We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Cookie might be gone?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Cookie Shop

Golden Cookie Shop
Centro Comercial Los Patios, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 71 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: American style breakfasts, gigantic sandwiches, German specialties, healthy alternatives, vegetarian friendly, gluten-free items, diabetic friendly choices.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Golden Cookie might be gone?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Sadly, a neighboring shop owner said Helmut usually comes back in November and reopens for the season. This year (2013-14), he has not returned. He is surely elderly - has been running Golden Cookie for at least 20 years. A heartfelt salute to a fine restauranteur and his unique contribution to the lovely community of Ixtapa.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Chocolate Chip pancakes and other great breakfast choices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My grandma used to make me and my sisters chocolate chip pancakes in the shape of animals. We always chose giraffes and tigers and zebras so we'd get more chips! No need to worry about that here at the German Bakery and Golden Cookie Shop! I had pancakes exploding with chocolate chips! You'll get a great selection of breakfast choices here and can't go wrong with anything. We had ham, eggs, bacon,and pancakes, all good, and even got an apple fritter for the next morning's early bike ride! Yum!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Rock, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We eat here at least five mornings during our two week stay. The juices are incredible, fresh,and the eggs are the freshest you can get. Have a pancake here and you will always get the best.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Honestly disappointed - service was very poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The food was really very good, but a 45 minute wait for breakfast made it not pleasant! Even on vacation when one is relaxed and taking it all in, that long a wait ruined our experience. We also thought it was over priced and not really worth the difference.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfast! (a little tricky to find!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We loved our breakfasts at this wonderful little bakery. The fruit plates were amazing, and every entree (omlette, pancakes, heuvos ranchero etc) were always so fresh and tasty! We just happened upon this little place, and we're so glad we did! On our last day there, the owner caught wind we were leaving town and chased us down to give us a little bag of fresh baked cookies for the airplane. So great! Also, you MUST try their coconut pastry...it is to die for! We also bought a loaf of fresh bread to have in our condo...such a treat! Anyone who says this bakery is over rated, doesn't know good baking! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Cookie Shop also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Golden Cookie Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Cookie Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.