We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Mediocre Food, No Amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Royal Ixtapa to your Saves list
Park Royal Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, Mediocre Food, No Amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

The 2 BR, 2 Bath suite we occupied was among the top 3 or 4 of the more than 20 hotel rooms we have booked in Mexico over the last 15 years. Unfortunately the Park Royal Hotels are all inclusive and neither the food nor the amenities were up to the level of the Barcelo or other nearby resorts. Breakfast was average, the Ceviche lunch menu was very good. The Italian restaurant (same day reservation only) had a limited menu but was quite good. The normal steam table dinner was sadly lacking. There were virtually no amenities, no visible program, and nothing but meals, drinks, and tips in the manditory "All Inclusive" package. The hotel service was efficient, courteous, and prompt. The staff were both pleasant and helpful and there was a minimal time share hassle.

  • Liked — Luxurious rooms
  • Disliked — Mediocre food, Dirth of amenities
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    155
    72
    47
    27
See reviews for
112
117
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuxedo Park, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

Our family of 5 adults and one baby of 12 months went to Ixtapa for Thanksgiving this year. What a great time we had... The hotel is old (like most hotels there) but it is in phase of remodeling and we had a remodeled presidential suite on the 18th floor that was absolutely beautifull. Although it did not have a mini-bar, all the furnishings were brand new and the maid service was there around noon every day to leave the plance very clean. The views from our room was expectacular!!!
We had the all-inclusive plan which include meals and drinks but we chose this plan because of the convenience of having breakfast, lunch and drinks at the pool but for dinner, we went out 4 out of the 8 nights we stayed there. The food and service was good but there was not a lot of variety of foods. Thanks to the baby we had Thanksgiving dinner earlier and were able to eat turkey. There was comments that the restaurant only cooked 2 turkeys for the ocasion!!! They are adding another restaurant by the beach but right now is under construction. The other two restaurants are ready and have AC areas with automatic doors. We did not eat at the Italian restaurant because they do not allow kids under 12 years old.
On another ocation, the boys went fishing but the restaurant chef refused to cook their fish...
All the staff was very friendly and helpfull with anything we needed. The pool is shallow (one meter) but always very clean and pool furniture in good condition with plenty of shaded areas. The bathroons at the pool are all remodeled and always clean too.
Ixtapa down-town is just a few minutes walking with all the shops and restaurants and we also had an excelent italian dinner at Becofino restaurant by the Marina and at the Vila de La Selva where we celebrated our baby's first b'day with special cake, baloons and flowers.
We have been to Ixtapa several times before but this was the first time we stayed at the Park Royal Ixtapa. The construction there should be fisnished in about a year or so and we definatelly plan to go back and get everything this hotel will have to offer.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleton wi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

Just returned last night from a week at the Park Royal I have stayed there for many years when it was the double tree and raddisson and it has improved so much since than, The staff is wonderful and can't do enough for us. The animation staff stinks they don't follow the schedule and will tell you lame excuses why. I found out that they are out sourced through another company. They are more concerned with the small children ALL of them three staff on all the kids that keeping the teenagers and adults happy during the day. We never had cooking, spainish, cocktail lesson as stated in the book. Aroebics were at 1 in the afternoon this in any other hotel is at 10am they played volleyball a couple times but really no activities going on around the pool. Than they say everything in Spainish good thing I know the language but many amerians don't so they had no clue what was going on. The night activities are lame as well casino night is loaded with kids so adults can't get to a table and the girl who does roulette hands the mexican people money under the table so they will out bid you everytime. If you don't need them I would go the hotel staff is Great the ground VERY CLEAN the manager wonderful the activity people STINK!!!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

My in-laws are Royal Holiday members and booked this stay for us as a wedding gift for our honeymoon. They booked an Ambassodor suite for the occasion.

We ended up with two adjoining hotel rooms rather than a suite. My husband asked the manager to move us to a suite. They showed us another ajdoining pair of rooms on the second floor that have not been remodeled yet. Of couse we kept the remodeled rooms. We are also Royal Holiday members and know what type of room we should have been given. However, the remodeled rooms are beautiful. Nice furnishings and lovely tiled showers. The beds are firm, but not as bad as I thought they would be from other reviews.

The previous postings on the restaurants are on target - decent food in the buffet. The lunch restaurant, El Pescador, offers an ala cart menu for a lunch entree offering a fish dish cooked to order with a variety of sauces available. My husband dislikes seafood, but enjoyed the fish entree both times he ordered it.

The Italian restaurant has excellent service and mediocre food. Breakfast was tasty with a variety of local dishes, fresh fruit and delicious breads. I love the chicken chilaquas!

We spent less than an hour with our Royal Holiday rep Ezekial and sat through a no-pressure sales pitch with the sales manager. Ezekial was most helpful in giving us directions to catch the bus to Zihua and Isla Ixtapa.

The hotel is undergoing renovations. It is kept very clean and all of the staff is wonderful, except for the front desk manager who was not helpful with our downgraded room.

If you want to book any tours or fishing trips - do it ahead of time on your own, or through the hotel. Don't use the people wandering the beach. We were approached by several men asking if we want to go fishing or to Isla Ixtapa.

Daily activities are offered, there was volleyball, casino night, bingo and best of all - releasing baby sea turtles into the ocean on one night that we were there. We didn't participate in many activities since our main pursuit was relaxing by the pool or at the beach.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not getting the suite I was expecting
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

We belong to Royal Holiday Club, 1st time using membership, very happy with room, overlooking the ocean was Wonderful. Room very clean, staff friendly, food-good. Thanks for the memories, hope to see you again in the future. Debbie, from Indiana

  • Liked — view of ocean
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

The resort is located within walking distance to most of the action in IXTAPA (night clubs, shopping, dolphin pool etc). We have now stayed at all the Park Royal hotels and this location's staff is second only to Cancun. We had a Presidential Suite on the 20th floor with jaccuzzi tub, views of the beautiful Marina golf course and full view of the ovean and the hotel's pool area (WOW).

The grounds, rooms, restaurant and public areas were clean. The meals in the buffet (2 buffet style restaurants) and snack were ok, The ristorante' Italiano was wonderful and the service excuisite 9felt like celebritiesthe way they cared for our every need during dinner..

The concierge desk is very helpful, far moer than the Royal Holiday reps who only care about getting you into a time-share presentation (dont fall for the ol' 'i just want to give you your welcome package" trick). tehbest golf in town is at the Marina course, lots of challenges, the other course is errrrr....

This all-inclusive package is worth the bucks, I'd go back just for the suite and the italian restaurant. Be sure to request one of the remodled units...nice

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

We just returned from a week at The Park Royal Ixtapa. The facility is immaculate & they are constantly doing upkeep. The service was excellant. This was an all inclusive and although the food wasn't great, the breakfast was good. It was worth the price, but they really need to change the menu & add a variety of foods (especially for kids). Also, on Sunday there is an hour & a half (around noon time) when no food is available. I find this unacceptable for an all inclusive. Additiionally, there isn't food avavilable once dinner is over until breakfast the next day. We ate dinner off the property 5 out of the 7 nights we stayed there. The waiters/waitress were at your table constantly. It is if they are anticpating your needs. I really wish there was coffee in the room. I like a cup in the morning while looking at the ocean.
The bar tenders at the pool were wonderful. We were one of the few Americans there and they watched out for my children. Dennis was the best. He seemed to know where my children were at all times so it was an like an extra set of eyes. He spoke English very well. They were always pleasant.
We did have minor problems When we called the front desk for these problems we did not get any help. You have to go to the front desk in person and all your problems will be taken care of.
The beds were only doubles. They need queensize. We had 6 in our party and had a remodeled presidental suite. It slept 8, however, we needed a roll-away bed, because the beds are so small. The view was breathtaking and again, I can not stress how clean everything is.
Beware of a man named Gustavo who sells boat trips on the beach in front of the resort. He is a licensed tour guide. He showed us pictures of his boat and said he would take us snorkling . It turned out he didn't own a boat and took our money and attempted to swindle us. We went to the secretary of tourism and the people there helped us get our money back. They were wonderful and backed us completely. We did go parasailing, rode the banana boat and jet skied and we used the people who worked on the beach in front of the our resorts and other resorts. Gustavo is the only one we had trouble with. In speaking with others we learned he is a problem.
The beach is beautiful, but it is the Pacific side so you have to remember there are huge waves and you can't just float in the ocean. At night you can hear the waves even with the windows closed.
The Marina is within walking distance and has the best resturants. There are plenty of resturants in both directions of the resort and the prices are very reasonable.
If you go to Las Gatas cove make sure you look for the Pink Lounge Chairs and ask for Franco. He makes the best drinks...make sure you try the pina coloda and the marguarettas. You'll be suprised. Also, Franco showed us his kitchen and you could eat off the floor is was so clean. The service was great & the food was really good...it was like paradise.
The dolphin experience was wonderful and right next door so try and do that.
We weren't harassed by the time share people. We are Royal Holiday Members and we spent only about an hour of our time with a representative and no one bothered us the rest of the trip.
The Park Royal has some changes to make, but they are coming along. In a few years I might try it again.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Royal Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.