We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ixtapa Island Escape

Ixtapa Island Escape
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
303-394-6920
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #8 of 14 attractions in Ixtapa
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The trip there was fast and Tony, our tour guide operator was very informative with really interesting information on the area. We took a small boat over to the island and once we were there it was fun in the sun! We got our snorkelling gear right away and we ordered our lunch meals. They serve very tasty fresh fish and great drinks although we werent sure about the ice on the island as it was not potable water...I had ice in my drink however and was fine so I assume it is packaged ice they get delivered. We walked over to the other beach and had a wonderful time snorkelling as a group. Tony made sure that there was lots of fish for us to see by bringing fish food with him and he even swam and got a puffer fish to show us, it was all inflated and SO COOL! We spent the rest of the afternoon swimming and lounging by the beach, even petting a beautiful local parrot who just hangs out at the beach with us! The bathrooms were questionable but that was very minor and didnt matter much. Amazing time!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Was a good day, probably the calmest waters we found on our trip. Picked up and dropped back at hotel.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We did take a tour from amstar tours in the lobby of las brisas hotel. The money was well worth it. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. He kept us comfortable at all times. The ride in the car to the marina was air conditioned, many taxis are not. There were plenty of people to make sure I did not fall in the water getting on the boat and off the boat. Once on the island ther were plenty of comfortable lawn chairs and palapas for shade. The water was beautiful and we swam and floated and read books. So relaxing. The tour provided lunch a drink, fresh fish prepared any way you like guacamole and chips rice andsquash. Delicious, fresh and good. Our guide would take us to the other side of the island for snorkeling and to see the deer, but we were happy just to float and relax. We also went to see the iguanas and alligators in their protected environment. Awesome trip. I highly recommend it. This is one of the top 2 tours, the other one is the sunset catamaran ride. Must do.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had Juan from Ixtapa Tours take us there. We didn't snorkel cuz the water was pretty rough and kinda murky. We did get some food and just drop it in the water and all the beautiful fishes swam around us. We did do the massages so worth it. We also ordered the seafood platter which feed like 6ppl for only 40pesos which is like $38. Highly recommend it. We also saw some great big crocs!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ixtapa Island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a fun trip on a 15 minute boat ride to the island. Eateries are situated all along the beach. Take any of them because they're all good. Water sports of all kinds on the one side and snorkeling on the other (a very short walk over the hill). Do not take a tour! It's way too expensive. Arrange your own transportation for a very fun and reasonably-priced day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Island Escape also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Ixtapa Island Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixtapa Island Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Ixtapa Island Escape to your Saves list