We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont get suckered into this time share attempt to sell!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifica Spa

Save Saved
You added Pacifica Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacifica Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colina Playa Hermosa | Secc. Prolong. Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico (Formerly Loma del Mar Thalasso Spa & Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dont get suckered into this time share attempt to sell!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I went to Zihuatanejo for a week in June. We were met at the airport by a man named Jorge A. Ceballos Magnon. He immediately started to tell us of all the hotspots in Ixtapa and Zihua. After a few minutes of rambling on he promised us two free full day snorkeling trips, two dinners at a romantic resteraunt named Lapampa, and pay for our taxi to and from the airport and $100 cash only if we would sit through a 90 minute presentation at Loma Del Mar.
We set the appt up for the next morning. Jorge and another man came and picked us up at our hotel the next morning. Brought us directly to the Loma Del Mar. Once we were there two men attempted to sell us a time share that they swore was not a time share.
After Two and a half hours We told them that the answer was no several times. They said that we were getting nothing that we were promised. I guess you only get free gifts if you sign a $35000 morgage over five years just to use a "Time Share" 2-3 weeks a year and pay a $650 a week maintainence fee for the weeks used.
We had to walk back to the main road and get a taxi back to our hotel. My wife was terribly upset and felt as if we had been held against our will and overly pressured into purchasing something that we did not want.
Do not get suckered in at the airport or anywhere else around Ixtapa or Zihua. Just pay for your own taxis, meals, and tours. These people are frauds and who knows if you will ever receive the free gifts that they promise you. They certainly didnt give us a thing but indeed wasted about 3hrs of our vacation.
Outside of this horrible experience, My wife and I loved everything about this lost paradise Zihuatanejo.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

If you want a feeling of having your own private resort you need to stay here! There are a limited number of rooms available at Loma that all provide the feeling of a private condo or penthouse rental.
The unit we stayed in had two good sized bedrooms and one smaller room that would be fine for a child. The two bigger bedrooms each had their own bathrooms with hand tiled showers. The bathrooms were also spacious and were a pleasnat surprise for what we normally expect. There was an open spaced living area including a dining table, breakfast bar, full kitchen, and living room with flat screen tvs and a dvd player. We had a nice balcony over looking the pool and amenities with a shade. Everything was clean and seemed well maintained.
We went in off season and the staff may have been scaled back. There was a day we had the entire pool to ourselves! English was definately a second language at the resort but it was manageable.
There is an open air restaurant and our food was decent, priced reasonably from what we experienced in Town. Service was slow but hey, you're on vacation!
This resort offers high end spa treatments including a salt pool and hot and cold underground showers. I did not attend these but spoke to people who did and all seemed to enjoy it.
The resort is not on the main hotel strip but it is within walking distance if you take the mostly paved route along the resorts golf course. You can also get a golf cart ride to the beach from the resort although the resort's reserved "beach" is very small and sometimes already taken over by the locals! We found we were able to easily avoid a taxi ride into Town by taking the golf cart to the beach and walking a short disctance to the public beach access which leads directly to the main road and landed us right in Town - near the Super Mercado and several good places to eat and shop.
My only complaint would be that the back of our room shared a hallway with a maid's closet and they would start very early in the morning and talk VERY LOUDLY!
We got a great package for air and hotel - but it was the off season! I went with Family but would love to go back for a romantic getaway with a loved one!

Room Tip: different # of bedrooms in units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here over the Christmas and New Year period in Dec 2010. The hotel itself is beautiful, it's set in perfectly manicured gardens and is between Ixtapa and Zihuateanejo. You can easily get a cab from the hotel to either of the towns and both are very different. Ixtapa very family and touristy, and Zihuateanejo more real Mexico. The staff at the hotel, Felix and Ricardo in the Office, Arturo the Bar Manager, Inez the waitress and Cesar the waiter were all so friendly and helpful. The hotel has an amazing pool area and you also have the option of a 10 minute walk or being driven in a golf cart down to the beach area. This is a sectioned off area with umbrella's and beach loungers and waiter service from Cesar. The beach was clean & beautiful and the water warm - heaven. Rooms are huge, and have everything you need and the daily maid service was great, leaving pretty little flower arrangements everyday on the bed. The restaurant at the hotel La Luna de Shiva was excellent, the chef was friendly and the food delicious. The restaurant with the most amazing view over the whole Ixtapa Bay, connected with the hotel called "La Pampa" also had delicious food. Make sure you have a ride on the Gondola down to the beach and back. We took a Catamaran Trip one day from Zihuatanejo (arranged by Felix at the hotel) which was great fun, beautiful scenery, lots of drinks and snacks all included. The Thalasso Spa Couldn't recommend this hotel enough, as our stay was such a wonderful one.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

If you are looking for a great place to relax and be treated like a king then this is the place for you. This is our fourth year to this resort and I will continue to come back each year. The staff are always friendly and courteous. The rooms are the cleanest I have ever had in Mexico. The pool and spa areas are surrounded with peaceful music not the boom boom that you get at all inclusive resorts. Amazing place if you want to relax and enjoy a little golf.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Loma del Mar, and it was paradise. It was a particularly quiet week in Ixtapa, tucked between Thanksgiving and the busy holiday season. The hotel was quiet too, but since that meant no screaming children, it was just right for our romantic getaway. The hotel consists of 16 suites and we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. We were on the 3rd floor and had a beautiful view of the lovely landscaped property, pool, thalasso spa and golf course. Each day our room was made up with flower petals decorating our bed and bathrooms. Breakfasts and lunches at La Luna de Shiva were delicious and beautifully prepared. Service was completely attentive, but not at all in our faces. The thalasso spa and massage were completely relaxing but also invigorating. Our only (mild) issue was that the closest beach, Playa Palamar, is not the most attactive beach in the area, but a short drive away brought us to Playa la Ropa which was quiet and was a lovely spot to spend the day. This is a delightful alternative to the huge, hussle-bussle hotels that populate most of Ixtapa.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This hotel is small and tucked into the hillside, and provides much privacy for you and those you travel with. It is a few minutes to the beach, but with the poolside attentiveness of Onesimo, and the helpful skills of Vanessa and Felix at the front desk, you won't find yourself wanting for anything.

The poolside menu includes some wonderful shrimp tacos on handmade tortillas, and a full bar. The only sound around the grounds are light background sounds you'd find an any upscale spa accompanied by fountains and waterfalls around the grounds.

The rooms are exceedinlgy spacious and well maintained with any service you need delivered to your door. The onsite restaurant knows its way around the kitchen too with the green poblano cream soup and succulent shrimp with watermelon sauce you will find your senses in overdrive after a day of relaxing poolside and in the spa.

If you cannot find your way to relax at this hotel, then you haven't spent enough time by the pool or getting treatments in the spa. If you are not in this hotel, you should still see if you can get a treatment and spend the day by the pool enjoying the seclusion and relaxing grounds.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is an absolutely amazing boutique hotel. I do not normally bother to write reviews for all the hotels I have stayed in; it would take a lot of time and there would be not enough time left to travel. Anyway, I liked this hotel so much that I had to write a review. Besides that, I am now at Casa del Mar (another del Mar) in Los Cabos, sipping a margarita, and having nothing else to do :-)

Let me start by saying that its architecture is superb. It reminded me of Andalusia and all those little hotels on Costa del Sol. The apartments are large and well appointed. The decorations are exquisite. They gave me a cable to connect my iPod to the stereo system and that took care of the musical ambiance. Their spa services are top notch. My girlfriend went to their thalasso spa the second day of our stay and liked it so much that she ended up going 3 more times. I do not smoke, but I like to enjoy a habano with a glass of good rum once in a blue moon. This is a non-smoking hotel, but they allowed me to light up a cigar under a nice palapa tucked on the hill. I asked the bartender if they carried Zacapa Centenario, the best rum in the world. They did not and I had to settle for a glass of Havana Club anejo. Sure enough, the next day the bartender comes and tells me they just received a bottle of Zacapa Centenario. I was so touched that I had to enjoy 2 more cigars that week. This is what I call going the extra mile in customer service.

The pool is very nice, it has massage jets, and the showers are beautiful in their simplicity. Besides the regular chairs, there are comfortable lounge beds next to the pool.

The hotel is small and quiet (I prefer the hotels with less than 50 rooms). I think that only 4-5 suites out of 16 were occupied at some point. For a couple of days we had the whole pool for ourselves. Loma del Mar has a palapa on Playa del Palmar and we spent a few mornings over there. From the beach you can see their La Pampa restaurant on top of the hill. Loma del Mar has 2 restaurants. La Luna De Shiva is next to the pool. La Pampa is up on the hill and has a scenic view of Ixtapa and the beach; it opens only for dinner. Both restaurants serve excellent food and have a good assortment of wines. We tried several South American wines we never had before and they were very good and reasonably priced. One good thing is that these restaurants are small and have not more than 10 tables; attentive service, intimate atmosphere, skilled personnel. The deserts were to die for.

One day we had dinner at Portofino, which is located inside the Las Brisas hotel within walking distance from Loma del Mar. It has excellent food and the service is outstanding; too bad the restaurant has no windows at all. It is quite expensive compared to the other restaurants. Another evening we went to El Faro, located about 150 feet from La Pampa. This restaurant is in the Pacifica Resort in Ixtapa; the funny thing is that Tripadvisor is listing El Faro as being in Zihuatanejo. El Faro is larger than La Pampa, noisier, and pricier. We tried several other restaurants in Ixtapa and Zihua, but they were average or below average and I don’t remember their names.

All in all, our stay at Loma del Mar was very relaxing. I would definitely stay there again when I return to Ixtapa.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacifica Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Spa

Address: Paseo Colina Playa Hermosa | Secc. Prolong. Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico (Formerly Loma del Mar Thalasso Spa & Resort)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacifica Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tranquil setting on Mexico's tropical Pacific coast, at the edge of Ixtapa (in the "dual destination" Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo), Loma del Mar features sixteen spacious suites, each with private balcony. They overlook the hotel's vast gardens, palapa-topped restaurant and lounge, the bubbling 70-foot thalasso pool (pictured above), and adjacent golf course/nature reserve with mountains in the background.In addition to the pleasurable and therapeutic thalasso (Greek word for "seawater") pool, the resort's extraordinary spa treatments offer joys of relaxation, rejuvenation and a deep feeling of wellness.For beachgoers, Ixtapa's nearby soft-sand beach has an exclusive palapa-shaded area especially for Loma del Mar guests.Our concierge service can arrange golf, sportfishing, sailing, scuba, surfing, private excursions to Zihuatanejo, and, just down the coast, the recently discovered archeological site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Pacifica Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loma Del Mar Hotel Ixtapa
Loma Del Mar Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacifica Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.