We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sushi excellent service even better prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ata Sushi Bar

Ata Sushi Bar
Paseo de Ixtapa Plaza Raffaello local B junto a banco Santander suc. Ixtapa | Calle Pedro Ascencio junto al bar Bandidos a un costado de la iglesia del centro suc. Zihuatanejo, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 44884, Mexico
+(52)7555530384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 79 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The best Sushi Bar at Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo!La mejor barra de Sushi en Ixtapa y Zihuatanejo!
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi excellent service even better prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We visited again this great japanese restaurant in Ixtapa, it is one of the oldest in Zihua (now closed) and it has become a classic in Ixtapa. First of all the food, they have many varieties of rolls for all tastes, second the service, very attentive, helpful and happy, it´s like they enjoy their work! Finally the prices, very affordable for what you get, even if you order alcohol the prices are very good. A must visit in beautiful Ixtapa!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foodie in Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A pleasant surprise to find this newly opened restaurant in the central plaza.
We sampled many rolls, sushi and sashimi. All were excellent .Nice selection of Saki and inside or outside dining.
Must order the stuffed calamari appetizer. Came back for lunch just to get to get seconds.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing sushi with a tropical touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you ever visit Zihua/Ixtapa, you can not miss this sushi. I am really surprised of the wide variety and unique flavors. The service is really good, fast, and I find it no expensive at all. I've been in many Sushi places in many countries, and Ata Sushi Bar is way above the 95% (I guess). 2 thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Sushi with a unique tropical flair. It's the best sushi I've had. Very fresh and flavorful. I love this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

There are extremely fresh fish caught and served in most restaurants in Ixtapa and in Zihuatanejo, however it hasn't found it's way to Ata Sushi. I like sitting at sushi bars so you can see it being prepared, but this place has it's case up too high . I think it also has a lack of quality and the place was not very sanitary, something that is important for raw fish. .Old fish that didn't taste good.
Will never return

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ata Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Ata Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ata Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.