We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ata Sushi Bar

Ata Sushi Bar
Paseo de Ixtapa Plaza Raffaello local B junto a banco Santander suc. Ixtapa | Calle Pedro Ascencio junto al bar Bandidos a un costado de la iglesia del centro suc. Zihuatanejo, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 44884, Mexico
+(52)7555530384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 85 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The best Sushi Bar at Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo!La mejor barra de Sushi en Ixtapa y Zihuatanejo!
Foodie in Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A pleasant surprise to find this newly opened restaurant in the central plaza.
We sampled many rolls, sushi and sashimi. All were excellent .Nice selection of Saki and inside or outside dining.
Must order the stuffed calamari appetizer. Came back for lunch just to get to get seconds.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing sushi with a tropical touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you ever visit Zihua/Ixtapa, you can not miss this sushi. I am really surprised of the wide variety and unique flavors. The service is really good, fast, and I find it no expensive at all. I've been in many Sushi places in many countries, and Ata Sushi Bar is way above the 95% (I guess). 2 thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Sushi with a unique tropical flair. It's the best sushi I've had. Very fresh and flavorful. I love this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

There are extremely fresh fish caught and served in most restaurants in Ixtapa and in Zihuatanejo, however it hasn't found it's way to Ata Sushi. I like sitting at sushi bars so you can see it being prepared, but this place has it's case up too high . I think it also has a lack of quality and the place was not very sanitary, something that is important for raw fish. .Old fish that didn't taste good.
Will never return

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am sorry but to prepare Sushi, one should be Asian at least. There is no lack of fresh fish supply here in Ixtapa that is for sure. And the sushi here is fresh. I am just biased towards total authenticity.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ata Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ata Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ata Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.