We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst and Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franks bar and grill

Franks bar and grill
plaza ixpamar, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 85 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This restaurant has excellent food and service. It has huge screen tv's for any game that you want to watch or just tv while you dine. It's also a great place to just have a drink with friends after the beach. My only complaint would be the manager there, she is very rude and mean to her employees in front of the customers. The food, servers are great and the service is A++.
Oregon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Worst and Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Arriving in November 2013 our first return visit to Franks was the worst that we had ever encountered...admittedly it was at the beginning of the season but we have been in Ixtapa and at Franks since he first opened and this year seemed to be a disaster...no service, marginal food and again no service.
HOWEVER
We tried Franks again in early December and were treated to one of his signature dishes ,the stuffed King shrimp and it was delicious, we.had a party of 12 with us and each and every person was just blown away...
SO
Continue to give Franks a fair shot--when he is on it makes up for any early season disappointment,

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    57
    23
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Minnesota
1 review
“Best Meal we had while in Mexico!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We ate at Franks the last night we were in Ixtapa, it was the best food we had all week. we were staying at an all-inclusive resort (Azule Grand), and ventured out a few nights. The food was good at the resort also but Franks was by far the best. His staff nad him included were very courteous, making sure you had plenty to drink and eat. The prices were average, with very large portions of food. I would recommend 3 dishes there: The pizza(any of many too choose from), Franks Zappattizer(Jumbo shrimp stuffed with cheeses, wrapped in Bacon), and the Lobster(any style). I cannot say it enough, the food tasted AMAZING, it was really too bad we did not find it sooner, we would have returned most definately. If we ever return to Ixtapa, Franks will be the first meal we eat. We went there with a group of 12 adults and they served us fabulously. I have have vacationed in Mexico 4 times and never felt the urge to write a review, until now. We had the pleasure of personnally meeting Frank and he was an amazing person, with a great story. You will have to go there yourself to hear it.

P.S. Thanks for the great memories Frank!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good place to visit if you like sports”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The bar staff is very friendly. The drinks are cold. And they always have sports on. Anything you want to watch from NHL to CFL (when in season).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Food...Not the best service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our group of 5 had pizza at Frank's which we found to be very tasty. Loved the wood fired thin crust. They also served a good Margarita. My only concern was very poor service after drinks and dinner had been served. About 20 minutes after we'd finished eating our waiter had not brought the checks. We finally asked Frank, a very personable gent, to get the three checks for us. Two were paid with cash and I'd decided to pay with a credit card. After giving them the card, another 20 minutes passed before the bill was returned for my signature. I had wanted to leave a tip on the bill but had to leave cash after being informed that I couldn't do so.
I understand that service suffers when a restaurant is very busy but the the place was by no means full when we were there. Will we go back?? Maybe, but there are other nearby places that serve good pizza and better serve their customers.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Random Lake, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service staff overwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Supposed to be a nice little place. We came at a busy time and was able to be seated immediately, but the service staff was very unorganized. It took about 10 minutes to get our drinks, and we waited 30 minutes our food order (pizza). We asked what happened to our food order and after 10 minutes we left after not receiving any explanation at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franks bar and grill also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Franks bar and grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franks bar and grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.