We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Breukelen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Breukelen to your Saves list
Hotel Breukelen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsweg 91, 3621 LK Breukelen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breukelen
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The staff was extremely friendly from the moment that I checked in until the moment I left. Everything was exceptionally clean. The room was very nice. At breakfast, you have a choice of omlets, eggs, etc.

Room Tip: I was in the newer portion of the hotel that other reviewers recommended. Others whom I meet who wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    59
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
12
30
4
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had worn ourselves out in Amsterdam but had neglected to book a hotel, partially expecting that we might end up dossing on a friend's couch. So when that didn't eventuate, we realised we might end up sleeping in the van, so decided to head south and "see how we got on". Just as we were about to give up I saw a slip road with a "bed" sign on it, and I just shouted "Bed! Bed! Turn off here!" ... frantic slapstick ensued as we got onto the sliproad and followed the signs to a gloriously oriental-looking building. There was a large carpark which is entered by way of accepting a ticket. We were a little worried that there would be no rooms available (it was approaching midnight)

Fortunately the two gentleman at the front reception reassured us. They were charming and helpful, and as soon as we had booked breakfast, we were whisked efficiently to the room whereupon we crashed to sleep as soon as our heads hit the pillows. The two (very large) single beds were pushed together for us, soft and comfortable, with perfect pillows and extra blankets in the cupboard if we needed them (we did not). The bathroom was well stocked with plenty of towels, and the shower gel/soaps were luxurious and smelt wonderfully of lemongrass. The shower was simple to use, and water pressure, hot and cold, was wonderful.

The room decor was elegant, we didn't get a chance to use the TV so I can't comment on the channel selection, and we were too tired to investigate the mini-bar (normally this would be our first port of call).

The breakfast, somewhat expensive at 15 euros a head was, however, well worth it if you can eat your way round the whole course. I tried, and wore myself out. The range of foods is delicious and varied: an extremely decent choice of cereals, fruit, juices, teas and coffees, bread, cheese, a cold cuts counter, and a hot counter with traditional English breakfast items, as well as pancakes; there is even a cook available at the hot counter to make omelettes which were heartily approved of by my better half.

If you are looking for a value for money hotel, then the Van der Valk Breukelen is probably not for you. But if you are looking for reasonably priced 4-5 star comforts, then it is ideal, perfect, discreet and charming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A three night stay gave me a good idea about the quality and service. Very friendly staff, quick check in, easy to find room and very large room. Breakfast offering was also excellent with a good variaty of items to choose from. Would stay again.

I had no time to enjoy the spa area, but swimming pool and fitness facilities looked excellent.

Room Tip: There are two seperate buildings, the main building with restaurant and reception and the second bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Amazing large room with sauna and hamam ,very good view to the highway ,very clean room service feels good
Must visit when some one comes to holland Utrecht ....it's very close to town ...very relaxing place food is also good .....enjoy!!!!!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in January, visiting family in nearby Vreeland. We drove from England, and so wanted to stay somewhere near public transport, but not too far from our relatives.

As senior trip-advisor contributors, we emailed the hotel in advance to let them know of our forthcoming stay. We simply said that we looked forward to staying with them and to writing a positive review. We didn't receive a reply. We found the reception staff to be very helpful and polite, although we were surprised that we weren't asked when checking out if everything was okay.

We opted for a deluxe room, staying Saturday, Sunday and Monday night, which cost around €300 for a double room in the new building. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom looked impressive and there was a fridge in the room (although the freezer section was completely frosted up and inaccessible). The room was cleaned daily and to a high standard.

We decided not to opt for the breakfast option of €15 each per day. We didn't eat in the restaurant either.

We were going to use the sauna/pool but didn't get around to it.

Positives
Location - great for the train - Approx 30 mins from Amsterdam Centraal and 15 mins from Uretcht.
Facilities
Bar - reasonably priced for a hotel.
Clean and comfortable

Negatives
We stayed in room 411 - the free wi-fi was terrible (it was fine in the bar/reception). It kept crashing out and we ended up using our own network, which would have cost us.
Shower - looked great, but wasn't very powerful.
Safe- (free) but was situated quite high up, which made access difficult (if you're not particularly tall) and hard to see inside.
Lighting - very low lighting throughout the hotel (partner found it particularly poor for applying make up in the room).
Isolated - situated between motorway and train station. The town is close by, but other than that, not much around.

We have never stayed in the Netherlands, so don't have anything to compare this to, but all in all, we felt it was a little expensive. Having said that, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Van der Valk Hotel van Breukelen is superb. As others have said, the main building is in a curious Chinese-style which seems out of place, but that merely adds to the attraction. There is plenty of parking - necessary because this is an out-of-town conference hotel - and it's easy to get into Utrecht by car. There is a railway station right next door with frequent trains to Amsterdam and elsewhere. The hotel was very busy when I stayed. My room (in the new wing) was spacious, clean, modern and comfortable, and the bathroom was a pleasure to use. Hotel staff (reception and in the Brasserie) were extremely polite, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent; I had the best spare-rib I have eaten in years, cooked to perfection, with great side dishes, and I was served quickly by a helpful waiter. Wi-fi connection was good throughout and when I needed to get my boarding pass printed, the reception staff dealt with it immediately. It was a pleasure to stay here and I will definitely recommend it to colleagues.

Room Tip: Book in the new wing - although dearer, rooms are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Rooms are clean and plenty of room. 2 very nice restaurants in the hotel with a wide variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner. About 50% of the guests for dinner in the restaurant are locals who enjoy the food here. Service is great!
Just behind the hotel you can catch the train to go into downtown Utrecht.
Will stay here next time on business in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the highway are noisy with traffic - but double sliding doors helps some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Breukelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breukelen

Address: Stationsweg 91, 3621 LK Breukelen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Breukelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breukelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Breukelen 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Breukelen offers luxurious rooms, suites and a romantic bridal suite. Accommodations come with standard facilities including a flat-screen TV, a sitting area and a bathtub.We are only 170 yards from the train station in Breukelen and a 2 minute drive from the A2 highway. We offer free parking and it includes a spa center with an indoor pool, fitness center and sauna which can be used free of charge. You can use our free WIFI internet throughout the hotel, including your hotel room.Every morning, you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet with fresh eggs, omelets and pancakes. The hotel also offers a bar, brasserie and restaurant with an international kitchen which serve food throughout the day. During the weekend, guests can also enjoy the Live Cooking buffet restaurant and children have the possibility to bake their own cookies.You can reach the Loosdrechtse Plassen Lakes with a 10 minute drive. Schiphol Airport is only a 20 minute car ride away.Guests can also book a range of body and facial treatments at the beauty salon. The spa center also includes a Turkish steam bath and an aroma shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Breukelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breukelen Hotel Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Breukelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.