We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday dinner for 14” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Malaguena

La Malaguena
Ixtapa Zihuatanejo, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
+52 755 553 1986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 77 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Price range: $3 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Campbell River, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“birthday dinner for 14”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

all went well, we had seafood deal, the only place that did not mess with our bill.
the singer was on his cell phone while he sang

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos B, Owner at La Malaguena, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear joycehome,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at La Malagueña on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to know that all went well including your final bill.

We all at La Malagueña works hard to deliver a good quality of service and food.

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards
Carlos Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
“GREAT PLACE TO ENJOY FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Great Rest. Excellent food and owner,Carlos and his family's treat you like royalty. Weekends Carlos and his wife sing in the back area while you eat some of the best cooked food in the area. Try the grilled shrimp tacos. Outside seating at a few tables or inside, you can't go wrong dining here.
Bill, Chicago.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos B, Owner at La Malaguena, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Bill D

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at La Malagueña on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad to know that you liked our food and the fact that you have recomended us with the Tripadvisor audience.

We will keep working hard in order to continue delivering a good quality of food and service.

I hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Carlos Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food and great entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The menu is limited but the food taste and quality is very good. This restaurant is about 4 months old and is located near the theatre. Carlos and his family look after you. Right from the time you enter, you feel welcome. This restaurant provides live entertainment with no cover charge. Carlos has a great tenor voice and sings with his own karaoke setup. His wife and two daughters also sing as well as lead everyone on the dance floor. Prices are very reasonable. We had the seafood pasta and it was excellent. It was a great time and I regret taking so long to find this place as I have been here for over two months. I must admit that I was very impressed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos B, Owner at La Malaguena, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear RonaldF118,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at La Malagueña on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the food and the entertainment, and that you felt welcome at the time you entered La Malagueña.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards
Carlos Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
“GREAT FOOD AND STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I had read about La Malaguena on trip advisor and decided to try it. What a great choice! The food was the best we had during our stay 10 day stay in Ixtapa. Carlos and his family made the experience even better. What great People Thay are( thanks Carlos). We were there on feb 26 unfortunately this was our last night before we had to come home. Next time we are in Ixtapa we will be sure to visit Carlos and his great Restaurant again, more than just once.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos B, Owner at La Malaguena, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear RickM234,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at La Magueña on Tripadvisor.

Was our pleasure to have met you and your wife and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you, we all are very happy that you did enjoyed our food and service.

We all are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ixtapa.

Best Regards
Carlos Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
“Valentine week getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stumbled upon La Malaguena while exploring the area in hopes of finding Catch'a Lola surf shop. Carlos was the most inviting person and played Barry Manilow for us on Valentines Day to make our stay as comfortable as could be. The fresh baked pumpkin seeds was a delightful snack to accompany our drinks, and the atmosphere of their restaurant was so inviting. Their restaurant carries a warm feeling with great conversation, excellent food and the cleanliest banos I experienced anywhere. We stopped a few times for drinks in the week, and our last evening we came back for dinner and it was Fantastic! I would definitely suggest La Malaguena for any meal, the breakfast menu has package meals including coffee, tea and juice. Carlos and his beautiful wife and daughters were so friendly, and I can't wait to bring my family to see the incredibly nice family we met on our travels. See you again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos B, Owner at La Malaguena, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Amber G,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at La Malagueña on Tripadvisor,
We all at La Malagueña are very happy to know that you did enjoyed your visit and that you will come back in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards
Carlos Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Malaguena also viewed

 

Been to La Malaguena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Malaguena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.