We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Ole

Cafe Ole
Centro Comercial Marina, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
+52 984 873 5125
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Cafe Ole has been in business for over 17 years. Gaylita has made this restaurant one of the finest in the Riviera Maya. Enjoy great food, fun and satisfaction. We have a friendly staff, good service and varied menu - fresh seafood, steaks, pasta, Mexican specialties, burgers, soups, salads, sandwiches and wraps. Check out our heavenly pies, cakes and other and desserts. We have something for everyone. A full bar and wine list are available. Cafe Ole is famous for Baby Back Ribs--Kansas City Style. Our customers rave about Gaylita's pies and cakes. Order by the slice for dessert OR call a day ahead to order entire pie or cake. If it's for a birthday, Gaylita can personalize it. Just ask! We have delicious homemade ice creams - coconut with real chunks, vanilla made from real vanilla bean and chocolate. Our band, The Lost and Found plays on Wednesday, Friday and Sunday nights. Several times a year we have other musicians. We want you to have an awesome experience with us and make you feel at home. Come enjoy some pie and get your picture taken with Gaylita. Hope to see you soon! As for your reviews, we take them very seriously and appreciate them greatly! We know it takes quite some time to write them. Please "Like" our page on Facebook and come back often.
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have enjoyed breakfasts at Café Ole because of the good food and friendly service. It is always a great value. But the meal we like best is the "all you can eat" BBQ ribs served on Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday evenings. It is great food, a wonderful atmosphere and live music.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    54
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rib night & Music Rocks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Thanks for a FABULOUS time!! My friends and family enjoyed singing along to the music and the food was amazing!! cheers!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nothing special if you are looking for authentic mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had the tortilla soup, which was average and not very authentic, the guacamole which was not very good, and the beef tacos, which were definitely not authentic and were just OK. I suppose this place is trying to cater to gringo tastes, which, i.m.h.o., just ends up not being good american or mexican food. I suppose it is hard to find real mexican in a place like P.A.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good fish tacos - great flan!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went early and had the place to ourselves. The fish tacos were god - not great...rather than a grilled fish fillet they were diced but made of grouper that was very fresh. The service was excellent - very attentive.

The piece de resistance was the home made flan. Unbelievable! The waiter says the owner makes them daily and you can even buy a whole one. Was tempted but managed to resist.

There is live music some nites and it is literally in the center of the marina area.

Only complaint...they had more of a problem with flies than the other restaurants we have been to...think they need to spray again or something.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices, great desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

While staying in Puerto Aventuras for 9 days, we ate at Café Ole three times! Sunday, Wednesday and Fridays, they have a barbecued ribs special -- all you can eat for $20 US. The ribs are seasoned wonderfully and they are so tender, the meat falls off the bone. On Fridays, they also have live music. My husband had the ribs twice and I had it once. One time we both had the chicken enchiladas -- very good but you must love cheese. They are smothered with cheese. I really liked them. The last night we were there, I had the grouper cooked with a mustard sauce. It was amazing! Loved every bite. Gaylita, the owner, makes all the desserts, except as she modestly says, for the flan. Her staff makes it fresh, it was also delicious. My husband loves Gaylita's Key Lime pie. Don't miss going to Café Ole, we feel it is the best restaurant in PA.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ole also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cafe Ole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Ole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.