We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't resist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Malinche

La Malinche
Andador Papanoa 16-17 | Centro Comercial Ixtapa Plaza, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
+52 755 553 1218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 79 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Couldn't resist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The usual outside shill was so...well aggressive isn't the word, but forceful enough that after checking out all the other places in the area, we went back and were not in the least sorry. We had the red snapper special, and although I dislike fish with it's head still on (I think it's the dead eyeong) this one was at least blackened and the eye covered up. It was a nice change from the all-inclusive. The food was excellent and the singer was incredible, even if he did look like he was an accountant in his day job, he also sang a few songs in english which was nice. Will return there next trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Escaped the all inclusive and SO WORTH IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

So we decided to escape the all inclusive during a stay in Ixtapa and La Malinche was recommended by some people that have traveled to Ixtapa for 12 years. As we walked around the corner and up the alley from Senor Frogs, we could hear a woman singing and headed toward it. Luckily she was playing in the restaurant we were looking for. Rico, the host was friendly and fun. When we arrived there were only 3 tables of people seated (all the restaurants were quiet) by the time we left the place was hopping and still the other Ixtapa restaurants were quiet... good sign you have chosen the right one. Between the great food, margaritas and the entertainment, it was the place to be. (Josie, we will be looking for you on the voice. Team Shakira is waiting for your spanish/english musical talents. Rico, we suggest Dancing with the Stars for you) Fun place for dinner. GREAT food. Don't get trapped in the all inclusive lifestyle - get out and explore Ixtapa and this is the place to wind up for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great entertainment and excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We ate here three times in the two weeks we were in Ixtapa (1/25/14 - 2/8/14). Kept coming back because of the excellent singer who is there Fri, Sat & Sun nights. She sings a combination of songs in English and Spanish, many with her own arrangements. Also love the Mexican food, especially the Malinche enchiladas and the melted cheese appetizer with chorizo. Mango margaritas are also great, and seem to be always 2 x 1. Pleasant setting and good service. I think they have live entertainment every night, but we only went on the weekends because of the singer we loved. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Coconut Shrimp and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I've been going to Ixtapa for many years. I always stay for at least two weeks. I have eaten the most delicious coconut shrimp in Mexico, sometimes as many as 10 out of 14 days! They have excellent service and atmosphere, the most friendly staff, very reasonable prices and no matter what you decide to have it's gonna be great! Stop in for breakfast, lunch or dinner and you will be glad you did!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have eaten here every time we have come to Ixtapa, and it is excellent every time. The Mexican platter for 2 is our favourite, and could easily accommodate 3 or 4 people. The chile en nogada is so good, that it makes you keep going back. The workers are very attentive, and if you are lucky, there will be live entertainment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Malinche also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to La Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Malinche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.