We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tasting pizza and a much better price than others in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of dal Tuscano

dal Tuscano
Ixtapa shopping center, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 92 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Dal Tuscano is our favorite Ixtapa restaurant. We spend two weeks in Ixtapa yearly and this is our " go to" place for exceptional Italian food .andreason reasonable pricesprices.
Hanover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good tasting pizza and a much better price than others in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

It was our last night in Ixtapa before we had to return to the frozen north and we were both kind of "seafooded" out so we thought a pizza would be a nice change of pace. What a great choice! We had the vegetable pizza and it was excellent. It was also larger and 100 peso's cheaper than a couple of the other local restaurants in town that are known for their pizza. We also had the bruschetta appetizer and it was very good, loaded with a lot of fresh tomatoes and olive oil. Drinks, pizza and an appetizer for just over 230 pesos is a great value. The open air dining area is also very nice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CowboyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Manitoba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

First time eating at this restaurant and we were not disappointed; great staff and good food. Loved the pasta, bread and salad; good Vino! Would definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
185 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Our "go-to" for Italian food in Ixtapa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We seem to hit this restaurant every year and are completely satisified each time. This year we went with a group of 9 for dinner (apparently not open for lunch). I had pesto linguine and my wife had spinach lasagna - both very good. The rest of our party liked their meals too.
Drinks, as in most of Ixtapa lately, weren't very large and 2 for 1 doesn't seem to be available hardly anywhere anymore. But they were tasty as we recall.
Service has always been just fine - even with a large group.
The open-air dining is nice, but it can get very loud - with roving musicians playing everything from andean flutes to tubas and this year a fire dancer with bongo drums. It seemed very busy each time we went by - so it's popular.

This is also our go-to spot for take-out pizza. They're pretty good but nothing special - although I think the standard pepperoni is the best. No sausage pizza available. Be sure to get the sprinkle-on organo to go. The price is considerably lower here than alternatives we found around town.

We'll go next year for sure.

Ordered pizza twice from them this year.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frozen-in-MN-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fave for Italian food in Ixtapa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have been going to dal Tuscano for a very long time (> 25 years). It is our favourite spot for Italian food in Ixtapa. They do many things well here but our favourites there are the garlicky spinach appetizer, their lasagna, fresh pastas and their gnocchi. It is out in a courtyard which is really nice but can be noisy and there is a disco close by that (even when empty) pumps out decibels of forgettable music. Prices are reasonable. The service is usually enthusiastic, friendly and good (especially Lallo) and the owner is quite the character (he is Sicilian and is often sitting by the bar endlessly conversing, playing dominos and smoking his cigars).

One our handful of "go to" restaurants in Ixtapa. It should be one of yours too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yournamehereCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“the new Ixtapa "hot spot"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My heritage is Italian, so I tend to be a tough judge of Italian restaurants. It appears that dal Tuscano is doing very well, and is busy every night of the week. For Italian cuisine, it is by far the best we have ever had in Ixtapa. The gnocchi's were very good, the lasagna and pizza good but a little "blah". Red wine was also decent!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank forrestIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dal Tuscano also viewed

 

Been to dal Tuscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing