We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect combination of fun and relaxation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CINCO DE MY OH MY-40% OFF
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect combination of fun and relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Beautiful resort! Clean and modern. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. Everyone from front desk, to housekeeping, to wait staff , they made our stay as enjoyable as possible! Half of the resort is adults only, the other half is family orientated. My wife and I enjoyed the adult side but would bring the kids next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    635
    327
    125
    146
See reviews for
883
817
25
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The service and food is amazing!!!! Rooms are great too with a large 2 person recliner chair, right in the middle of your room. The property is a good size so you are able to walk everywhere and don't need to take a cart. $1500 property credits are the best!! I had 2-80 minute massages, an 80 min facial, 110 min massage and body wrap and my husband had an 80 min massage all for $121 (11% tax) plus tip US!!! The spa treatments were all excellent! Only wish I had planned out my credits better at the beginning of the week so I had time to use them all. If I had I would have applied them to a family photo shoot or trip to Tulum. Only draw back is no long beach to walk on but you can use your credits to go to a great Beach Club for the day only 10 minutes away and there is a good area on the resort property to snorkle. I heard the kids club was great. We have teenagers so they were happy to just lounge but they did have a small games room (not the picture on their website), and some sports around the property. I had never been to Mexico before but if this resort is any indication of what to expect I will be back!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms don't have hammocks on them and are close to walking traffic so a bit noiser. Adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We found this resort to be excellent. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They really put a lot of enthusiasm into all that they do. We have three children, 16, 14, and 13 and they all had a great time. We found the food was very good and they were able to accommodate a soy allergy and a lactose intolerance requirement. The pool side service was very good and all of the activities throughout the day were fun. There was soccer, water polo, water aerobics, volleyball, ring toss, water balloon fights just to name a few. The lagoon was great for snorkeling and the pools were fine for cooling off. There is construction taking place west of the pool so if you sit at that end you would hear the noise of it. We would have to place towels on chairs prior to 7 am if you wanted them especially if you wanted shade. The only downside I could see was that come night the disco becomes only open for adults so the teens don't have a place to hang out. Perhaps having the disco on the cove side for families and the disco on the spa side for adults would be better. We saw iguanas, birds, raccoon, these rabbit looking things (without the ears) and monkeys without leaving the property. Although we didn't do side trips it is a good location to launch from. The trip from the airport to the hotel took between 1 1/2 - 2 hours as they drop other people off along the way. The return trip was straight through and therefore under 1 hr. We traveled with sunwing and I was disappointed with the representative, she gave false information at the meeting to get people to sign up with her. All in all it was a great trip and we would like to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I am not sure what room would be best, we had adjoining rooms on the third floor , east side , accor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great family resort but if you are just adults, go to adventura spa instead of cove. Great place for kids as they had much to do like ping pong, pool tables, play room with good electronic games like basketball, motorcycle riding and other arcade games. Water sports like kayaking were very safe. The beach is a lagoon. Guests save chairs early in the morning by the pool. We would go down and save our chairs around 7:20am and all the chairs with shade were already taken. This happened every day.
The staff here are excellent. Upon arrival, I found our bedsheets with black dirt and a yellow stain. I called housekeeping and the housekeeping manager and a maid arrived and changed e sheets immediately.
Food here is so-so. Lots of over cooked stews, fish and meats. Instead of regular pancakes and French toast, they have only chocolate pancakes and French toast sandwiches with nigella in the middle. Okay if you have a sweet tooth at breakfast.
This is a good 4 star resort but far from 5 star.
Theatre shows were extremely good especially the magic and circus shows.
The waiters at the restaurants were all very attentive.
You must go to the booking desk early to use your $1500credit as the line gets very long. The desk is open 7am to 7pm. We did the Chitzen-Itza tour which was excellent.
The security is excellent and we always felt very safe. In one incident, there were noisy people in the hallway singing and carrying on like clashing ice bucket lids. We called the front desk and
security arrived in less than two minutes and took care of the problem.
Rooms are small and each has a double jacuzzi which takes up a large part of the room. Plan to live out of your suitcase because there are only two drawers. We asked for extra hangers which they promptly brought the room.
The entire place needs to be refurbished. The sofa cushions in the common areas are worn and look like they need a good clean.
We had a nice relaxing time here but we will not be returning.

Room Tip: We used our credit to upgrade from garden view to ocean view. The upgrade was $25 a day and we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I don't think anywhere can offer you better staffs, we travel 3 to 4 times a year with two kids age 11 and 13 and I have seen very good hotels and good staffs, but you have to experience this place to understand what I mean by perfect service, I told my wife that I could not believe these people, every body was happy and you can feel it that they are not doing because it was their job,
I would not rate the property as the highest rank it was OK, but the service was provided made up for a bit outdated property.
on top of everything we were offered $1500 resorts credits, and I thought there would be a catch beside 11% tax, but no surprises, we could't even finished the credit.
Many thanks to all people in Aventura Cove.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort with a fourteen year old and found it met all our expectations. All the personnel were friendly and courteous. Santiago at the front desk was extremely helpful when we had some difficulties confirming our return shuttle pick up and also connecting with the airline.Our teenager enjoyed the teen club and the activities available. The restaurants offered a variety of choices, casual, buffet and a la carte.

Room Tip: We roomed in the Accordian section and it was on the first floor. It was quiet but near the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello 35charlie, thank you for your review, we are glad we met your expectations with our variety of restaurants and your teenager had fun too at the teen club! I’m glad that Santiago was there to get your transportation going and you had nothing to worry about. We hope to see you back soon and make your next visit unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

There are six of us coming to Aventura Cove Palace in June and would like information of the different tours offered and would also like to know if we can book any of our spa times before we arrive. We have been to this resort before but it has been a few years and did not receive the credit. Our experiences have always been wonderful and are looking forward to visiting again this year. Also is there any way that we can arrange to have our rooms close to one another? This has been a problem for us in the past, being told we could but when we got there it didn't happen.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Cyndi S, thank you for your comment, sure thing we can send you information and further assistance with this, we are sending you a PM with all you need and we look forward to see you all here next June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views , a private white sand beach , and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas . It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.