We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service unlucky with the food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ZIZI

ZIZI
Stationsweg 1, 3621 LJ Breukelen, The Netherlands
31346263222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Breukelen
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Bad service unlucky with the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is a very nice looking restaurant that unfortunately it didn't live up to the expectations. The restaurant was nowhere near full, but the service was slow, disorganised and at times very un attentive. 1 hour between starter and main course is not acceptable for a group of 8.
Second while the food seems to be OK, I was very unlucky! First I ordered one kind of fish and they served a completely dish of fish that the one I ordered. Second the fish they served was completely raw as if they forgot the cook it, so I sent it back. Third the second piece of fish they served me taste like ammonia ! Something was wrong with the cooking and it was inedible, the smell alone would make you faint.
After the disaster, a lot of apologies from the management but the damage was done. I will not comeback

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable patio, nice bar area, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The sun was wonderful on the patio, and the service was excellent. At the bar, the staff was friendly and the bar food was 'OK'. Back again for dinner, the food was very good, and again, the staff was very friendly, outgoing and observant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ok but a little too elaborate for us.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We found the service to be fine although the beers were not very cold.
Food was over elaborate for the actual standard of the cooking. Presentation seemed to be more important than taste although I did enjoy the sweet potato soup. Perhaps it was just the wrong choice for us that evening.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice spot in Breukelen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The atmosphere of the restaurant is really nice. Great service, friendly people.
There are not too many options in the menu but the food is good.
Good selection of wines plus the option of hte week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breukelen Ut
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Colourful inside, good food, nice atmosphere in 'The Original Brooklyn'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Come and visit the original Brooklyn: Breukelen, in the Netherlands. While you're there, stop by ZIZI a bistro cafe type place with no frills food, drinks, no feeling of being rushed by staff. This place is in the city center, the place to be anyway while you are in Breukelen!

You can sit and eat here for hours, be it for a romantic dinner or for a business lunch or dinner. We really like the inside of this place. A lot of bold statements of the interior decorator that did this place. Two thumbs up! The kitchen staff does a nice job of serving tasty food. We would and will go and eat here again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZIZI also viewed

Breukelen, Utrecht Province
Breukelen, Utrecht Province
 
Breukelen, Utrecht Province
Breukelen, Utrecht Province
 

Been to ZIZI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZIZI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.