We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remove the blue tuna from the Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa de la Selva - CLOSED

Villa de la Selva
Paseo de la Roca Lote-D, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
+52 755 553 0362
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Villa de la Selva offers three terraces with views of the ocean. The restaurant has a casual ambience and serves contemporary and international cuisine. With twenty-five years of high quality service, the staff is experts at hosting weddings and the most romantic dinners in Ixtapa. El restaurante consta de tres terrazas con vista al mar al descubierto. El ambiente es casual y nuestra cocina es contemporanea e internacional. Veinte-cinco anos de servicio respaldan nuestra calidad, expertos en bodas y eventos los atardeceres mas bellos de Ixtapa disfrutando de una cena romantica.
FOREST HILLS
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Remove the blue tuna from the Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Sorry, but this is how i feel after our visit to this magnificent restaurant. It is located over cliffs, next to the Las Brisas Hotel in Ixtapa. We experienced incredible sunset. The place was set up with white table clothes, candles overlooking the Ixtapa Bay. Service was excellent. I chose the Blue Tuna on the menu which was a disappointment. It consisted of three small pieces of tuna and i think that such beautiful and famous restaurant can do better....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    42
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Unique Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had our last dinner in Mexico at this beautiful restaurant with spectacular ocean views and surrounded by green. Excellent food and service. Recommend the duck tacos and the grill calamari. We were 8 and everyone was happy and charmed. But enchantment comes with a price tag of US $75 a person. It is still a memorable experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Okay and pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I wouldn't go again, not too much on menu that I liked and it was okay the food. It was pricey shoud just go for a drink and look at the view and must go before sun goes down. People very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“special occassion only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

i am sure to always have at least one fine evening there with family and friend every year,pricey, but, it is for that "i want to be spoiled" dinner with specil people.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“a view that is spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

the view of the ocean, with ixtapa in the bacround is truly memorable.
the food is also as memorable

if you are lucky, you get wildlife to boot.
bats - big ones
koptmundy - big racoons usually put in an appearance

don`t miss this one

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa de la Selva also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa de la Selva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.