We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings, will pay a little more for Dorado or Presidente next time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emporio Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Emporio Ixtapa to your Saves list
Emporio Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Ixtapa s/n | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings, will pay a little more for Dorado or Presidente next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel was mostly fine, but had a few surprises. I booked a King Oceanview, all-inclusive. On arrival we were told the following were not part of the all-inclusive option: room service, bottled beer, any name brand liquors i.e. Absolut, etc, and certain premiums on the meals (i.e. lobster/shrimp at the "Sunset Grill" which was offered 2 per 7 night stays). I am used to all-inclusives where it's truly all-inclusive. They gave us a list on check-in with what was included, and the mini-bar was on it but only the drinks, not the snacks, and they still tried to charge us for the water/beer we took from the mini-bar when we checked out (this was resolved however when we referred to our handy sheet they gave us). The wi-fi only worked 3 of the 6 days we were there. There are no balconies. Most of this we were expecting as we read other reviews prior to traveling but it wasn't crystal clear. I just felt like I paid for all-inclusive but it was definitely the most "budget" all-inclusive I've ever experienced. The service was also mediocre at best. There were a few gems but for the most part, I really felt like I had to go out on a limb to be nice to

The good: the rooms were nice and clean. They were small but we didn't care - we were only there to sleep. There were a lot of palapas, some with extra padded cushions (fabulous, my friends!) and lounge chairs to use both pool and beach side. There was drink service at both the pool and beach, although scarce at times. The food was actually pretty good, although options limited. We planned on eating out most of the time anyways as we prefer the surrounding restaurants, Any Tamales, Emilios, Chili Beans etc.

Would I stay there again? If I was on a budget, yes, however I think I'll pay the extra next time to go back to the Dorado (been once) or Presidente (haven't stayed there but always looks so nice). This is our 3rd trip and won't be our last. We love it!

Room Tip: The rooms are far from sound proof so my only suggestion is to ask for one not next to a family, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dears,

First we want to apologize for any inconvenience we have caused, indeed as you mentioned are not an all inclusive, we are working on it to better serve.

We feel very disappointed to read their lines in which we reported their experience with the service offered by our company.
Naturally, your expect that the staff of our company, we provide the best service possible and can be assured that we will consider all complaints and suggestions for improvement, and we ca confirm that this is not feature of the service that our company is to maintain, above all want to give a friendly service, reliable and responsible.

We deeply regret not being able to offer the service, we want and we ask forgiveness for it strongly.

We sincerely hope that this experience does not prevent return to stay with us in the near future and allows us to serve you as you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    129
    63
    21
    20
See reviews for
100
102
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have been coming to ixtapa for 30+years and mostly stayed at the Dorado Pacifico and enjoyed the various restaurants in the area. We stayed at the Emporio not knowing what it was like because they are not all inclusive. The front desk personnel were tops, very courtious and accommodating. We did not like our room and they helped us get a nice room on the top floor. There is a wonderful childrens area for the young children to play. The biggest drawback is the lack of activities. You have to make your own activities, they really need an activity director. The other drawback was the luncheon menu was very limited in the selection. We got tired of the cheeseburgers everyday. We did find a little sandwich job next to the Toscanos Restaurant which is a short walk away that had delicious Ham sandwiches at a resonable price. We were happy that there was no hassle in getting chairs in the morning around the pool, unlike the Dorado. I would recommend this hotel as an alternative to the all inclusive hotels in Ixtapa.

Room Tip: Any rooms above the palm trees and on the far end facing the pool area of the Dorado to see the suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for all your coments, guests like you are doing great in our hotel. We shall take all your suggetions into consideration, we hope your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

First time in Ixtapa, first time in an Emporio hotel, and it came with a few surprises. While I liked the regular (non all-inclusive tariff) and it was incredibly easy and cheaper (but not cheap, Ixtapa prices are 30% above the rest of Mexico) to eat out at the restaurants across the street and bring in provisions from the small grocery stores, some of the corporate policies really suck and they don't deliver on everything promised.

So, what did I like about the hotel. The room was clean and well maintained. I would have liked a tub and not just a shower, but it's not a problem. A/C in room working well, and unintrusive. General installations were also clean, well maintained and fully functional. The pools were clean and safe. Car park is on site and secure with enough spaces. We ate the buffet a couple of times for convenience's sake, and it was passable, although food did run out (especially the sweets, not surprising as families would walk off with two whole cakes to their table and then eat a few slices, while no staff would say a thing to stop them - be prepared to observe gluttony and waste at its worst in this hotel). Can recommend the pool snacks, above all the fish or shrimp fried tortilla wraps (pescadillas and camarondillas), really very good. And the staff are exceptional, truly pleasant and eager to please, and dare I say it, perhaps even happy to work there!

Ok, onto the bad (and odd). Firstly, corporate policy regarding room allocation. As with most Mexican hotels, rooms have either one king bed or two matrimonial or queen beds. In every other hotel I've stayed in, you specify at time of booking. That I couldn't with this hotel I thought was odd at the time, but as we were four people, I just assumed they would automatically give us a two-bed double. Big mistake. Emporio hotel policy is that you turn up and get given what they have. Which in our case was a single bed room. No chance of a change to a different room. When we asked why we were told that we hadn't paid enough to be able to choose. Ahhhh, so we are second class guests, thanks for not telling us at the time of booking. Their solution was to bring a single bed into the room. Now these rooms are pretty small to begin with, after squeezing in a single bed, you spend the whole holiday tripping over it, banging your toes against it, and generally cursing the bait and switch booking policies of the hotel chain. After all, what are you going to do after you've driven 7 hours to get to Ixtapa? Go home? Find another hotel in Easter week (when you are on a non-refundable tariff)? Good luck with that.

What else is bad? Don't get mountain view. Not because the the sea view is amazing, but because the noise from the street side is intolerable. I'm a heavy sleeper, but spent most of holiday red-eyed and grumpy from lack of sleep. Señor frogs is right across the street, bands set themselves up in the carpark outside, then Corona vans run up and down the strip all night with speakers blazing. It's cacophonous, it's relentless and it goes on 'til the early hours. Bring earplugs, you'll need them.

Sunlounger policy here also truly sucks, and leads to conflicts and bad feeling among the guests. While sun loungers are plentiful and there are plenty all round, the amount of shade available is pathetic. Buy some sunbrellas guys, what is the point of leaving 2/3 of the sunloungers in the raging sun? It just ends up looking cheap on the part of the hotel. OK, so the policy regarding shaded sunlougers is first come first served - if you get up early in the morning and put your towel on the lounger, it's yours. Fair enough. But what they don't have is any sort of control over the number of loungers reserved. I saw one family of four reserve five loungers on the beach in the shade, and another five loungers by the pool in the shade. They couldn't possibly use them all at once, but believe me, the selfishness of Mexican families is limitless, so if nobody is going to stop them, why not reserve 10 shaded sunloungers for 4 people? The hotel sure doesn't care. And if you do get up early and reserve your lounger, don't take too long in occupying it, I saw a couple of families get most upset when the loungers they reserved at 7am had been overtaken once they finally bothered to arrive around 3pm, usually with the towels and suncream stolen for good measure. Lazy, selfish vacationers beware!

Only other main gripe - despite what it says on the website, the rooms don't have wifi or any kind of internet connection. Not even close to having wifi. When questioned, they make no attempt to hide the fact that there is no wifi, and there never was. Now I don't personally miss having wifi on my vacation, what object to is being lied to. Why say there is, when there isn't? And it's not exactly difficult to put wifi in. I could pick up wifi signals from adjacent hotels hundreds of meters away, yet the only available wifi signal in the lobby barely stretched to the other side of the lobby bar. Clearly dishonesty is not something that Emporio hotels worry about when setting their corporate image

I really wanted to love this place as it had many good points, but next time I come to Ixtapa I'll go somewhere else that (1) doesn't expect 4 people to share a single bed, (2) knows how to deliver something when promised and (3) cares enough about its guests to arrange facilities such that they aren't fighting amongst themselves on busy days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dears,

Thank you very much for choosing us and giving us the opportunity to learn about our services, we are taking into account their complaints, as well as your suggestions to offer you the service you deserve, we mention that the hotel is making and effort to give you comfort that deserve, getting quality products both in our rooms and in our public areas.

We hope to give us the opportunity to serve you once again for this home Emporio Ixtapa!

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Emporio hotel was clean, quiet and the options for food are nearly limitless. This is the place to relax!! The beach is only a few steps from the elevator. I stayed in late February and was delighted to be able to see whales frolicking in the distance. The weather was perfect (80+ every day and sunny) I highly recommend ordering snacks on the beach (the quacemole and bean dip are the best). After a long day on the beach, a stop at the hotel swim up bar for a drink tops the afternoon off perfectly. For dinner, there are many options to choose from across the street. The food is excellent and can be VERY healthy depending on your liking. I have travelled to many countries and I was a bit aprehensive about Mexico. As a world traveler, this place is VERY safe.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms offer a nice view. However, Senor Frogs across the street can be very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We appreciated all your comments, definitely Ixtapa Zihuatanejo is a beautiful place to take unforgettable vacations. We hope see you soon and taste again our delicious guacamole. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Recently stayed one week at the Emporio. There are many positives about the hotel, starting with the fact that it is one of the few remaining ocean front hotels in Ixtapa that is not totally all-inclusive, but has that option also. The hotel is clean, rooms are reasonably sized, and staff friendly. The improvements that could be made are to add a fan in the bathroom, a clock in the sleeping area and to have clean refrigerators/minibars that can be opened sooner than 24 hours after check-in. The hot-tub also needs to be cleaned more frequently. Another change the hotel could make would be with the blankets. They are using a thick, very heavy and very uncomfortable comforter more sutied to the North Pole than Mexico. This definitely should be changed. As said by others though, it is not a 5 star hotel but has the beach, pool and what else is important?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thanks for take the time to write your experience in our hotel. We appreciated every coment that you give us and to improve our service because the guests are the most important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Emporio Ixtapa was the perfect hotel for our trip to Ixtapa! First of all the location is perfect: on the beach and across the street from the food plaza (Check out Chilli Beans for all meals and Senor Frogs for nightlife action) Secondly, the room was clean and cool, water was hot, safe was working, view was great, service was sufficient and the staff was helpful and friendly. Thirdly, we felt safe with security monitoring the front and beach entrances. It was an excellent choice for people not doing the all inclusive and the rooms were reasonably priced!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor as the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia M, Public Relations Manager at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We are sure you really enjoy your vacations with us. We are delighted reading all your comments. Reagards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 2 wks. here and had a 5th floor oceanview room with buffet brkfst incluido. Having been to Acapulco a dozen times in the last 7 yrs we decided to go to a smaller calmer version with guarenteed sun and especially warm nights. We definitely picked a win win place. The climate , beaches. cleanliness of the town and the people are 5 star. The Emporio which we had previously stayed in Acapulco 3 times didn't disappoint in all but a few categories. Location perfect beds linens maids rooms staff a 10. They had a lack of restaurants but there are many in the area all accesible by bus 9 pesos to the marina great dining or Zuat tons of choices. Take the bus to Playa Linda and take the little boat ride to a piece of paradise the Isla de ixtapa where you think you died and gone to heaven. Avoid the all inclusive as the food leaves a lot to be desired as venturing out is cheap and worth it. The breakfast was included and by the 1st week we had enough of the bloating feeling to seek elsewhere where 60 pesos will get you fresh juice and great other choices especially coffee. There was a lack of ambience at the pool and during the evening as there is no music exercise pool fun or night entertainment at times I felt like our day was done by 4 o'clock so from the get go we ventured out as much as possible. To sum it up if you want a clean basic greatly located and rather boring hotel that could be so much more with a little tweak here and there go for it the price is right and the town of Ixtapa is safe clean and has a lot to offer and will have in the future. We are seriously looking into renting for a couple of months as we near retirement so bye bye Acapulco and Hello Ixtapa.None of the rooms have balconies so for us we will return but try a rental with a terrace or balcony as we loved the area.

Room Tip: flight was delayed by 1 nite so they gave us a spacious corner suite facing Senor Frogs a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emporio Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa s/n | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Emporio Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Resort Ixtapa
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporio Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.