We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Park Royal Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Mejor Tarifa Garantizada!
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I stayed at ParkRoyal Ixtapa for 4 days, and the service there was beyond mediocre. I work on the hospitality Industry myself, and prior to my visit there, I read the other reviews, both English and Spanish. They were bad, but I didn't want to really believe them. Well, once I got there I understood the bad reviews.
I saw the personal in that hotel with no hospitality training whatsoever.
A few Examples:
While eating at the buffet restaurants, servers wouldn't come to take care of us, or they would rush us at the end, cleaning and wiping tables over us still on the table. when ordering drinks, they wouldn't come right or at all.
We were one night at the beach, and the person in charge of cleaning that area came to us 3 times asking us not to step over the sand he had already "swept" We were polite the first time, but after that it just became annoying. It is the sea after all. The waves were messing up his "designs".
Our uncle became sick with something he ate there. When we called and asked for room service, they said we were not allowed to order in because we had the "All Inclusive Pkge"

I tried using the internet a couple of times with no one taking care of the center. In general: Workers are not trained to offer the client a good experience.

I do not recommend this hotel. It's not worth your money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    149
    69
    47
    26
See reviews for
105
115
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010 via mobile

We had an amazing time at the resort! The beds were rather firm, but the amazing view from the balcony made up for it!everything was clean and no bed bugs even! The maids were friendly as was the staff. Ask for Alberto aka obama. He is hilarious and I will gAurentee you that he will show you fun!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Stayed 5/29-6/5/2010

Compared to other resorts - this one is small. There is no spa. Staff is some of the friendliest! Fitness center is antiquated.

The resort is a typical Mexican resort in terms of quality. Furnishings are nice - quality of workmanship (paint, caulking, doors) was not 5 star. Beds are hard as a rock. We were in room 1211/1212 and our friends were in 1111/1112. Their view was blocked by the trees, we were above and had a great view. (Resort starts with 10th floor. I don't know why - but our room, 1212, was really only the 3rd floor.)

The nighttime activities are very loud and even with the a/c on and doors shut it would still wake up deep sleepers. Also, the resort has a couple of peacocks. Not sure if it was because it was mating season or if they always do this - but they would squeal throughout the day and night. Bring earplugs! This resort is noisy.

There is only one pool here which means kids are everywhere. If you are used to a resort with two pools - one primarily kids and one for adults - you'll be disappointed. Also, there is no pool service. At other resorts, there are bar and food staff that take orders poolside. Not here. You will have to get your own drinks and food. We were here off season so I don't know much that impacted the restaurants - but they were never open according to the published hours. Food is good for buffet - and the presentation feels clean - but as is true of buffets - the food is never hot. And you will get bored by the end of the week. The Italian restaurant on site was just ok.

The beach is beautiful and very clean. There are people walking the beach throughout the day picking up trash etc. We did not see rocks nor seaweed on the beach. The water seems much clearer here than Puerto Vallarta. Again, off season, but the beach salesman not nearly as bothersome as in Puerto Vallarta. Everything you read says white sand. Don't be fooled - if you've been to the Caribbean you know what white sand is. But this beach really is very nice.

Zihuatanejo is typical. We rode the bus (6 pesos per person) and told the driver we wanted to stop at Cinco De Mayo street. He let us know when we were there. Then it's a short walk to the shopping district. We didn't find much here for shopping - several silver and souvenir shops. We were told to try out the Fat Mermaid (Sirena Gorda) for dinner but it was pretty crowded with a festival so we didn't try. If you've enjoyed walking around Puerto Vallarta where there are furniture stores and art galleries etc - you'll be disappointed. We didn't find any of that. On your way back look for the bus that says Marina and flag 'em.

Just outside the resort and a short walk are some shops and dining. (The timeshare pitch people are on the street. Just keep walking if you aren't interested.) There is a 'market' where we bought some blankets and other touristy stuff. You could get here what you would get in Zihuatanejo. We bought a few things from Ruby's jewelry and had a meal at Mama Norma's and Debra. (So off-season we were the ONLY group in the restaurant.) If you leave the resort and head left to the Marina, there are a couple of really nice restaurants. (It's a short walk from the resort.) We ate at Beccofino and while it was expensive - it was very good. There are 4 or 5 other restaurants right on the marina to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawhia,New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We were at Park Royal for a week in May.
Our 1 bedroom suite was Absolutely FABULOUS!!
We were given a suite (we exchanged into a 1 bedroom unt) on the 20th floor.
It had 2 balconies and views over the pool and resort and up and down the coast.

We feel this was perhaps one of our best timeshare exchanges to date and we own four weeks and have been members of RCI since 1996.

We did a Zihuatanejo city tour - okay
and a tour out to Ixtapa island- too rough for snorkelling because of Moon/tides and sea surges- but a good trip nevertheless - and probably a very good place to go snorkelling from November- March.
We also did a tour to las Caletas beach-okay.
We booked our tours through the Royal resort staff.

The resort was very clean, food was good and the staff excellent.

We walked along the beach and got massages for about 200 pesos (an hour) business was slow and we paid slightly less but that is their price.
You can get a massage at the resort for 250 pesos for an hour.

The beach out front of the resort is beautiful but it is dangerous for swimming and although we tried it it is easiy to get knocked over-there is quite a rip.
The pool was inviting and more gentle.

Souvenir shopping is better and cheaper in Zihuatanejo than in Puerto Vallarta and Acapulco.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

The hotel is good, service is good, food is good, activities are good, location is excellent. But, if you are a royal holidays member do NOT let Royal Holidays pick you up at the airport. It is a scam. Here's how it works:

1. You get an e-mail (similar to when you stay in cancun) where Royal Holidays offerst to pick up you and you let them know when you will be arriving and how many in your party. Sounds fine so far.
2. You get to the airport and there is a sign with your name on it and a royal holidays person meets you. Fine so far.
3. The "van driver is on vacation" so we'll have to take a cab. Hmmmmmm? They only have one?
4. "They don't let us carry money so you'll need to pay and we'll reimburse you". What? well. OK. I'm tired...
5. When you try to turn your receipt in for reimbursement. "Oh, you'll need to talk with xxx about that". WTF?
6. you talk to xxx and get "Oh, the company has changed its policy. Now we can give you either a bottle of tequilla or Khalua but you and your spouse will need to come fill out a survey (AKA attend a sales presentation)."

So we confronted the staff persons manager and Royal Holidays freely admits they were lying to us as a "hook" to get us to go to a sales presentation. They also are totally unappolagetic about basically stealing the money for the cab ride which was $35 vs $6 we normally pay for the hotel shuttle. Its not the dollar amount. Just the principle. Royal Holidays Sales staff... PLEASE STOP LYING!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

This was my first trip to Mexico and I don't think I could have picked a better place! It was low season so it was very quiet which I really enjoyed. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The rooms are all ocean view with awsome views! Ask for a higher floor to get the best views. There was a large beach and always enough chairs for everyone. Again this could be due to the fact it was low season. The hotel filled up with local Mexican people over the weekend but everyone was there to relax and enjoy themselves. The rooms were clean and fresh. Each room had a balcony. They were a bit on the small side but if it's just the 2 of you it's perfect. The food was really good. The Italian restaurant requires reservations, long pants for men and formal wear for the ladies. Covered shoes for the men and no flip flops for the ladies. We also did some exploring and found a few really great restaurants and bars in the area. The water was a bit rough at the beach so we went to Ixtapa Island by taxi and water taxi to do some swimming and snorkeling. It was awesome. I'm sure you would get better snorkeling in the Caribbean but I had fun and the guide we used was great for bringing critters up for us to see and hold. All in all I loved the resort, the destination and the people. Yanet in the Lobby Bar was extra great. We kept her running and she had a great sense of humor.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We visited Park Royal from March 24th-March 31st. This was our first time to the west side of Mexico. However, we have been to numberous all inclusive resorts on the east side of Mexico and the carribean. We take 2-3 vacations a year.

The best thing about this place is the view! Our view from our room on the 21st floor, facing the east was AMAZING!! I think almost any room you would have above the 11th or 12th floor will have an good view. I would for sure go back to Ixtapa....however, not to the Park Royal again. The second best thing about this resort is the location. Walking distance of lots of things to do. (great sidewalks for walking/jogging, going to the market, shopping, local restaraunts, Zihuatanejo, etc..) We rented a car one day and drove to Zihuatanejo. If you go, make sure you check out La Ropa Beach. Very nice, and much calmer water. We also did the Ixtapa Island tour. (booked the car and the Ixtapa Beach day through our Royal Holiday rep at the hotel) It was nice, however, I probably would not have done it through the hotel again. The lunch that was included was not good....there was a lot of waiting for other people in the group to get rounded up, and probably would have been much cheaper doing it on our own. The island was very nice though. Beautiful views and calm water. The third best thing was the staff. Everyone we encountered was very friendly. Service at restaraunts were pretty good. Everyone always had a smile and helped you if needed it. Some even remembered your name. We were not bothered by timeshare staff, because we are Royal Holiday members....so that was not a big deal for us. But people are right....they are everywhere. (we did not buy here, we bought in Cozumel. Which is another Park Royal Resort. It is newer and very nice. I WOULD recommend that resort over this Park Royal. However, it does not have the view and the out of resort things to do like the Ixtapa area.) Another thing we enjoyed and appreciated was the access to the wireless internet in the lobby and the computer room. The last best thing in our opinion is the weather. It was upper 80's and sunny everyday here when we visited.

Now, for the the things I thought were just average....the food was just average to us. We have been to other resorts in this price range that have had a much wider selection of food. The food itself was okay. It was warm and tasted good. We never had any stomach problems. I just like a wider selection on the buffett and would like more alacarte restaraunts. The Italian was good and quick service. All of the restaraunts seemed to be clean and updated/or remodeled compared to the rest of the resort/rooms/hotel areas. Also, just average to us is the entertainment and things to do here (however, it is a smaller resort, so I guess that makes sense.) We didn't particpate in any activities...however, if that is something you like....don't expect much here. A few activities during the day.....yoga, zumba, water aerobics, water volleyball, beach soccer....a kids club (not a lot of activities for kids at the resort here though.) No nightly shows either if you like that. There is a chill out lounge if you are into the club thing. We did not go though b/c we had a baby with us. We also went diving one day. The dive shop did a good job, the 2 tank dive we went on was not that great. Diving is much better on the east side of mexico/carribean. The visibility was not very good on our dives. (we dove with aquaparadise based out of the Barcelo hotel.)

Lastly, for the negative. My first and foremost negative about the Park Royal is the outdated facility. Yes they have gone through some redmodelation of the corner rooms on each floor....however, unless you are Royal Holiday VIP....you will not get to stay in those rooms. Those rooms are pretty nice and remodeled/updated. (if you sit through their sales pich they will show you those rooms.) However, we are Royal Holiday clients and we even didn't get to stay in those. You have to be VIP (or basically have paid the big bucks.) All of the other rooms are very outdated and are in need of repair. The bathroom was the biggest negative of the room. The tub/shower is something I have never seen before. It was very small and had low ceiling. My 6' 6" husband barely fit in it. In general other things that bothered me in the room, hard bed, no mini fridge, cracked dirty tiles, damaged ceilings and walls, hard beds....In general....it just seemed kind of dirty, dingy, and old to me. (some people mentioned the loud music from the chill out lounge in the envenings....we did not here it. Our Air conditioner was so loud, I think it helped drown it out. We were on the 21st floor facing the east. 2101 was our room number.) Besides the room, the hallways, elevator, and lobby areas were also very outdated and dingy. Another negative we found, is the work out facility (gym) It has never beed updated. Also a negative for us is, this is a very small resort. We would like to have had more grounds to walk around on, more pools, more buffetts, more restaraunts, more things to do on the grounds, etc. The last big negative was the pool. It also needed some repairs. Even though staff was always cleaning the pool deck, nobody was ever skimming the pool water...so on busy days especially (like on Saturday and Sundays when the locals came in/stayed at the resort) the pool seemed dirty and things floating in the water. There were also a quite a few of tiles in the pool that needed replaced/fixed. The pool deck was also very slick and the orange tiles very hot. I saw numerous people who were walking slip and fall. Since we did stay during prime time/Easter week, it did start to get very busy towards the end of our stay and it was hard to find chairs, especially if you wanted shade.

So all in all, I would give this place maybe a 2 star rating. We have been to nicer all inclusive resorts in Mexico and the carribean. Therefore we probably would not go back to the Park Royal, but maybe would like to revisit Ixtapa again one day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Royal Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.