We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo De Las Palmas Esq | Agua, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

To start, i had my assistant call ahead to time to confirm there would be wireless internet available in the rooms as i was travelling to Ixtapa on business. When i arrived i was told i had to provide a paper copy of my hotel reservation. I gave the concierge my Blackberry with my reservation, they told me i needed to go to the business center, print the confirmation and i needed to pay for the printing. I refused obviously, this is 2013. After that they agreed to check me into my room. Once i was settled in i checked for the internet service. Not available. I went down to the front desk and explained that i booked at this hotel because the concierge assured my assistant i would have internet. The hotel staff attempted to fix the internet, then decided to change me rooms. In the new room the internet did not work either at the start. The hotel staff repaired the internet for a few hours. The next morning, i had no hot water in my hotel room, i called the front desk, they said they would send someone to fix the problem. I waited an hour for someone to come before showering in the cold water, and stopping at the concierge to see what the delay was. They forgot. Then you guessed it the internet went out again throughout the day. I went to meetings and returned in the evening. That night the temperature in my room was 18 degrees Celsius, cold. I called the front desk to ask if they had the temperature set from a central control because the thermostat in the room did not work. They told me they would send someone to check it. 2 hours later, still freezing, no one came to the room. The next morning, yup no internet. I went for breakfast to allow them some time to repair the problem. They assured me they fixed the problem and i would have internet through the day. I went to my room, no internet.

The restaurant and restaurant staff at this hotel were absolutely phenomenal. They did everything in their power to make my stay enjoyable and comfortable. Great Service.

The hotel was clean, and very comfortable. Holiday Inn Standard.

I was absolutely appalled by hotel management and their employees. I have never visited an establishment with employees as incompetent as this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear MexiCanadian_13,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Zihuatanejo, Mexico.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
23
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ensenada, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The food was great. The internet (free wireless) was fast. The rooms were very clean and the price was right on. One thing you look for also is the staff and they were all very well educated with the hotel and protocol of check in and check out. You can't go wrong but if you like to be right on the ocean this is not your place. It's just a short walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had to overnight here due to a SNAFU with United Airlines November 4th 2012.

The hotel was typical Holiday Inn. You know what you are getting before you get there.

Beds were Mexican Firm.

Small desk for your computer needs. Free WiFi which was a plus for ATTEMPTING to rearrange travel plans.

The upside here was the hotel staff and management, that scrambled to make rooms available for the sixty or so of us that were stranded overnight.

They kept the buffet up late, and arranged for taxi's to be available for a VERY early checkout and departure to the airport.

Not waht I would pick for a family vacation, but a great place in a pinch!!!!

Thank you again for your care of us on such short notice Holiday Inn Ixtapa Staff!!!!!!!!!!!

Keith & Leslie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. There are plenty of other very nice hotels for the same price in Xtapa Out of the way, dirty, unprofessional staff, over priced... what else can I say?

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra, Regno Unito
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have spent only 2 nights in this hotel with a group of friends travelling around Mexico.
The rooms are holiday inn rooms. Big and comfy. Breakfast amazing with fresh fruit salad.
Gorgeous swimming pool with a bar inside!
The beach is a short walking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel is in general good maybe for a weekend or some nights but this is not a hotel to spend family vacation or to stay for holidays.
What we liked:
big rooms, very clean, good equiped - at least nothing we missed. The pool is big and perfect for kids of any age. Even they have a nice water slide. There was always a sunbed available and the people were all friendly and provided very good service. The restaurant is open and is nice to sit there. The food-packages were good and fair value. Enough (free) parking. Also free wireless internet everywhere.
Downsides:
The hotel needs some renovation. Starting from the pool and is visible in the rooms (e.g.electrical socket coming out of the wall, picture missing , mirror partially blinded, etc.).
The hotel is 600m walking distance from the beach. For us it was ok but this is a big disadvantage for family vacations. Breakfast was good. Buffet, not big choice but all we had expected (Buffet, eggs order to cook, selection of fruits, and some local mexican stuff). Dinner actually I would say acceptable considering the cheap price but not really good. At least strange was that they never filled up neither the coffee nor the two water bottles in the room which we found complementary when we entered the room the first time.

Room Tip: rooms in the first floor have an ugly view on the parking space. The higher upstairs the better (bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

The Holiday inn is alway from the other hotels on the strip...about a 5 min walk to the beach,market and restaurants. The hotel staff was great! There is a bell person name(Alfredo) who speaks good english and can help you find your way around town. If your looking for a nice quiet clean hotel...the Holiday inn Ixtapa should be your chioce!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel

Address: Paseo De Las Palmas Esq | Agua, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel is a modern building with high quality facilities and services for the leisure visitor or businessmen. 'Executive Rooms' . Air conditioned rooms, hallways and meeting rooms. Room service, restaurant, garden side cafeteria area, a combination of swim-up / dry pool bar, free-form precious large swimming pool with kid s area. The Holiday Inn Hotel can accommodate meetings up to 350 people theatre set-up and 200 for banquet. Convention registration room. Inside parking facilities for up to 110 vehicles. Not a beachfront property, we are located two blocks from El Palmar Beach. European, American, MAP and FAP plans available. Convenient rates and packages for groups, seminars, small conventions and all type of events. Natural ambiance surrounded by lush mountain and green gardens. Also, ecological and protection of species areas. We are 20 minutes driving to and from the airport. Ixtapa is the modern concept with all types of comfort and Zihuatanejo is the typical nice town with beautiful bays and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ixtapa
Ixtapa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ixtapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.