We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virupaksha Temple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virupaksha Temple

Virupaksha Temple
Bagalkot District, Pattadakal, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Pattadakal
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Virupaksha Temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We started our 3 day hampi trip from Virupaksha temple. Must visit temple since it is one of few temples where worship is on. Maintenance is the issue such historic place totally lack of cleanness
hurting, After spending quality time in temple and the river bank went up hill towards jain temples to watch sunset my god what sorry state of affairs toilets built is in bad shape people have used boulders as open bathrooms - what is the use going into such lovely temple coming out and using places around it to mess!!!!!!! Sad

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The last live monument in hampi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I did not like the way foreigners dressed skimply while inside the temple complex- if any foreign guests do read this please try to maintain the sanctity of the temple by going around the place dressed and behaving properly. Do not make a mockery of our perseverance

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not the greatest Temple but what a great place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This looked a great Temple from the inside, but if honest once inside I wasn't that bowled over but what I saw (in typical Karl Pilkington style), other than getting to meet the nice Elephant who gives out blessing's by tapping the top of your head for a small fee/contribution.

The town itself was what I found most amazing. Loads to see if you get out and about, a trip in one of the half moon boats is a must. I'm sure if you go there you will have a great time, I certainly did. A Bhang Lassi in one of the cafe's is a must after a long day checking out the awesome history that surrounds this place.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“The Pinnacle of Hampi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

You can't go to Hampi and not see this temple. It has one too many people there as it's int he direct path of tourism, but it's worth the visit. The temple elephant may even be there to welcome you or go to the river at 8 a.m. and wash the ritual bath. The place is packed with people; I suggest getting a different view and go up the hill to the Jain temple to look down on Virupksha.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Virupaksha Temple, Hampi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Placed at the backdrop of river Tungabhadra, it is perhaps the only temple where worship still goes on. It attracts thousands of woshipers not only from the neighbourhood but also from the adjacent states.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virupaksha Temple also viewed

 
Pattadakal, Karnataka
Hampi, Karnataka
 

Been to Virupaksha Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virupaksha Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.