We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More ropes course than zip line, but fun for newbies.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Park (Parque Aventura)

Adventure Park (Parque Aventura)
48Km Zihuatanejo-Lazaro Street, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 15 Outdoor Activities in Ixtapa
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“More ropes course than zip line, but fun for newbies.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Four of us booked this through a waiter we knew in Zihuat. (I will book with a reglar agency this time to ensure reliable transportation). We were teamed with another group of 4, also Americans. We had three guides with us (one more than usual because one in our party had only one leg).

I've done zip-lines in Alaska and Jamaica. This one did not compare to those. But it was also less than half the price, and just a few minutes from Ixtapa.

It really is more ropes course than an all zip adventure. You have to work a little harder than you would on an all zip. And it's not the total adrenaline rush that the all zip places are. But it was a lot of fun, and we really felt like we'd done something!

I was really impressed at the guides. The worked well with all of is. The guy with one leg required extra help on a few of the trickier ropes areas, but they acted like it was nothing unusual. Even our 60 year old non exercising smoker made it through and had fun.

They advertise 22 activities & 11 zips. Only 2 of the zips are nice and long. It's well designed; hey start you out very slowly and work you up to the more tricky things. You're never too far off the ground, but high enough to feel like you're "up there". The whole course is up over a paintball field.

Midway through there's a nice break. We had water, soda & beer available (don't know if that's normal, or if our guy brought it himself). A couple of ostriches roam the area (which makes for fun pics).

I'm planning on going back again this year, taking my niece and her family.

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“We had so much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We visited the park the week of Mar 21st. Had a great time. A few us us were a bit wary but the staff (Abraham and Marco) were very friendly and encouraging. We had a group of 8 and were the only ones on the tour at the time. We felt very safe and had a blast. The first part of the course was an obstacle course of sorts and was challenging but made it more rewarding each time you made it across to the next tree. We didn't have any problem with bees but someone mentioned mosquito repellent may attract them, so we opted not to use. Would definitely recommend to others, our group was in their 40's and we're sure our teenage and young adult kids would love it too (not for little kids or seniors).

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Zip Line and Bees!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

NOT SO GOOD!3 of us went on this Canopy tour. It was march and the place was infested with bees! Guide was nice. The zip lines are short. Out of 11 maybe 2 are decent length. The are not very high off the ground! This would be a great exp for FIRST TIMERS ( less the bees) We had gone to Selvetica in Cancun and that was AWESOME. This cannot compare!
The suspended bridges are integrated with the zip line…. so you go on one or 2 zip than 1 or 2 bridges. The bridges are pretty good and challenging. We only went out with one guy which made things a bit tricky. He was very nice.and the gear was also good There was any array of animals there including an ostrich! The place is small and you just go in a sort of circle. Not that exciting for us.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“It WAS an adventure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I went with a couple friends. We paid $220mxn a piece for the basic course (two hours). The taxi ride from Club Med was $150mxn each way. I have never been on a zipline course before, and from what I've seen on zipline websites, theirs is pretty basic. That being said, it was still fun as heck. Think of it less like a zipline course, and more like a obstacle course in the trees with a few ziplines to make things fun. My family had just watched the Swiss Family Robinsons, and I was thinking that a modern day movie would have ziplines, and wiggly boards, and all the rest. You definitely work up a sweat, and they take a break half way through and give you a bottle of water, and a bottle of water at the end. If you have someone in your party who doesn't want to zipline, still have them go along so that they can take lots of pictures. There's also a masters course once you've completed the basic course that costs more and is apparently much more intense, and lasts for 3.5 hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good workout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

This was one of the items on my "100 Things to Do Before I Die" list. This was our first time to zip. If you want some variety from beach activiites, this is it!

It was a good adventure. Our guides were very nice, and we were quite surprised when we stopped after an hour for a snack and we thought we were done. Surprise, another hour to go.

I really enjoyed the obstacle course. A shear test of balance, but what a sense of accomplishment when you are done. I agree with the previous post - it felt like we were on Fear Factor or Amazing Race, with no $1 million at the end.

Don't wear a white shirt as it will get dirty, and be prepared to sweat! You can always treat yourself to a Margarita at Carlos n Charlies afterwards :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Park (Parque Aventura) also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Park (Parque Aventura)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Park (Parque Aventura), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.