We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CINCO DE MY OH MY-40% OFF
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had excellent time in Aventura cove from Jan 19th to Jan 26th 2013. It was awesome vacation.

I would give rating 4.5 out of 5. Staff was really nice and always eager to serve and help. Food was excellent with lots of variety. Best part is Spa on hotel credit, visit to Tulum.

Service was excellent both at restaurant, pool, lots of activities for kids and adult at pool. you can spend whole day at pool side.

Entertianment shows at night were awesome my son enjoyed mechael jackson, magic and circus show. 7 days went so fast, we wish we have few more days.

Room Tip: All room look same, best part is all room has partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Kamaljeet G Thank you very much for your kind comments, we work hard innovating activities with the entertainment team, is good to know that you enjoyed it.
Our executive chef thinking in every taste has created culinary experiences for different tastes; we include steaks, seafood, pastas, Mexican food and snacks to enter in our gourmet sensation.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again in your next vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    633
    327
    124
    146
See reviews for
883
815
25
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Travelled feb3 to10 with 3 kids ages 1,4,6. The first thing that needs to be said about this resort is that the staff and service are truly amazing and are what makes this resort worth coming back to. From check in to check out we never had any issues. Pool service was alway prompt and we never waited for drinks both at the bar or from the server. Room service was accurate and served with a smile within 25 minutes. We ordered about 6 times.

Kids club staff Vanilla, Natalia and Amber were unbelievable! Our kids usually stick close but were asking to go to the club. The had tons of activities and excursions with the kids. They were very caring and attentive. A plus rating. Club is newly renovated clean and spacious. Our room was next to the club and we noticed it was cleaned every night for 2 to 3 hours.

Pool activity staff were also excellent. There is a fun active vibe around the pool and we enjoyed playing all the fun games and activities with them including ping pong, bocci ball, water polo, beach volleyball, guessing games and silly pool competitions. Lots of laughs. Music is great at the pool too.

The cove is not a beach. The snorkeling was fun and we went kayaking as well. Kids stuck mostly to the pool. I assume you know you are not getting a beach here so I disregard complaints about it.

Food is good with lots of variety. Lunch buffet and a great snack bar by the pool. We had excellent dinners at Italian and Mexican. Both were top notch. Dinner buffet had sushi! Service was soooo good at meals. We were served by Cesar and Ross almost everyday and they were exceptional people, warm and always friendly.

Because of small kids we went to the evening kids show which was great as well as the outdoor fiesta and fire show. I would recommend all 3.

Spa credits were easy to use. Couples massage and hydrotherapy before was high quality. Hallways were a bit loud some nights but not terrible. Rooms are not huge but we didn't hang there much so it was not a big deal for us.

Not sure where the negative comments about service are coming from. We did encounter some rude and unrealistically demanding people which would not be happy at any resort. If there is one thing you can count on here it is amazing service and staff. We will come back if we can afford to after the great reno they have planned.

Room Tip: Book spa credits in advance via email Use spa credits to get a nice bottle of wine at dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi PEIRC, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send your comments and feedback about our resort.
We are very happy to know that our staff provided you with the excellent service our dear guests deserve and have come to expect from us, we actually have an incentive program for the staff members that our guest mentioned in their comments.
Our cheff always is innovating flavors for different tastes.
There are several activities to do in our resort like snorkeling, kayaking, swim with the dolphins and is good to know that you took advantage for it and enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just came back from a week there -- a fantastic time. Facilities were marvellous, and the staff were extremely attentive. Our 8 and 11 year olds enjoyed both the pools and snorkelling in the cove, and the Family Suite was a bonus for the whole family :) Can't say enough about the variety of meals that were available -- they suited all tastes. The kids really enjoyed the Kingdom of Fire show and the Fiesta night. The fact that it was close to Xel-Ha and the ruins at Coba only added to our high recommendation of this resort.

Room Tip: The Family Suite, with an extra room for the kids, is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi JDMillar, thank you very much for your comments. Aventura Cove is great for kids, we design several activities for kids we created “the little big club” to have their own space.
Reading your feat you make us satisfied with our job. There are other activities to do with the whole family, like excursions, dinners and snorkeling like you did.

We much appreciate your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We travelled from feb 2-9/2013. My husband and I have travelled to Mexico many times and this was by far one of the best holidays we have ever been on. There were 7 of us all together with 2 of our party being 15 years old. There was something for everyone to do every day.

Food was great. Room gorgeous and very comfortable beds! ( not like a rock like most places!!). When we booked, we asked to have a room close to our friends and they had us right next door to them. Very clean resort - staff always cleaning something. Front desk staff were very helpful whenever we had a question. Couldn't ask for better bell boys. Manuel, Hector and Martin were amazing and very friendly. Lobby bar bartender Eric was one of the best bartenders. Always there to fill our drinks and to see if we needed anything. Very friendly! The PR staff were very helpful when I needed to see the doctor. Not used to having to pay for medical so don't really have a comment on that however the doctor was excellent and very helpful. Don't recommend you having to see him, but if you do, you will be very well taken care of.

Went to the spa and a massage and facial. Both were amazing. Used the credits so was very cheap!

You won't be disappointed if you go to this resort. It was very quiet and we never had a hard time finding 7 beach chairs together!

Loved it and would for sure go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Neesie1972 we really appreciate your kind comments. Our commitment is to make our customer vacations an unforgettable experience and when we did, we feel very proud of it.
We try to provide you with the best service, as Manuel, Hector and Martin delivered, we will pass your comments to them and they surely will appreciate them.
Food and beverages are an essential in our resort, we work hard innovating flavors so you can enjoy our mystical culture with our cuisine.

Again thank you very much for your comments. We hope we can host you again in our resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

After reading all of the horror stories about Aventura Cove and fully prepared for the worst, my husband, daughter, son-in-law and 3 year old grandson went to the Cove in January...no choice as the trip had already been booked and paid for.
To my immense delight, the naysayers and the prophets of doom were wrong. We had a wonderful time. Other than a horrendous check-in which was salvaged after 2 hours by Xavier Ramirez (many thanks for your help), we were put in 2 rooms in a building with an elevator(I had an injury and was on crutches). The room was lovely, the room service was quick and the cleaning and bedtime services were wonderful.
We ate at the sit-down restaurant, La Hacienda, where our waiter, Ishmael, did a superb job and made us feel welcome and well-fed whenever he saw us..make sure you order the Mayan coffee( a fire and liqueur show) and the steak with goat cheese on top.
We mainly ate either at the outdoor poolside restaurant (more than the usual pool food..there was also barbecued chicken, salads, boneless chicken filets ,tacos,and subs) or at Ventanas (the buffet restaurant in the main building) due to the presence of a 3 year old...but wherever we were, the service was impeccable and always given with a smile.
There are electric carts everywhere (especially important to me with my crutches) which would take us either from the lobby of the Cove to the lobby of the Spa or to any building on the complex..the drivers always greeted us with an"Hola" or a promise if they were filled up to return immediately to pick us up (and they did)..the Spa was awesome, peaceful (no talking) and available for us to use with our credits (we never connected with the timeshare folks and it didn't matter that we didn't meet them)..we had 2 regular massages, 3 deep-tissue massages,2 facials and a haircut....ALL INCLUDED except for the Mexican tax of 11% (paid at checkout.)
There was some sort of show or entertainment every night and vendors came and set up shop outdoors on Friday night to indulge you ..
We had a room on the 3rd floor which faced in the Spa direction and thus we never heard anything to disturb our sleep.
The Children's daycare is superb and the counselors there were wonderful and imaginative..
I could go on and on and mention other people (such as Elida, a lovely waitress who loves children and knows to serve them before anyone else), but the gist of this is to tell you what a wonderful resort the Cove is..even with a full occupancy...we were all very, very sorry to leave.
I don't know what changes will be wrought when Hard Rock takes over completely, but I saw no evidence that anything major would change...we all agreed that we would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Viennastag, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers.
Our goal is to always provide the best stay possible and we are really glad to know that
you had a wonderful and enjoyable experience here at Aventura Palace.
We will let Xavier and Elida that they were helpful and and made your stay special; we actually have an incentive program for the staff members that our guest mentioned in their comments.

If you come home happier as you leave, we`ll be satisfied with the service that we provided you.

We would be delighted to have the opportunity to host you again in Mexico.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Aventura Cove Palace is a wonderful resort. The people are so very friendly, kind and courteous. They going over the top with service. The food is fabulous. Everything we ate was delicious. Compliments to the chefs. Our room was wonderful. We travelled with our daughter. We are a tall family and needed an extra bed because two doubles just didn't cut it for us. There was no problem with our request. Wine in the room! Mini bar stocked daily! Great selection of alcohol - name brands we recognize. The Sweets Cafe was great after dinner. Quiet and relaxing - no annoying music. The music they played around the resort was music we all would recognize and enjoy. The $1500 credit was a bonus. We enjoyed massages for $14.00 each and lobster dinners for the 3 of us for only $11.00. My husband bought my birthday gift with the resort credits - great jewellry. The pool was big and the water comfortable. The sports staff were fun but not over the top which is great! The beach will be added to next year, we are told, with lots more sand being put in place of the crushed coral. The pool/beach snack bar and drink bar was great! The service is impeccable at this resort. We will definitely return next year!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. You get an Ocean View in every room except for maybe the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Yvonne K, we appreciate your kind comments, we are very glad to know that you and your family spent a good time during your stay, we always look on what you want, that is why we try to provide brands that you`ll recognize to make your stay special.

The resort credits are a good way to take advantage from our benefits, you can get excursions, dinners, spa treatments and like you did take jewelry which is gorgeous.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to host you again in Mexico.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My family and I just got back from this resort. We were with our son so stayed at the "Cove" portion of this resort. The "Spa" half is just for adults. I did go over to the Spa side a couple of times (which as an adult I was welcome to do) and it is a bit nicer in many small ways. If you do not have kids, go to the Spa side.

My thoughts...

1) The service was generally better at this resort than others I have been to. Complains you read to the contrary seem to come from Palace members. I talked to a couple while at the resort and it seems evident that the service really had taken a dive since the announcement that the Hard Rock will be taking over this resort. So, while the complaints seem legitimate for those who experienced something better, it is still quite good for those or us who have not.

2) There really is no beach. You have read that elsewhere. There really is not any sand either. There is small sand like granules but this is not sand. It makes a difference when walking.

3) There is a breakwall all along with water shore. This is pretty good actually because snorkeling is good. We saw many fish, an eel, and a stingray. The Cove side is better for snorkeling than the Spa side. That being said, the snorkeling is not amazing.

4) The food is pretty good but, with a child, we could not go to the Spa side. This limited our dining options to either the buffet, the Hacienda or the Muraco (this is not the name but it is something like this). The Hacienda has very good Mexican food and the Muraco is a steak house (but was also a buffet one night). The food at the Muraco was just OK. The buffet at night was OK, certainly less good than other resorts we have been to. The breakfast and lunch buffets were good. Nothing amazing but just fine. If you have kids you can not go the to the Chinese or Italian restaurants as they are on the Spa side...unless you leave your kids behind. Overall, we had better food at other resorts.

5) The entertainment was hit and miss. Make the effort to go to the fire show for sure.

6) The resort credits were good and bad. There were five different day trips you could go on and use these credits, You do have to pay 11% tax in cash but, for the trips, it is clearly worth it. Other uses for the credits are for wine upgrades at dinner but the wine is so ridiculously overpriced (like $150 - $180 per bottle) that you really are not getting it for much of a discount as you have to pay 11% of the asking price...so you are paying $20 for the wine. Still cheaper than it would otherwise be but not a great deal. We did not use the credits for massages etc as we simply never got around to it. We tried to use the credits to buy jewelry or sunglasses but you were limited to how many credits you could use. For example, you get to use $100 to buy a pair of sunglasses but the sunglasses are overpriced at $375 and therefor you are asked to pay $275 for $200 glasses. You get the idea.

6) The basic rooms are small. Ours had two queen beds. We would have liked to have put a cot in with us but there was no room. There is a huge soaker tub in every room which we used once. It was OK although the water was yellow...apparently drinkable and it did not look yellow in a glass but in that huge tub it was. The beds were OK. Not great but not terrible. The pillows kind of sucked - cheap shredded foam and they smelled a bit musty. The sheets were not of the best quality but OK. The one day I looked at the sheets in the daylight and I could see stains on them. That is the only day I looked. Maybe the rest of the days they were great. There were complaints about the staff carts making a lot of noise in the halls. We only heard it a couple of times. It is kind of loud but we were already awake anyway. If you are a light sleeper and sleep in after 9:00, this may be an issue for you.

7) The room cleaning was done well but it was uncertain when it would happen. One day they knocked at 9:00 am to clean the room, another it was after 4:00 and then every time in between.

8) The rooms were stocked with pop, water, beer and had a variety of alcohol as well.

9) Speaking of alcohol, it was all top notch. The beer was marginal. Some bars had a darker beer (but still very light) that was better than the the typical Mexican ultra-light beers.

10) The ride from the airport was a bit long - maybe 75 to 90 minutes which includes stops at a number of other resorts. I was OK with the drive but you may not be.

So overall, I thought the resort was just OK. I would not go back but I did not have a terrible time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Like-It-Matters, thank you very much for sharing your experience with our readers.

We always want to provide you a helpful and friendly service to make you an unforgettable experience. We do have information in our web page concerning the beach area, we apologies for any misinformation.

We are glad to hear that you took advantage from the activities that we offer in our resort, like snorkeling where you`ll be able to find many fish and algae. Our executive chef thinking in every taste has created culinary experiences for different tastes; we include steaks, seafood, pastas, Mexican food and snacks.

Our entertainment team work hard innovating shows and activities for family and kids.

Remember that resort credit is an extra bonus for our guests, and is good to know that you took advantage and went to excursions.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views , a private white sand beach , and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas . It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.