We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One year later and I still like it, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Park Royal Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Bellville, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One year later and I still like it, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having now stayed here two years in a row I still like this hotel. That being said I would strongly warn about the disco music noise on Friday and Saturday nights. We were on the 20th floor and it was still loud enough to vibrate and boom through the walls. Earplugs helped somewhat. The bed was extremely firm but sleepable without asking for a topper this year. The air conditioner worked and the room was cool during the day and tended to be cold at night, which was nice. However, the drip pan didn't drain properly and every two days water was all over the floor and we'd have to call maintenance in to manually drain the pan. A bit of a pain, but then again the a/c cooled great. The food was exellent and we even went to the local fish market in Zihuatanejo and brought back fresh fish that the chef in the Pescado restaraunt fixed for us that turned out fabulous. The other thing that I noted this year was the influx of families with children for the weekend. The same thing may have happened last year but we were too busy with the wedding to notice. If you want quiet with fewer kids running around avoid the weekends as earlier in the week was just about perfect. Other reviewers have said it's quieter on the other side of the hotel that does not overlook the pool and I may try that next time. All in all we had a great time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    149
    71
    47
    26
See reviews for
107
115
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You heard don't drink the water in mexico,well don't go to the villas. We had been to Ixtapa before and when a relative offered us a week of time share we choose the villas. When by chance they discovered that we did'nt own a time share it started by asking us to attend a sales presentation,we said no. At 8.30 in the morning we had a knock on our door.Would you like breakfast and a introduction to our vacation club. No less than 5 times per days we where accousted by sales people. for a minimum of 35 times in which they can't take no. They where waiting
outside the restrooms.
If you take the cost of transportation,and the long hours from New Jersey, the cost of food and local transportation etc. This is not a cheap vacation to be spoiled and this is not in a 5 star resort but an aged one and the villas are in need of upgrading and some repair.

Room Tip: .Find a week when the time share staff have all come down with a stomach virius and any room will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's just average hotel, it needs maintenance and improve the swimming pool.

The activities in the hotel are just good, the food is good and the location is very good.

The beds are not quite comfortable, this is another opportunity area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Horrible beds. Spent four very uncomfortable nights and woke up with sore, aching backs. People are nice but not worth the effort or price. Have tried it three times and probably will not go back even though we like the area.The administration did not do anything to relieve the situation. They totally ignored it. They are not sensitive to the needs of
the people staying there. i know of others who complained by to no avail. Swimming area really crowded. Food service was good. Have to watch out for the extra tourist stuff. There are different prices for the same activity. This hotel is ruined by Royal Holiday. They will hound you to death to become a member. Way overboard with the pressure

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I was very concerned about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Let me first say it is not a 5 star facility at best 3. The facilities are in need up being updated:workout room is small and equipment is very outdated. The lobby and interior of the hotel is outdated as well. They have no rooms with king or queen beds only doubles. Our first night ,we stayed in a room that was very old, musty, and the beds felt like we were sleeping on the floor. Because I had reserved a one bedroom suite and I'm a timeshare owner there we were moved to a very modern.This room was fantastic. Only complaint is the beds are too hard and they seem to program the air conditioning unit to rise after 10 pm. We called maintenance twice because we were so hot. They came quickly and told us the temperature would lower and it did. The service staff was the best we've ever had! The 22nd floor is totally remodeled, ask to stay on that floor.

The facilities are kept immaculate. Staff is always cleaning. I would take a hard bed any day of the week over a dirty hotel. If you like clean these folks clean. Our housekeeper was on hands and knees cleaning toilets and showers. I've not seen this type of effort in some of the 5 star hotels I've stayed in. Public restroom were always being cleaned, quality control staff were always checking the food and wiping things down. We were totally impressed in this area.

The hotel has free WiFi..that was definitely a plus. I do wish there were smoke detectors in the room/building along with water sprinklers. I didn't see any, and being on the 21st floor, that was a concern for me. They did have fire extinguishers on the floor if that helps.

The staff was friendly and always willing to serve.

The food was good. Three restaurants to choose from. Veranda is open for breakfast and dinner..buffet style (meals and service good, food was usually not hot but warm). The Italian resturant requires reservations and you have to make them between noon and 4, we never had a problem with this. They are only open for dinner. The menus is limited and men must wear long pants and closed toe shoes however we enjoyed everything we ate there and it was cooked to order. Our favorite place to eat was Pescador Grill. It is only open for lunch, wish it was open for all meals. It's buffet and cooked to order menu. Love, love, loved it!. There is a small grill by the pool that is open most of the day for snacks such as burgers, chips, hotdogs, and nachos.

Service in all the restaurants was fantastic..Cynthia the hostess, and Elizabeth one of our waitresses were incredible. Benicia the Royal Holiday staff/hotel employee was hands down the best.


We enjoyed the family atmosphere. There were plenty of kids, but all well behaved. If you are trying to get away from kids don't choose this hotel. For us it was a blessing to see so many families vacationing together. On the weekends there are definitedly more kids but again that didnt bother us.

We were really impressed that despite this being an all inclusive which meant all the alcohol you could drink, no one, absolutely no one was drunk, belligerent, or out of order with their conduct.

We felt very safe outside of the hotel. There is a 9 mile bike/walkining trail across the street from the hotel, lots of little shops and restaurants.

The pool area is kept sparking clean with plenty of chairs and umbrellas.

Taxi's come by the dozen. A one way trip to the airport (15-20 minutes away) is roughly 20 bucks. The key is to make sure the price is set before you drive off.

All in all this was one of the best vacations weve had in a while. We would return, but would definitely check to see if they've changed their beds and updated the facilities first. Beds were just to hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 22nd floor. All the room on the 22nd floor have been remodeled and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at the Park Royal in Feb. and had a very nice stay. The hotel and grounds were very clean with staff constantly cleaning throughout the day. The staff were friendly and accommodating. A safe in the room would have been helpful. The beds were extremely hard and did not know to ask re a topper. The pool was beautiful and we never had a problem getting a deck chair. The food and bar service were very good. It would have been nice to have one more ala carte restaurant especially when you are staying for 2 weeks or more. We would have really appreciated being able to keep our bracelet on the day we were leaving until time to go to the airport as our flight left very late in the day and our checkout time was hours earlier. Overall, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor away from disco and it was a lovely view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary alberta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Park Royal the week of Easter break. The hotel was wonderful, very clean and friendly., but very busy at that time, mostly with Mexican tourists. The rooms were average with a nice balcony overlooking the pool area. The beds were comfortable and we did not need a bed topper. The food was very good most days, lots to choose from and the staff was excellent! Pool was nice, lots of chairs and shaded areas. Two different washroom areas close by, plus a fitness gym, and store. There is a restaurant near the water which is a nice change from the main buffet. Beer came served in a cold frosty mug. You could order specialty of the day or have buffet. We ate a few times at the snack bar which had burgers, nachos,pizza, ect. Beach was beautiful with a soft brown sand, lots going on with parasailing, banana boats, and travelling musicians. Our son went parasailing which was 25$ for 10 minutes, those guys were very busy and had things down to a science, perfect landings! We went to the a la carte restaurant twice and the Italian meals were very good with excellent service. The staff really strive for you to enjoy yourself and relax. We had no problem or line up to make reservations, wish we had gone more there. The Chill lounge, night club was comfortable, mostly beds to relax on, but the music was played way too loud!! It was impossible to talk there and mainly complaints that the music went past 2am, very loud. We did get used to it but bring earplugs. Ixtapa was a wonderful place and I will definitely go back there. I would stay again at Park Royal. The one negative would be the time share people at the elevator exit. They were friendly but sometimes annoying. We were grateful to have our Westjet Rep. named Ulysis who was a great help, very friendly, non-demanding and reassuring to help ease any concerns we had. Overall Had a great time!!

Room Tip: King size bed rooms have the best view but the loudest music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Royal Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.