We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week at Pacifica Resort, Ixtapa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifica Resort Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Pacifica Resort Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Paseo de la Colina s/n - Colina Vista Hermosa, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 39000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Port Alberni, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A week at Pacifica Resort, Ixtapa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Booked here on a RCI exchange and had booked the optional All- Inclusive. We are not the AI type of travelers.
At check-in they asked for payment for AI. Fortunately, I had written confirmation for the optional so proceeded to a week in the sun.
This was the last week before the big Christmas rush season so workmen were very busy all over the resort, especially at Club 12, the building right next door to us with a shared stairway of 75 steps. We appreciate progress and didn't mind saying ola to all the friendly construction team we met on the stairs but Aftera few days of hammering, sanding and paint fumes, we asked to move to another location. No problem, and with bellhop assistance quickly got settled into Club 2.
Awesome view again, I think all units have this panoramic advantage.
This place worked well for us, having the freedom to hop a bus to downtown Zihua for 9 pesos, taking two sepaertae tours of the surrounding areas and bike riding the wonderful ciclopista to Playa Linda through the ecological reserve, a 10 km trip to enjoy the beach there and great food at Palapa restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    63
    24
    19
    23
See reviews for
93
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We, a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids 10 and 12 years old) stayed in a 2 bedroom Master Sands unit (room 4150) and it was spectacular. We did an exchange through RCI and had the obligatory All-Inclusive package.

Suite: The suite consists of 2 bedrooms with great views of the bay - one room has a large king size bed, bathroom, balcony, closets and AC. The second has limited windows, 2 double beds, AC and is good for kids. There is a third room with a washer / dryer which does have a bunk bed but really appears to be more for family staff. There is AC in that room as well. In the main living area, there is a infinity plunge pool which is not heated (very refreshing - heating is not necessary), several couches and a dining table. This section is open air as it does not have windows facing out but has spectacular views. While there were mosquitoes by the beach (primarily ankle biters) there were none anywhere in our suite.

Food: The main eating area by the beach is buffet style and decent - breakfast is the same everyday, the dinners are themed. There are a number of restaurants you can go to - we were restricted to Il Faro for one dinner. Il Faro has great views and going once is probably enough. There are other restaurants including a bar on the beach which is Asian themed with Sushi at night. No restrictions there and worth a try. We also at a restaurant by the reception - it was good also. During the day - if you are an RCI member you have a reserved palapa for the week at no additional charge and there are waiters who walk up and down the beach providing a snack menu which includes sandwiches, nachos, drinks etc.. This is included as well. All drinks including bottled water and domestic alcohol are included in unlimited amounts. In general where ever you eat, you do receive a bill with a zero'd out balance on it and room for a tip. As the service in general was quite good, we left tips. We did notice that the bills were not always accurate - sometimes more than what we ate, but it really didn't matter as the balance was zero'd out. When we checked out at the end the week - all was in order in terms of what we owed, no mysterious charges. They do seem to want to charge if anything is missing including room keys (just hotel cards) or wrist bracelets for the all-inclusive - we returned everything.

We didn't have problems with theft - but it is Mexico and use common sense - that is we generally locked everything in the room safe when we were out, especially during the day when the workers come through.

We had a couple maintenance issues were resolved promptly.

This was our first time to Ixtapa. We have been to Cabo once before. Ixtapa is much nicer - people are more laid back and prices tend to be more reasonable. That said, I felt like I was nickeled and dimes in overcharges for most things outside the resort, whether it be taxis, food, tours etc. Oh ya, be sure to have exact change in whatever you do - everybody mysteriously never has any change.

Taxis from the airport cost the most. Taxis from the resort cost marginally more than outside but it is worth it. Always agree on a price before you get in or go anywhere as nobody has meters.

If you take a taxi from the airport, ignore all the guys inside waiting at the gate and go outside to the taxi stand. At taxi to Pacific when we went cost 280 pesos and takes about 20 minutes.

As the resort is on a hillside it is a good workout to get back to your room which I didn't mind as this was most of my exercise for the week. You can take the gondola as well which drops near the Master Sands.

The Master Sands is on a point at the end of the bay and does have good access to the beach.

Massages at the resort cost 400 pesos or about US$30 for 1 hour and are worth it!

We visited in late Sept 2012.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have been traveling here for years and own a week. We like many things about the setting and the resort - it's on a great beach, the food is plentiful and decent, it's low key and casual. We always struggle with the housekeeping staff who seem desperate to clean our room. We like to make our own bed, tidy up after ourselves and enjoy our privacy. So we always inform the staff at the start of our annual stay that we will not be needing any housekeeping services. We also keep the "do not disturb" tag on our doorknob.

On our last trip, despite our precautions, housekeeping came into the room one day. The bed was made, we had fresh towels, everything vacuumed and tidy. The only problem was that my wife's Kindle was missing, along with its charger which had been stored inside a suitcase. It was the last night of our stay and we didn't have time to deal with it before we had to leave for the airport. We've been trying to work this out with management since the beginning of June. Despite some promises of resort credit no one has followed through and now they don't return our calls.

We're bummed because we have enjoyed our trips there. But it's hard to stomach this kind of treatment. We still haven't decided if we will ever return. We have always told our friends that we've never had a problem with theft (or any type of crime) in Mexico. Pacifica Ixtapa has changed our tune.

Room Tip: Lock everything up in the room safe, even if you think no one is coming into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been a member here since 2000. Loved it initially, but things have turned progressively worse. We purchased a 3 week time share at Junior Sands. The world was promised. Easily transferable via RCI (not), cruise benefits via their ICE incentive (completely mislead), assured availability - i.e. we would be able to book dates with reasonable lead times and be assured of a spot, not oversold (BS). In 2007 stepped on a sting ray in the water just off the restaurant. They said it happens now and then and proceeded to do the exact opposite of what is needed to treat the toxins from a sting ray sting. Agony. Called the local Dr. - he shows up and looks like the Dr from the movie Cannonball Run. Again, wrong treatment. I go to my room and WebMd which I should have done in the first place. Unbeleiveable. Pacifica Sands is now in disrepair. I had to call maintenance 3x for A/C, plumbing, sliding glass doors not working. My dues have gone from a few hundred $$ to over $2k while beautiful new buildings are erected. Mexicana Airlines declares bankruptcy. We could travel to Europe in the amount of time it takes to get there from San Francisco. Seriously. And very expensive airfare due to little competition. We visited Thanksgiving 2011. Saw more sting rays - SHUFFLE YOUR FEET while entering water! 2012 - Pacifica says they will charge an additional $2500 surcharge for maintenance/worker benefits. I go to discuss in the office in person since we were already there. EXTREMELY RUDE and disrespectful folks in that office. They told me take it or leave it, basically get lost.I told them what they could do with their timeshare and proceeded to tell every prosepect in that office what to expect - and that if anyone would like to hear about my experiences at Pacifica, I would gladly join them at the bar to discuss over a cerveza. A number of folks took me up on it and they were being sold on the exact same things mentioned above - to which I shared my experiences. They (Pacifica) were not pleased, but folks need to be forewarned about the egregious money grab by these people. I walked away from this timeshare with 17 years still left on it and after sinking at least $30-35k on this painful experience. Save your $$ - DO NOT PURCHASE A TIMESHARE HERE. One last thing, like many of the reviewers mentioned earlier, you will find all sorts of charges on your check out bill that are not yours. They know everyone is in a hurry to check out at the same time and will stall you with excuses and poor communication until you are stressed about your flight and just pay. It has happened all 6 of our visits without fail. Stay in Zihua.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband, adult son and I spent a week at Pacifica Master Sands. Loved Loved Loved it!!! Check-in was very quick and in our room in no time. The suite definately had a WOW factor. Everything was very clean and comfortable...everything we could have asked for. The view...what can I say...simply fabulous!! Stairs were really no big deal, but if you wanted, the shuttles were available. Location of the resort was great. Great access to the beach & our own private cabana, which we were able to reserve for the entire week at check-in. The massage at the Massage Shack on the beach was amazing. My husband even went back for "seconds". Very short walk into town for shopping. Everything at the resort and the town of Ixtapa was exactly what we had hoped for...and more. Will definately go back!! The buffet was good, but have had better. They need to have more daily variety. Pretty much the same thing all week. That's ok though...everything else certainly made up for it.

Room Tip: wouldn't have a room next to the gondola. people on the gondola can see right into your suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I along with my parents just got back a week ago from Ixtapa. We stayed in the Master Sands room through an RCI exchange (2 bed/2 bath) and it was amazing! The view was to die for and it was HUGE. Plenty of room to spread out for the 4 of us. Yes there's a bit of stairs to climb here, but it was good excercise after all the food we ate! On the days we were a bit tired we would take the tram which was neat to do.

The resort is large, but really beautiful and clean. We loved where the resort is located at the end of the beach which seemed more private and less beach vendors. The waves crashing on the rocks was serene and breathtaking (Hurricane Bud was up north and we had some large crashing waves). Gorgeous sunsets too! We also loved going over the lagoon bridge to the buffet/beach and seeing all the beautiful birds and iguanas in the trees! The grounds were always kept up and we had such fun on the pretty, soft sand beach. All the palms were great for extra shade too. Antonio was the best beach waiter, as we never had to wait long for drinks/food. The buffet was right there too which was convenient. We were able to reserve a palapa for the week which was sure a nice change from the "towel game" we've had to play elsewhere. All resorts should have this option.

We usually don't like All Inclusive as we like to sample the local restaurants, but we were really happy with the food here. Always a nice variety at the buffet and the other restaurants were good too. We did splurge our last night out at a restaurant in Zih called Tentaciones (see my review) but we enjoyed all the food at the resort.

The service was amazing, very helpful people always with a smile. There are a lot of (very friendly) Mexican citizens that vacation here but that's what we actually loved. It made us feel like we were in Mexico and not Miami.

This was our first time in Ixtapa/Zih and we loved it so much it is our new favorite spot in Mexico. We loved the beautiful scenery of the ocean and mountains and the friendly people. The Pacifica Resort is lovely and we highly recommend it. I have heard the best rooms are in Aqua, Master Sands and Senior Sands so if you can, try to stay in one of these buildings.

All in all, we loved our stay here and are "homesick" to be back there already!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny california
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Pacifica resort is a popular destination for Mexican families. There are very few gringos here. We enjoyed the feeling that we were in a foreign country with the challenge of practicing our Spanish. It would be very helpful for anyone going to this resort to know some Spanish. The information booklet is all in Spanish, as is activity list. Not everyone who works at this resort will be able to speak English. The staff was always friendly and greeted us warmly.

We reserved a room at Pacifica Aqua and Pacifica Master Sands through RCI. The Pacifica resort is made up of a number of different buildings that range from basic to luxury. There are many stairs and hills to climb, so you need to be physically fit. There are some vans that will give you a ride to where you are going, but sometimes you will have to wait for some time. There is a gondola that starts at the beach and takes you to the very top with a stop in the middle. The gondola does not run on Saturday and it might not be working for some of the other time. It is hit or miss. There were 150 stairs from the beach to our room (Pacifica Aqua), just to give you some idea.

The Pacifica Aqua room was very nice. We had a view looking out over the ocean. We had a one bedroom with 2 bathrooms. We loved the outdoor showers! There was a full kitchen with things that you need to cook. There was a balcony with a plunge pool. We could close the sliding door on the balcony and close the sliding room divider to shut out some of the noise at the resort. There is lots going on all the time and the noise does travel up the hill. Being at the Pacifica Aqua gave us some perks. There is a separate pool for the Aqua guests, but it has no food/drink service and you have to bring your towels from the room. The other perk is that you can reserve your shade structure/palapa on the beach for the whole week. We could have coffee and rolls OR fruit and juice delivered to our room daily. There were fresh flowers in the room when we arrived. The maid did an outstanding job cleaning our room daily.

Our friends stayed in a 2 bedroom unit at the Master Sands. It was a huge room with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. You can close up the bedrooms and run the a/c. The kitchen and living room area is completely opened to the great outdoors with no way of closing it up. There was a nice plunge pool too. The view was of the mountains, ocean and the resort below. The problem with the completely open room is the amount of the noise that you hear from the beach, pool and resort. Being open, also allows the mosquitoes and other bugs to enter the room.

We had to pay the all inclusive rate because we were using RCI to book these rooms. We were told how many times we could eat at each restaurant.

Tuipanes is a buffet. We would eat here for our breakfast. Most of the buffet is Mexican food . We could order an eggs made to order. This was my least favorite place to eat.

Bugambillas restaurant is by the pool, so be prepared to hear kids and splashing. We could eat here 2 times.

El Faro restaurant is at the top of the hill. It is a nice restaurant and the views are great! We could eat here 1 time.

Moon Bar is on the beach. We had a lovely table with a great view of the sunset. We could eat here 2 times.

El Suspiro is in Zihuatanejo at the Pacifica Grand. You have to pay for the taxi to go to this one. It was about 150 pesos each way. The view was amazing and the food was great. Don’t miss this one. We could go here 1 time.

It seemed a little odd that we were told how many times we could eat at each place. There is beach service for food (snacks) and drinks. There is food/drink service at the pool by Tulipanes and at the pool by Bugambillas. Service wasn’t always great. We had to look for servers sometimes or go to the bar ourselves. We did tip everyone and that seemed to make them happy.

All the activities and entertainment is in Spanish. There is no adult only pool. The spa is very tiny with 3 or 4 small rooms.
All in all we had a good time here. We always enjoy our time in Mexico. I just wanted to write a long review because I could not find much on this resort before I headed there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacifica Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Resort Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de la Colina s/n - Colina Vista Hermosa, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 39000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa our tourist development "All Inclusive", a unique and privileged area of ​​Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, on the coast of Guerrero, and recognized for the quality of its facilities and warm service. Two bedroom suites located in Playa El Palmar Ixtapa just 17.3 Km. Airport and 2.8 Km from shopping area, 4 Km from Marina Ixtapa, 3.55 Km from Marina Ixtapa Golf Club with beach access via funicular center. Wi-Fi in public areas, parking, air conditioning, restaurants, SPA and Thalasso Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pacifica Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Pacifica Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Pacifica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacifica Resort Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.