We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again..still great food and service..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joel Restaurant - Pub

Joel Restaurant - Pub
Punta Celis | Bassin des Dauphins, Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Boulder,Co
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Back again..still great food and service..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We visit Puerto Aventuras frequently and will be moving there in November..we eat at Joels Pub often while there..the food and service is consistently great and the staff and kitchen are always accommodating...when visiting during the day..say hello to Frederico or Joel..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stopped by 3 times while we were in PA staying nearby. Had great margaritas each time. They have a good beer selected also. Fun place to sit and watch the dolphins.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“They tried.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

There are 2 Pub restaurants ...side by side...and the one we chose, the larger, was probably the wrong choice. We had frozen Margaritas at both in 2 days. Both were pretty good.

Since we were already seated at the larger Pub, and my wife was not going to get the brisket special in the other one we stayed at the larger one for dinner.

We shouldn't have. My fajitas were not very good. My wife's paste with vegetables and chicken was better, much better. In fact we took the pasta and veggies home and the next night had it with broccoli and sauteed mushrooms, garlic and cayenne. It was a perfect addition to our steak.

I said that they tried and they did I guess.

A pet peeve of mine is eating in a restaurant where the wait staff is unaware of what is happening at their tables. The Pub suffers a lot by being totally unaware of what is going on. There was some wonderful live music played by an Ecuadorian couple.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bullyng turistico”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

En Español

La comida me gusto mucho, el problema es con las cuentas que los meseros te entregan, si no te pones abusado con la cuenta, en este lugar los meseros te pueden cobrar mas dinero de lo que realmente debiste pagar.

Este tipo de acciones son consideradas como "Bullyng al turista" yo me me di cuenta de esto por que suelo revisar producto por producto que consumí siempre al pagar la cuenta, no dudo que una persona extranjera no lo note y caiga en su trampa.

In English

I really liked the food, the problem is with the accounts that the servers deliver to you, if you do not pay attention to the account, the waiters in this place can charge more money than you should really pay.

Such actions are considered " Tourist Bullyng " I realized this because usually i always review the account, I guess a tourist from another country is likely to fall into the trap.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKVILLE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great ceviche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had the opportunity to eat here a few times on my recent stay in PA. Love their shrimp ceviche, and the lime soup! My favourite 'go to' meals!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joel Restaurant - Pub also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Joel Restaurant - Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joel Restaurant - Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.