We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emporio Ixtapa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emporio Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Emporio Ixtapa to your Saves list
Emporio Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Emporio Ixtapa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in an ocean view room.
Although some describe this hotel as a "Boutique" style resort, I would rate it as a regular style hotel. Its older and the rooms are plain but clean, has a nice pool, good breakfast restaurant and friendly, helpful staff, especially at the front office.
Glad we didn't opt for the semi-all inclusive as there are many good dining options all around Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo.
It seems to attract a lot of older clientele and on the weekend fills up with Mexican families and groups which livens it up as its a bit boring during the week. No activities to speak of and even Ixtapa is very quiet most nights and this is "peak" season.
Nice hotel but would only return if there was a special promotion. I'd give it a solid 3 star rating.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for sharing the comments of your stay last March.
We are classified as a 5-star hotel by the Tourism Ministry because we have all the necessary services; Ixtapa itself is the place to go to rest and Emporio Hotel is part of the list of hotels that families seek to relax and forget about the daily routine.
Regarding the rooms have some remodeled and given preventive maintenance to keep the building in functionality.
We regret not having met your expectations and we invite you to give us a chance in the near future to regain his confidence in Emporio Ixtapa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    149
    84
    25
    21
See reviews for
117
125
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

we come over from La Ropa every year to the "hotel life" for a few days..(we are long term condo visitors to the area..but we like the beach at Ixtapa) we stayed again this year with Emporio--WE LOVE that they are NOT only all-inclusive like so many of their neighbor hotels! THANK YOU!
So, it breaks my heart to say anything negative. But, their rooms have no screens; and when we came in, the air conditioners barely cooled. We opened the windows for air....and were EATEN ALIVE by sand flys & mosquitos! The bugs were everywhere...the ceiling of the shower was covered for days after we closed up everything & suffered in the heat. They really need to tell the guests to keep everything closed up tight...we had a great maid who had them spray...but our last night gave us the biggest cockroach I've ever seen! Thank god he was belly up! Sounds strange...but I'll probably go back again next season..because so few hotels are euro plan.

Room Tip: higher floors may have less bug problems..rooms on opposite side of Dorado Pacifico will be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last March.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay, we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made ​​known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been to Ixtapa many times, and stayed at most all of the hotels, so I can say Emporio is very nice. Meant for couples, very layed back, no one bothering you to play silly games all day. great breakfest out beside the ocean, anything you ask for, or we did the buffet every day and its fab. Rooms very clean and nice and bright. All the shade you want around the pool and at the beach. We had lunch served by pool or at beach. Every night they set up ocean front dinning, grilled fish ,chicken, ribs, great as well. Very safe, repeat very safe,, we have not seen any change in over 10 years. My nick name is DEBBIE DOWNER because i always see something wrong------ nothing no problems in this part of Mexico-------------Also we go out most nights, taxis $5.00 most places, we still feel very safe and we are 60years old. Going downtown to fishing village $8.00 for taxi, shops,stroll the moon lite bay of Z_WHAT, have a fresh catch of the day, if you go into town at 4ish. you see the boats come in with their catch. Did I say ,,,Its Safe, one LAST thing , out of all the trips to Ixtapa, we haVE SEEN it rain twice. SO have a fun time volm

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our family (adult children) stayed at the Emporio from February 7 to 10th and then my husband & I stayed until the 16th. We would rate the Emporio at least 3 1/2. It was very clean, attractive, had fast elevators (our room was right at the elevators but never heard them unless right at the door), good location and fantastic staff. We did not have an all-inclusive or meal package and only ate once at the breakfast buffet. The food & selection was good but you could cross the street and eat for much less.

It was located close to all kinds of great restaraunts, shops, convenient stores, taxi/bus stop and only a few blocks from the market. The pool was busy day and night with families, activities and just cooling off. There were lots of shaddy palaps on the beach (nice sand) were you could relax with a drink, watch the surf or read. Watch out for the par-a-sailers if you brave the big waves - we seen the boats come thru the assigned swimming area more than once! Some nights you can take part in the release of baby turtles on the beach. The lobby bar often had live entertainment in the evening.

I can not say enouph about the staff at the Emporio. They were attentive, helpful, friendly, and always had a smile on their face. From housekeeping to the front desk, everyone was terrific. We ask for rooms close together and were give ajoining rooms. It was nice to just leave the ajoining door closed if you wanted some privacey and open if you didn't ... saved on a lot of door knocking. We had only booked rooms until the 10th but my husband & I had no problem extending our stay, getting resonable rates and were upgraded from a Mountain View to an Ocean View Room.

We enjoyed our stay at the Emporio!

Room Tip: We were in room 904/905 (Mt View) and 822 (Ocean View). Both were quiet, even right next to the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Booked the superior room for Feb. 24 for 7 nights on Feb.15th. checked the Air Canada website were we booked the vacation on Feb.19 and found there had been a price drop totalling $570 dollars for two of us. This is not a good way to start a vacation...have a bad taste for this hotel already knowing the price dropped so much just a week before we get there.

Room Tip: book as late as possible cause the price drops are a killer. Guess I should have known this!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we arrived on Feb 10th and stayed until the 17th!! Our room on the 4th floor was good only concern was the a/c did not kick in and out. The noise across the street was loud a couple of nights. Food was very good! Location was excellent! Beach was fabulous!! Lots of room around the pools no problem getting a chair! Staff were very freindly and helpful!! We have been to Mexico before this was our first time to Ixtapa and was very beautiful!! Lots of things to do across the street from our hotel shopping,resturants! You can take a bus or a taxi into Zihuatanejo. Very cheap!! We had a local tour guide take us around the country side for a tour of bricks and tile plantation and a lunch on the beach was excellent!! Highly recommend it! Ulises was his name he was very freindly and took us to his home where we met his family! Very nice people! I reccommend him! If your interested i can email the information to any one that would be interested in his tours!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had booked a ticket on the first bus from Acapulco so that I could spend the day lazing around and going to the spa. Unfortunately I slept through my alarm, had to get a later bus and didn't have time to enjoy the hotel, which is extremely well located on beautiful Ixtapa beach.
The reception staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and my room on the 8th floor had a stunning view down the beach. The room was a little worn but spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable and the a/c worked incredibly well. The mini-kitchenette had a fridge, microwave, coffee machine and dishes and cutlery. It did NOT have any coffee, milk, sugar or tea, but I am used to lousy Mexican hotel coffee and had packed my own Starbucks filters and a mini-milk so enjoyed an early morning cup of coffee watching an amazing dawn break over the beach. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Emporio Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emporio Ixtapa greets guests in a spacious lobby , which include clarity marble floors and abundant planters with tropical plants, covered by a dome inspired by Mexican colonial architecture. This peaceful atmosphere , with equipales traditional wood and leather is ideal for couples or families seeking the privacy of a place to relax and enjoy the mar.Uchas thanks for your comments and attention of our staff. We are working on continuous improvement of hotel and appreciate your input which will take into account in order to continue providing excellent service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emporio Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Resort Ixtapa
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporio Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.