day before which indicated we were paid in full. Well, after an hour of standing at the desk, talking with the front desk manager, him talking with the reservations department, me talking with the reservations department and reservations manager and finally the desk manager talking with the reservations manager, they waived the additional fee since it was their mistake to begin with. Needless to say, I was hot, annoyed, and frustrated!

From that point on, I must say we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had rented a family suite which was two adjoining rooms. They were the recently renovated rooms and they were great. Clean, upscale and comfortable with just about every amenity you can think of. Our room had a king sized bed while the kids room had two full sized beds. We requested a roll away, which they provided quickly and at no additional charge. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned each day, including your bed linens and the housekeeping staff does their best to be in and out as quickly as possible. Have to give kudo's to our housekeeper Margarita who did a superb job.

There were plenty of food and drink options and the wait staff does a fabulous job. If you get up to try some other foods in the buffet restaurants, don't be surprised if you come back and your napkin has been neatly folded again. We tried one of the sit down restaurants once, the food and service was great, but the food took a long time to be prepared. The boys preferred the buffets and so that's what we did the most of. We also made a stop at the Sweet shop every night before returning to our room and got a "to go" box of a variety of pastries. The evening pasty chef (can't remember her name) was wonderful and so accommodating. She always had a big smile on her face!

The pool is great and they have a variety of organized activities from 10 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. We participated in the water aerobics, pool volleyball, water polo, crazy pool times and snorkeled and kayaked daily in the cove. The cove is lovely and offers a wide variety of sea life to explore through snorkeling and with the kayak. The sand is more of a fine gravel, so don't expect to make any sand castles and you definitely want your flip-flops/water shoes on while on the "beach".

The shows each night were entertaining. We enjoyed several of them.

We took advantage of the resort credit promotion and had no trouble using up the 1500
dollars. We swam with dolphins, explored the cave at Aktun Chen National Park, took a trip to Chichen Itza and also used several spa services. My suggestion would be to book everything you want to do as soon as you arrive if you haven't done so before. I read about people having trouble getting into services and we booked everything that very first day and had no issues.

The staff is friendly, works very hard and is willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay pleasant. We had a couple of maintenance issues in our room. The A/C froze up and created a drip and we blew a fuse at one point and with one call, maintenance was promptly there and fixed it.

If I could make one suggestion to the resort, it would be to have additional activities available in the evenings; even if it's just organized games/mixers. It would have been nice to do something where we could have met a few of the families who were also guests at the resort. Also, once dinner is done, if the evening show is not of interest to you or your kids, if you don't want to go swimming after being at the pool all day, you end up back in your room...which isn't all bad, but it would have been nice to have an activity option.

Despite our frustrating check-in, the rest of our vacation went smoothly and we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms on the Cove side of the resort are convenient to just about everything. We were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello Martyand9, we really appreciate your detailed review.

We are glad to hear that your first “resort experience” was pleasant and that your whole family enjoyed it.

We regret to know about the misunderstanding concerning your reservation, unfortunately our reservation agents update booking information according to the data provided by TO and most of the time we are not able to modify it without their authorization, happily we made a deal with them and your account balance was the appropriated.

We value that you mentioned the exceptional service provided by Margarita, we definitely will tell her and we will give her a reward.

As part of the all inclusive concept we try to offer you many foods and drinks options, sounds good that you took advantage from it. Our entertainment team will not let you bore!

There´s nothing better than our 1500 RC promotion, nobody else have it! You are able to take excursions, spa & salon treatments, romantic dinners and more, I am sure that you are waiting to come back to get these perks.

Thanks again for your review!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This resort was great except for one thing, cockroaches in the room. That is completely inexcusable for any professional business. I was disgusted to find cockroaches in my room on several occasions. Would definitely not reccommend this resort to any of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello JordanTheWiz, we much regret your perception in reference to our cleaning standards.

We would like to inform you that all of our room accommodations are thoroughly inspected by our Housekeeping Department to ensure that the cleaning and fumigation process are enforced prior to be assigned to any guest.

The resort is governed by strict regulations that are set forth the Health & Sanitation authorities in Mexico and we are in total compliance with this.

Anyhow we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay.

I sent you a private message with my personal information, we would like you to contact you to provide you with the follow up that you deserve.

I hope hear from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I would like to mention the excellent housekeeping service provide by Martin on rooms 1401 and 1403 during our visit to Aventura Cove Hotel in the Riviera Maya, Mexico.
Overall the experience on this trip becames more pleasant when you received a excellent and friendly attention.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Eduardo B, we appreciate the review from your recent stay with us.

We have shared your comments with Martin and he is happy his effort paid off and you are happy with the service, the warmness and friendliness always have been our characteristic.

We hope to see you soon in your next vacation.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff was wonderful, very friendly and catered to our every need. The property was nice and the rooms were clean and the a/c was very cold. They DO NOT have a beach on property. We had to get a taxi every day to go to the beach. Wouldn't recommend this resort if you want to be on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Tara K, we try our best to accommodate the requests of all our guests and this time we are glad to know that you enjoyed your room, food and services that we provided you.

Otherwise we regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the beach area, with all due respect it´s noteworthy to mention that we have detailed information at our website, here is an excerpt:
“The highlight of this resort's offerings is its deluxe full-service spa. However, if you are an active person you will want to choose from a range of activities including non-motorized water sports, tennis on three lighted courts, and golf on two nearby championship courses to keep you energized throughout your stay. Inlet style beaches invite snorkeling, swimming and kayaking next to snow-white sands, and a lap pool welcomes serious swimmers. A range of facilities designed with relaxation in mind include a yoga Hut, meditation garden, indoor pool with sound therapy, and a labyrinth Zen path modeled after the one at France's Chartres Cathedral. For true heart-pumping fun, you can try out the 100-foot climbing tower, the 14-obstacle fitness trail, the virtual spinning room or the wide range of classes offered in the full-service aerobic studio. The fully equipped fitness center offers everything from free weights, to treadmills, to stair and weight machines. Come evening, you are swept up in lively entertainment extravaganzas presented nightly at the resort”.

We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you and we really regret the misunderstanding.

We hope you give us an opportunity to host you again to show you our improvements.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views , a private white sand beach , and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas . It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.