We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfactory-pleased” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de las Garzas esq. Paseo del Rincon, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Taba in Piedmont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“very satisfactory-pleased”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

12/09 stayed 1 week thru RCI. Had read questionable reviews, but we were quite satified with our 1 bedroom suite.Clean . daily maid service.staff friendly.not on beach but well located.
Pool a little cool, and TV stations limitied, but otherwise quite nice
A Big fitness center
ME Piedmont

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    6
    4
    17
See reviews for
25
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

This is not a bad hotel but is not what I expected for the money. Is not located on the beach, you have to walk some blocks to get to a crowded public beach. I must say is one of the worst locations on the hotel zone because of that, though is close to some nice restaurants. The hotel have some nice amenities like a pool table an a gym. The facilities look outdated.The suites are large and have a kitchen, personaly I do not like mi wife cooking on vacation so we prefer one of the all inclusive resorts beachfront, you might think they are a lot more expensive, but they are not.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

This place was an exchange through RCI , cannot believe they are even associated with them. this place is so run down, nothing worked, or was open. handle on slider was broke,we got the screw in enough to lock the door, no pillow cases on pillows, which look like just bags of stuffing, water in pool was very dirty looking, microwave didn't work, bathrm light was as bright as a nitelite, no room safe, so had to carry all doct. and money with us, waterslides were not working, stayed 1 night and found another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

We traveled in Feb 2009 had a wonderful family vacation the staff was friendly and very helpful since we didn't know much Spanish. The hotel is centrally located. Lush tropical vegetation. The room was clean & spacious, large pools ,walking distance from beach. The water park was fun for the kids. Would go back again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

Staying at the Ixtapa Palace was a terrible experience. We spent the first 5 days of our 8 day trip searching in vain for another hotel to stay at. The rooms were clean, but that is the only nice thing I have to say about them. We were told they slept 4 but in reality were only given a king sized bed and a futon-ish couch. The rooms were dark, dank, had no view, no kitchen. There were 2 bathrooms, and we only felt comfortable showering in one of them, the other one was dirty. The resort itself had no "resort" qualities, the pools were in the shade all day, the bar had no food or drinks, the lobby was dark and quiet frankly scary. The restaurant next door was our only hope for a cup of coffee in the morning, but several mornings they were out. The staff was nasty, disrespectful, and snide. Towels were not available until 9AM and at 9:10AM we had to FIGHT to get the towels, as they often ran. As far as using the "public" beaches suggested by the staff, that was an absolute WASTE of time- they were crowded, disgusting, and had no lounge chairs to rent. I suggest that if you have booked this resort change your plans ASAP- I wish I would have. There are plenty of nice, reasonable resorts in the area that cater to vactioners- IXTAPA PALACE IS NOT ONE OF THEM!! BEWARE!

  • Liked — Leaving on the last day!
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

This place is terrible. We were led to believe it was beach front, in fact it is a good 15 min walk. All the furnishings are 2nd and 3rd rate. Bed is a 5" foam mattress on a cement slab. The so-called kitchen doesn't have a microwave as was indicated, the coffee pot is a 12 cup maker with a 4 cup carafe, the utensils are barely acceptable for camping. The "stove" is just two burners set into counter top, 1 was broken and the other burner didn't work. It took 3 days and 6+ requests to have this fixed. There is a steep narrow spiral staircase to bedroom level, really safe after a few tequilas. We probably will come back to Ixtapa, but never to this resort again.

  • Liked — The weather
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We travel frequently! This was single handedly the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. The service was terrible, the people were rude, the hotel jacuzzi had no water in it, one of the pools was NASTY dirty, the mini golf course had weeds growing out of the holes and it was tiny, the rooms had no towels and only 1 clear channel and 1 fuzzy one. I called before we had the reservation and they said they had free wireless internet in each room it DOES NOT!!! They have wireless only within a 100 foot radius around the pool and they charge $25 a day! The sheets were hard, the towels felt like brillo pads :( I will never come back and am trying to spread the word to save your money and go somewhere decent!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing! The entire experience stunk! It was so nice to leave!
  • Disliked — No cable, no internet, yucky sheets, yucky towels, dirty pool
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa

Address: Paseo de las Garzas esq. Paseo del Rincon, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a condo in a tropical town, beaches with crystalline water, colorful fish and exotic drinks.Ixtapa Palace Resort welcomes you to Mexico’s best kept secret with a true Mexican atmosphere, original charm and tradition. A distinctive resort to relax and enjoy the tropical surroundings or take part of the many amenities Ixtapa Palace has to offer its guests. - Relax in one of our 3 swimming pools. - Enjoy a relaxing day at the spa, with Ixtapa's only temascal. - Ixtapa Palace hosts the largest gym including free weights, machines, cardio, aerobics room, tennis and squash courts. - High speed tobogan for the kids. - Mini-golf and table tennis. - All suites are equipped with A/C and calbe tv. - Ask about our suites with kitchenettes.We hope you enjoy your next vacation to Ixtapa Palace Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ixtapa Palace Magic World Hotel Playa La Ropa
Palace Magic World Ixtapa
Palace Magic World Hotel Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;