We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort ... when it's not so crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great resort ... when it's not so crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We travelled to the Aventura Spa Palace (now a Hard Rock Hotel) from Dec 23 - 30, 2012. We thought we'd like to try being away over Christmas and based on this experience, we wouldn't do it again! (At least not at a big hotel.)

I have been to this resort and loved it, especially the $1,500 room credit. We went the morning of our first day there to book everything - I would recommend others to do this. Others that arrived on Dec 26 & 27 went to book and nothing was available - no spa appointments, no tours, etc. Be specific when you book your appointments at the spa. I did not specify that I preferred a woman therapist, and when I went to change it, you'd think I was asking for the world! (Despite my best efforts, I never did get a woman.) The therapists I did have were great and professional.

As usual, the food at the resort was great. However, due to the Christmas season, it was an hour long wait at any of the a la carte restaurants. We adapted, but the wait was especially frustrating when we'd see many empty tables at the restaurant.

This resort has no "natural" beach - you cannot swim in the open ocean. There is a wall built so the ocean water flows through a lagoon in the resort. We enjoyed swimming in here. There are a few little pockets of quieter areas which we sought out, as the pool was way to loud for us all day. BTW, you had to be up and claiming a chair at 7 a.m. at the latest anywhere on the resort or you weren't getting one. We actually saw two ladies get into a fight over a chair!

Rooms were nice and clean. We had asked for a King bed and they did not have this available, so they put two doubles together which wasn't ideal. Also, we had booked the Aventura as it was an Adults Only resort. Right beside our room was a sign that said no kids beyond this point - our neighbours had a child in their room! It seems that perhaps the Aventura Cove was overbooked so they put families on the adult side of the resort? This was disappointing as many of us pay extra for adults only.

We had some interesting situations with room service, but nothing to worry about. They never seemed to get our wine order right, but it really wasn't a big deal. We ended up treating it a bit like a game to see what kind of wine we'd get that evening!

Checking out was a bit of a hassle as they argued with us for 1.5 hours that we owed extra on our room ($200) and we did not. Thank goodness we had kept some of our spa receipts! Finally we ended up talking to someone higher up that promptly understood the problem and cleared our account just in time for us to jump on the shuttle. This was frustrating and not a good way to end our otherwise pleasant vacation.

I would certainly re-visit the Aventura Spa Palace, but not over Christmas. They did not seem equipped for all the people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Hiprhonda, We much appreciate your review.

As you mentioned you traveled on Dec which is the highest season everywhere and some of your suggestions came from that reason.

The lounge chairs issue is fixed, trust me we have new equipment and it is not happening again.

Since you book we clarify the special what is a special request and that those are subject to availability, unfortunately we were up to 100% and we were not able to attend special needs as the type of bed; long check out is normal, that is why we try to prevent it and we take actions to avoid it occurs, we send you a ledger with your charges a day before your departure.

We have 8 restaurants, those provide you food every day, but most of the time guests want to go to a specific restaurant at the same time that is why is a little bit hard to us offer you quickly service.

All our staff is a professional and certificated team, and we are glad hearing that you enjoyed the services that our therapists offered you.

That is what we recommend to our guests, book in advance the services and treatments that they want, so you will save time and you will be able to get a relaxing experience. Is good to know that took advantage from it. We also have an email contact on our webpage where you are able to send your requests before your arrival.

Once again we appreciate your time.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    727
    361
    145
    159
See reviews for
1,023
939
28
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Superb service! Wonderful staff everywhere in the hotel! Nice, clean rooms... Great amenities and entertainment.... Food not bad... Same at all hotels that are all inclusive... Son had a great time at kids club.... Highly recommend for families...free Internet everywhere and free calls to Canada and U.S....$1500 resort credit was wonderful... Beautiful high end spa;).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello BaileyC290, Thank you for the short and sweet review.

We try our best to accommodate the requests of all our guests, and are glad that we could meet your expectations this time.

We hope to see you again in your next vacations.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been Palace Premier members for 10 years and have always had wonderful ,relaxing vacations at their resorts . Many friends and family have used our membership and all have stated that their vacations at Palace have been " their best ever " . The key to "the Palace Experience " is their amazing staff - - - we have stayed in hotels /resorts in South America , the Caribbean , North America , Europe and Africa and have found the quality and consistency of the Palace staff to be unmatched . There are 8 palace resorts in the Cancun area and each has it's own special attraction/ charm . Without exception they are all spotlessly clean and well maintained .Our favorites for adults are the Aventura SPA Palace (exceptional SPA Services ) , and the Sun Palace ( quiet , relaxing , beautiful beach ). For vacations with kids the Aventura COVE Palace (safe swimming/snorkeling ,kayaking, swimming with the dolphins, monkey tour, kids club /activities with excellent staff ) and the Cancun Palace are great choices .
On our most recent visit (March 27 - April 3 ,2013) we were pleased to see that the Aventura Spa Palace had reintroduced more evening entertainment in their Spa Lobby area . They had a superb singer/ entertainer ( Rosy Valdez + Alex on keyboard ) with an amazing voice and range of songs - - she sang several nights in the week and always played NONSTOP for 2 to 2 1/2 hrs .A nice touch was her asking the audience for their song requests - - I don't think she was ever unable to respond ! Another entertaining evening was the Kareoke event which had a standing room only crowd (adults only ) and showcased some surprisingly good singers (and a few who needed great band support to "survive " !). Resort Credit adds tremendous value to your vacation and is an excellent sales advantage over competing resorts .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi 916roberts, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your amazing experience. It is wonderful to hear that your overall vacation was as you expected and is important to highlight that this is not your first trip and that you came several times and had previous experiences at our resorts we are satisfied hearing that we keep giving you the best service.

We work very hard innovating ideas to make funnier your vacation and this time we are proud that you enjoyed the live band, also we want to thank you for mentioned that Rosy and Alex were amazing.

We hope you will come back for another great family vacation.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here from March 26 -Apr 2 2013, we were thrilled, the hotel was clean, service was second to none and the Entertainment staff were great with everyone, kids had a great time ages 11 & 13, the only thing I find as a downfall is the food in the buffets is repetitious, if you can go to the spa side you have more options but it is adults only. Cesar and Eduardo made it fun for everyone all of the staff provided great service and the food was good. Every night there was an evening show which were all great and we enjoyed. We had a great relaxing vacation and will be going back. You get resort credits and we used them for pictures and swimming with the Dolphins, you pay the tax but it is still a bonus.
Beds were comfortable, rooms are a bit tight for a family of four, the staff was so nice and always smiling and eager to help. They have a cove instead of a beach but it is great for safety of the kids swimming and cool things to see in the cove when you snorkel, we had fun kayaking in the cove too. We always felt safe on this resort as well, I would recommend Aventura Cove to anyone looking for a great vacation....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi willbeback932, we are pleased that you found a wonderful staff and fantastic facilities.

Cesar and Eduardo will be thrilled to hear that they played an important role making your trip unforgettable.

Our entertainment team always is looking the way to surprise you with great experiences that is why we renewed our night shows.

Once again we much appreciate your kind comments and we hope to give us the opportunity to host you again to give you another good vacation.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are Palace Premier members and swear by the quality of these all inclusive resorts. of all the all inclusives we have tried, we have not found another company that makes its members feel as "important" and well taken care of, from the included spa services to the nice "bonus" resort credits to buy extras like upgraded wines and additional excursions. While the Aventura could use some updating in certain areas of the hotel (the gym especially!) overall the resort is in a stunning setting, and the qualify and consistency of the staff services hard to beat. My kids adored the Kids Club activities and we were very happy with the variety of pools, beachfront activities and nighttime show roster. We will be back to Palace for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello olsensusan, we appreciate your kind comments.

We are glad that you enjoyed our all-inclusive concept. It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy many of our restaurants and facilities as the spa. Also we appreciate the suggestion that you proposed concerning the gym area, as you may already know we are in the middle of a transition process and feedback from our valuated guests is very important because you have been here and you know more about our concept.

Is very important to highlight that our members always have a preferential amenities and we are glad to know that you took advantage from it.

Again thank you for sharing your experience with our readers and we hope to see you in your next vacations.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Carolina, Giselle, Natalia, Amber & Illas were great with our 4 & 7 yr old. Kids' Club was the first place our 7 year old wanted to go as she had been to this resort last year. Being able to trust to leave them at Kids' Club makes for a wonderful relaxing vacation for the whole family!

Ismael and the whole staff at LaHacienda were fantastic. We had a special birthday celebration there. They made it fabulous. We couldn't have been happier.

Hydro therapy in the spa was a better experience when Acitlalin was there. She's so attentive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi JGTG1, we really appreciate your kind review.

Our goal is exceed your expectations and we know that your most valued treasure are your kids and this is the reason that encourage us to provide you with an excellent service.

Thinking in your comfort we have a strong personnel selection to choose the best for your kids, hearing your comments we just confirmed that we made it right, for sure we will let Amber, Carolina, Giselle and Natalia know that you are completely satisfied with them service and that they made you a relaxing vacation.

Our commitment is turn your moments into wonderful memories, this time that you came celebrating your birthday was a good chance to show you our loyalty towards your family. La Hacienda was in charge from this experience and we will congratulate Ismael for the service that you mentioned.

Also we will take in consideration your suggestion about the hydrotherapy staff.

Once again thank you for comments, we hope to see you in your next vacation.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Aventura Cove Palace March 25-April 1st. What a great resort! The staff is wonderful!!! We've been to about 10 resorts around the Caribbean and Mexico, and this resort's service was better than all the rest by a country mile. Nothing was broken; everything worked; they didn't run out of anything even though it was one of the busiest weeks of the year! The staff seemed genuinely happy working there. The restaurant and bar staff hustled like I have never seen before. The tubs in the room were great, but consequently, the rooms were pretty tight for space, especially for our family of four. The beds were surprisingly super comfortable and the hammocks on the balcony were a nice touch.

We LOVED having a $1500 resort credit! The spa is fabulous! Use your credit there. We also used it to go to the Hard Rock in Cancun for the day… don’t bother! Crazy busy, congested, loud, and the staff wasn’t nearly as good. Cancun in general is a zoo compared the spacious Playa area. We also went swimming with the dolphins…that was ok, but when you saw the half day and full day groups in the pool all around you, you realized how chintzy your 45 minute swim was.

My only complaints (and really, they are minimal) were the lacy of a beach, and that the buffets have everything “fussy”. I enjoy plain old fresh vegetables (cucumbers and tomatoes in particular) and there wasn’t a lot of that. Everything was mixed, made into salads, etc. The steak house was great, and the Mexican was just ok. The other complaint was that as a regular resort patron (travel agent package variety), you almost felt like a second class citizen to all the “Palace” members. It wasn’t the fault of the staff, but rather the policies of the Palace chain. VIP chairs, palapas, tables, etc. were all around. Palace members were catered to far more than the rest of us, and it was very obvious.

The Spa side seems to have a much nicer feel to it…automatic doors, compared to standard on the Cove side, nicer decor, etc. I would definitely spend a week over there if I didn’t have the kids in tow. All the talk on Trip Advisor about the renovations were greatly over exaggerated. It was not an issue at all!

Would I recommend this resort…yes!! I would like to visit other Palace resorts…but may avoid the Moon Palace. Everyone I talked to said it’s too big and crowded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Canuck65, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers.

We are very pleased to read that your overall stay was a great experience and that you felt the warmness and kindness that characterize the Aventura Palace staff.

We have special amenities for everybody as you mentioned we have tubs on the rooms, it is just a sample of our marvelous perks.

Thank you as well for your constructive feedback on our restaurants, we will let our Executive Chef know your opinion in reference of the veggies.

We include several manners to spend your RC, you were so smart taking advantage from it and visiting our sister resort which has already the new concept, you tried a piece of our upcoming style.

We want to thank you again for your review.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#11 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 3,948 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#4 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,270 reviews
23.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#8 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 11,168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#8 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
22.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views , a private white sand beach , and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas . It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.