We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience with a few cautions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Coon Rapids
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent experience with a few cautions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A top notch resort with some of the best staff, from the bellboy all the way to the travel advisors and restaurant personell. Palace Resorts members, take note, this is NOT a palace resort, it is transitioning to Hard Rock, however, this is did NOT make our trip anything less than a top notch experience. Two very important points to note: 1) altough an exercise facility is advertised on the website, this is false advertising. There was NO gym at this resort, one has to go over to the Aventura Spa resort, which does NOT allow children below 18 years of age (this was a disappointment to my 17 year old). The Spa resort is an adults only place, however I did not see anything 'adults only' about the Spa Palace. 2) there is NO beach at this and the Spa Palace resort. There is a cove for snorkeling, however, if snorkeling is your primary aim to stay at this resort, do not bother. Go to some other Palace resort.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is closer to the Spa Palace, so that you have easy access ot both the Cove and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Raj P, we appreciate your comments.

We offer you services and facilities from high quality to enjoy your vacation we are glad to know that we met your expectations.

With all due respect we show you on our webpage information about the locations that we have in each area we also include a paragraph concerning the beach area and the cove that we have.

Thank you again for your comments.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    705
    373
    184
    80
    95
See reviews for
601
406
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what a great place, the staff are wonderful and the service is incredible. We stayed at the Aventura Cove from Apr 1 to Apr 8 and we enjoyed it immensely. The snorkeling in the ocean was great, the activities during the day at the pool were fun, the shows at night were a blast. This was our first all inclusive family vacation and everyone in our family returned very satisfied. Thank You for the great time Aventura Cove you really do a great job keeping the guests happy !

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi somosloco, we are very exiting hearing that you enjoyed your first all inclusive experience with us.

We include extreme activities as snorkel and kayak, our entertainment team works very hard innovating shows and activities to complement your vacation.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your experience. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family stayed at this resort for a week in April. We had a phenomenal time. It's a great resort for kids, with tons of activies and a pool that my family loved. My daughter is 10 and had a wonderful time. The cove is beautiful and offers snorkeling and kayaking which we loved. The $1500 in resort credits was nice. We used all $1500 on activities ranging from a tour of Chitzen Itza, golf, swimming with the dolphins and spa.

The resort is in need of updating in terms of the rooms and lobby. It looks a bit worn but they are in process of becoming a Hard Rock so I'm sure it will look great when finished. The hot tubs in the rooms are a waste of space. I mean who needs a double jacuzzi in a double room on a family vacation? The room would have been so much better without the monsterous jacuzzi.

The best part of the resort was the wonderful staff. Everyone treated us great and went out of their way to provide good service. Overall, we had a great time and a great trip. I would recommend the hotel for families who want to have a fun filled vacation experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Amanda W, Thank you very much for your kind comments; we are glad hearing that you spent a good time with us and that your daughter enjoyed the kid´s area.

As you mentioned we are a huge resort and we have a lot of activities to do, our facilities have big pools, gym and a great spa, it´s good that you took advantage from it.

Also as you mentioned we are in a transition process and I am sure that you will love our upcoming style.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we were at Aventura Cove from March 30th to Apr 6th. We were taken by third class bus from airport to the hotel. It was very dirty inside the bus so I was afraid our 3 kids were not touching anything and put fingers in their mouth afterwards. Not sure if this is problem of Sunwing Travel Agency or Aventura Hotel, but please don't treat your Customers with such a ride to 5 start hotel we were paying for... when we came we were given room and bus boy and everything was OK. We had to call receiption that first day around 9:30pm after we found out nobody set 2 cribs for our twin girls when we came back to room from walk. They sent them 20 minutes later but it wasn't a nice wait especially with 2 babys waiting for them so they can sleep after a long trip from toronto. First night was noisy one too. Lot's of noise from stuff carts thru hallways all night long. For some reason second night was much better, not so much traffic in acoustic ground level hallways. Our biggest dissapointment was beach. There is very little sand beach available. I would avoid this resort if you like natural beauty white sand beach... Not much shade to hide from sun if you have 3 kids with you. Second day we forgot everything for kids play tools including swim support rings and inflating pool on the beach. It was all gone tomorrow morning. I was told to go to Lost & Found dep at the reception just to learn that nobody reported it was found. It was hard to believe someone would have taken ALL gears for 3 kids, so they had to play and swim with little that I was able to buy in resort shop (extremelly expensive!). Anyways, we were glad to see almost all stuff was helpful, and people treated us nice. Food was quite good and no problems there. One more thing we did not find is entertainment. There was no much programm going on in the evenings at the Cove side. I've been to resort before that is 4 star and every night I was enetertained better then at Aventura which was advirtised to us as 5 star.
Overall, for guys who have kids (especially younger ones) and like sand beach I would not recommend this resort. Oh yes we did not find use to jakuzzi that takes 1/4 of room. Would rather not have it in our room, but they all have them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello PavleP_13 thank you for sharing your experience with us.

First of all accept our apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay.

We regret to know that you had an inconvenience with the transportation service, we rarely receive this kind of comments, also is noteworthy to mention that On Tour is an independent contractor, but rest assured that we will pass them your comments. We do everything in our power to comply your requests as soon as we can, but you should understand that exists a procedure and we attend the requests in the order that we receive so we attended yours as soon as was possible.

We do not have any reports from other guests concerning noise issues, we recommend report these matters to our attention during your stay to take immediate actions.

In reference to your comments about the lack of beach, with all due respect allow me to inform you that we clearly included this information at our website and we strongly invite you to check it.

Our lost & found process is an exhaustive procedure where we involved our collaborators and guests, then once we set up the report we inform you if we receive any information, unfortunately we did not had good news but keep in mind that it still pending, so if we know something we will let you know.

We appreciate you mentioned the warmness and kindness that characterize our staff.

We appreciate that you shared your experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went in Feb/13 for 8 days. I have 2 kids 13 and 15 year old .

The only bad thing I can say is there is NO Beach which we did miss but the Lagoon was fun. Bring bread with you and feed the fish. Lots to see in lagoon.
Iguana's love grapes and mango.

The rooms were clean and the staff is Great !!!

Food is just Ok had better but what are you going to do.

For my kids there was nothing to do, everything was on the spa side which is a must to do. Loved the Spa. But my kids could not go there . They had to use the cove side. No big deal there.

Night life ... nothing really. Everything ended aroound 11pm
Show's the rest as any other resort.

So if you just want to sit around the pool. This is your resort!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi marylou m, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers.

It´s good to know that you felt our warm service, we work very hard innovating items to surprise you.

We really loved that you enjoyed the wild life, as you may already know we are in the middle of the jungle and we have direct interaction with iguanas and other reptiles.

Our kids club is a huge area where children can experience authentic moments. The housekeeping is pending to do their job to leave the rooms as our guests deserve.

Our entertainment team works very hard they provide you with familiar games, kids activities you can find it in our different facilities.

Our daily activities include shows as live bands, karaoke nights, and fire shows those are AMAZING!

In regards to your comments about the lack of beach, please let me inform you that you can visit our website and you will find detailed information concerning this topic.

Thank you again for your time.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We travelled to the Aventura Spa Palace (now a Hard Rock Hotel) from Dec 23 - 30, 2012. We thought we'd like to try being away over Christmas and based on this experience, we wouldn't do it again! (At least not at a big hotel.)

I have been to this resort and loved it, especially the $1,500 room credit. We went the morning of our first day there to book everything - I would recommend others to do this. Others that arrived on Dec 26 & 27 went to book and nothing was available - no spa appointments, no tours, etc. Be specific when you book your appointments at the spa. I did not specify that I preferred a woman therapist, and when I went to change it, you'd think I was asking for the world! (Despite my best efforts, I never did get a woman.) The therapists I did have were great and professional.

As usual, the food at the resort was great. However, due to the Christmas season, it was an hour long wait at any of the a la carte restaurants. We adapted, but the wait was especially frustrating when we'd see many empty tables at the restaurant.

This resort has no "natural" beach - you cannot swim in the open ocean. There is a wall built so the ocean water flows through a lagoon in the resort. We enjoyed swimming in here. There are a few little pockets of quieter areas which we sought out, as the pool was way to loud for us all day. BTW, you had to be up and claiming a chair at 7 a.m. at the latest anywhere on the resort or you weren't getting one. We actually saw two ladies get into a fight over a chair!

Rooms were nice and clean. We had asked for a King bed and they did not have this available, so they put two doubles together which wasn't ideal. Also, we had booked the Aventura as it was an Adults Only resort. Right beside our room was a sign that said no kids beyond this point - our neighbours had a child in their room! It seems that perhaps the Aventura Cove was overbooked so they put families on the adult side of the resort? This was disappointing as many of us pay extra for adults only.

We had some interesting situations with room service, but nothing to worry about. They never seemed to get our wine order right, but it really wasn't a big deal. We ended up treating it a bit like a game to see what kind of wine we'd get that evening!

Checking out was a bit of a hassle as they argued with us for 1.5 hours that we owed extra on our room ($200) and we did not. Thank goodness we had kept some of our spa receipts! Finally we ended up talking to someone higher up that promptly understood the problem and cleared our account just in time for us to jump on the shuttle. This was frustrating and not a good way to end our otherwise pleasant vacation.

I would certainly re-visit the Aventura Spa Palace, but not over Christmas. They did not seem equipped for all the people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Hiprhonda, We much appreciate your review.

As you mentioned you traveled on Dec which is the highest season everywhere and some of your suggestions came from that reason.

The lounge chairs issue is fixed, trust me we have new equipment and it is not happening again.

Since you book we clarify the special what is a special request and that those are subject to availability, unfortunately we were up to 100% and we were not able to attend special needs as the type of bed; long check out is normal, that is why we try to prevent it and we take actions to avoid it occurs, we send you a ledger with your charges a day before your departure.

We have 8 restaurants, those provide you food every day, but most of the time guests want to go to a specific restaurant at the same time that is why is a little bit hard to us offer you quickly service.

All our staff is a professional and certificated team, and we are glad hearing that you enjoyed the services that our therapists offered you.

That is what we recommend to our guests, book in advance the services and treatments that they want, so you will save time and you will be able to get a relaxing experience. Is good to know that took advantage from it. We also have an email contact on our webpage where you are able to send your requests before your arrival.

Once again we appreciate your time.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Superb service! Wonderful staff everywhere in the hotel! Nice, clean rooms... Great amenities and entertainment.... Food not bad... Same at all hotels that are all inclusive... Son had a great time at kids club.... Highly recommend for families...free Internet everywhere and free calls to Canada and U.S....$1500 resort credit was wonderful... Beautiful high end spa;).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello BaileyC290, Thank you for the short and sweet review.

We try our best to accommodate the requests of all our guests, and are glad that we could meet your expectations this time.

We hope to see you again in your next vacations.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.