We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 Ixtapa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emporio Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Emporio Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emporio Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Ixtapa s/n | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Saskatchewan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2013 Ixtapa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our family (adult children) stayed at the Emporio from February 7 to 10th and then my husband & I stayed until the 16th. We would rate the Emporio at least 3 1/2. It was very clean, attractive, had fast elevators (our room was right at the elevators but never heard them unless right at the door), good location and fantastic staff. We did not have an all-inclusive or meal package and only ate once at the breakfast buffet. The food & selection was good but you could cross the street and eat for much less.

It was located close to all kinds of great restaraunts, shops, convenient stores, taxi/bus stop and only a few blocks from the market. The pool was busy day and night with families, activities and just cooling off. There were lots of shaddy palaps on the beach (nice sand) were you could relax with a drink, watch the surf or read. Watch out for the par-a-sailers if you brave the big waves - we seen the boats come thru the assigned swimming area more than once! Some nights you can take part in the release of baby turtles on the beach. The lobby bar often had live entertainment in the evening.

I can not say enouph about the staff at the Emporio. They were attentive, helpful, friendly, and always had a smile on their face. From housekeeping to the front desk, everyone was terrific. We ask for rooms close together and were give ajoining rooms. It was nice to just leave the ajoining door closed if you wanted some privacey and open if you didn't ... saved on a lot of door knocking. We had only booked rooms until the 10th but my husband & I had no problem extending our stay, getting resonable rates and were upgraded from a Mountain View to an Ocean View Room.

We enjoyed our stay at the Emporio!

Room Tip: We were in room 904/905 (Mt View) and 822 (Ocean View). Both were quiet, even right next to the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    122
    59
    19
    20
See reviews for
94
96
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Booked the superior room for Feb. 24 for 7 nights on Feb.15th. checked the Air Canada website were we booked the vacation on Feb.19 and found there had been a price drop totalling $570 dollars for two of us. This is not a good way to start a vacation...have a bad taste for this hotel already knowing the price dropped so much just a week before we get there.

Room Tip: book as late as possible cause the price drops are a killer. Guess I should have known this!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we arrived on Feb 10th and stayed until the 17th!! Our room on the 4th floor was good only concern was the a/c did not kick in and out. The noise across the street was loud a couple of nights. Food was very good! Location was excellent! Beach was fabulous!! Lots of room around the pools no problem getting a chair! Staff were very freindly and helpful!! We have been to Mexico before this was our first time to Ixtapa and was very beautiful!! Lots of things to do across the street from our hotel shopping,resturants! You can take a bus or a taxi into Zihuatanejo. Very cheap!! We had a local tour guide take us around the country side for a tour of bricks and tile plantation and a lunch on the beach was excellent!! Highly recommend it! Ulises was his name he was very freindly and took us to his home where we met his family! Very nice people! I reccommend him! If your interested i can email the information to any one that would be interested in his tours!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had booked a ticket on the first bus from Acapulco so that I could spend the day lazing around and going to the spa. Unfortunately I slept through my alarm, had to get a later bus and didn't have time to enjoy the hotel, which is extremely well located on beautiful Ixtapa beach.
The reception staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and my room on the 8th floor had a stunning view down the beach. The room was a little worn but spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable and the a/c worked incredibly well. The mini-kitchenette had a fridge, microwave, coffee machine and dishes and cutlery. It did NOT have any coffee, milk, sugar or tea, but I am used to lousy Mexican hotel coffee and had packed my own Starbucks filters and a mini-milk so enjoyed an early morning cup of coffee watching an amazing dawn break over the beach. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Weird that in order to check in one must convince the guard that we were staying in the hotel, this seems to be the norm as i saw a line of cars telling the guard they were guests already or were going for check-in. Plenty of parking spaces. The check-in staff was nice but definately took a long time for the check-in and more than 20 minutes for the check-out. Nice room with a view, we had breakfast at their restaurant big mistake.....for 250 pesos they offer sunny delight with pulp seems they squeeze one orange to make it seem natural, just sad. Requested an omelet only whites with mushrooms, the lady in charge of that station took the spoon from the pork skin stew to separate the yolk and then took the spoon from the jam to add the mushrooms.....nasty food contamination even more so that i was pregnant and couldnot eat cold cuts or fat. Coffee was cold, when requesting piping hot only got lukewarm. The beach was nice would not return, we got a better deal at las brisas. In front there is an ice cream shop, natural custom made with fresh fruit yogurt icecream. Many restaurant but close early on low season

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

we stayed five nights in December, ocean view room with included breakfast buffet and no other meals. The whole resort was very clean, as well as the room. Wonderful beds! Excellent staff and security. Good quiet hotel, and I was able to sleep nights because I room was not near any discos. I love that its not huge, you get to know the other guests and say Hi in the elevators. The elevators are very fast and efficient. The beach is excellent and there were plenty of lounge chairs. My only problem was the Air conditioning did not work correctly, and sometimes put out a disagreeable odor. Maintenance did not seem to know how to fix it. If there is anything wrong with the hotel, its the maintenance, they need to get it together! I would go back despite the A.C. problems because its small, clean, good price wonderful friendly staff and on a great beach. There was one English speaker there besides me and my husband but I speak enough Spanish to get along and converse, so it was all good. The breakfast buffett was the usual, eggs to order, hot cakes, lots of fruit, nice fresh pastry, juice, and other meats and main dish items, more like a main meal. The pool was a little cloudy, again, a maintenance issue.

Estuvimos alli en Diciembre antes de navidad. Buena vista del hab. con vista al mar, muy buenas camas, muy limpio. Lo unico es el mantenimiento, no funciono bien el aireacondicionado,o super frio o apagado pero no se pudo controlar para nada. Todos los empleados eran muy amables e eficientes en sus puestos. La playa fue muy padre tambien, y habien suficientes camastras para descansar con sombra. La comida en el bufet desayuno para mi fue muy bueno con bastante variedad, frutas, huevos al gusto, diferentes carnes, y pasteles buenos. Fue mas divertido porque no tienen tantos habitaciones y uno se siente mas "en casa". Regresare a este hotel si arreglan el aire acondicionado.

Room Tip: Ocean view, on side near Presidente if you don't want noise from Dorado Pacifico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Have been going to Ixtapa for many years now, But this time 2 weeks Non-inclusive. It was the best 2 weeks we ever had. Our room was on the 10th, floor with a great ocean view and was allways well taken care of , so for a few bucks more do the Ocean view..Did lunch at the hotel everyother day and dinner at the Sun Set Grill 3 times, it does change a little every time so walk out to the beach to see what they are grilling.It was very good and all you can eat. The pool and pool bar staff serve food and drinks all around the pool and beach area, so you can sit back, no need to cover up like in the dinning room,and there plenty of emty lounge chairs at the pool. I think the only problem was the lunch menu in the dinning room was only in Spanish so my wife had to help me out. I did hear they are working on a English menu. the Lobby Bar does have Happy Hour every day from 6; to 8; pm. and Hugo and Mario take care of the whole area and do a great job with every one. We went Non-Inclusive so we went out for lunch and dinner across the street in Ixtapa and into Zihua a lot to all our favorite restaurants, Carmelitas for lunch, for dinner went to La Casa Vieja , Bandido's , Coconuts, Emilios Pizza. the Generals and I can't even remember the rest of them. It was really nice to get out of the hotel and learn some new things for once. We have done the all-inclusive for two weeks at other hotels a few years ago and got tired of the same thing every day and were happy to get home back then. This was the best way to do 2 weeks, Will be back to the Emperio again for 2 more.Well its snowing here again .Have to go.

Room Tip: Do the Ocean View 9th. or 10th. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emporio Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa s/n | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Emporio Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Resort Ixtapa
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporio Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.