We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Sun and Sand!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa to your Saves list
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super Sun and Sand!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Sunscape Dorado works hard to make your stay the perfect holiday. The staff are friendly and happy to serve and we had no trouble speaking in English or French with anyone. We enjoyed not wearing a wrist band and being able to eat ala carte for every lunch and dinner. They mix up which restaurants are open so there is always a variety. They had fun feature evenings on the weekends. We had a Mexican Fiesta night, a Caribbean night and a Hawaii night with outdoor entertainment. The beach is lovely with crashing waves that are fun to watch and walk along. The sunsets were a highlight each evening. I enjoyed parasailing ($20) on the beach and had two terrific massages ($15 each!) at the huts (#1 & #7) on the beach west of the resort. One day we caught the bus to Playa Linda (just outside Senior Frogs) for 9 peso where there is a fun market, another great beach and an alligator pond. The great thing about public transit is that you get to see the area and check out how the locals do things. A young gentleman gave up his seat so I could sit down. The Mexican people are so thoughtful! Then we took a water taxi (40 peso) to Ixtapa island where we spent the day snorkeling. Not the best snorkeling since the water was choppy and stirred up when we were there but it would be great when the waves were calmer. We also did a sunset cruise that was wonderful and saw about 20 or so black rays jumping and leapfrogging each other against the pink painted sky.
The resort has some fun activities for those who want to play tennis, wall climb, bungee jump, or play a game of chess with giant playing pieces. I would have liked to go on the bike tour that happened each day at 9 AM or 4 PM but they required tennis shoes and I didn't bring any. I could have purchased a pair across the street at the shops or the market but I was too busy relaxing and reading under the palapas! Everything was clean and we always felt pampered. We were missing live music and were delighted when a Mexican band stopped to serenade some tourists on the beach. We would have loved to hear more live music. We would recommend the resort to others who are looking for some sun and R&R!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a room with an ocean view and enjoyed having coffee on the balcony each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear V-Retz,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa staff and my own, I would like to thank you so much for writing such a nice and detailed review of your stay on TripAdvisor. Your time and opinion are very valuable to us.

It is so nice to know that you enjoyed ixtapa and our resort, our compromise is to provide a satisfactory service to our guests and make them feel like if they were in home. Our destination has plenty of activities and they are not hard to get just like you mentioned it, thank you so much for giving yourself the opportunity to look around and discover all the things that the tourism should see when they visit us.

It would be a great honor to have you back at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    380
    126
    59
    41
See reviews for
369
371
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

good hotel , good service everywere, but i was rob in my room ( money and jewel woman ring )and i couldn't get a report from the hotel. they utilised the card that we need for elec, near the wall,it was a very bad experience because it is a beautiful place !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton,alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the Sunscape from the 12th. till the 22nd. of March. Plus 30 every day. Only complaint was the beds are a little firm for me. The Service,Food, location and resort are all very good. This Resort is a strong 4 in my mind. We also went fishing. I booked through Ed Kunze, Google his name and you will find him. He writes a local fishing report every week. And tells it the way it is, good or bad. His wife rebecca set us up with Adolfo on the Dos Hermanos. A 26 ft. panga. Very hard working Guide that speaks very good English. We went fishing Inshore. hoping to find roosters and jack crevalle. The day started slow but we kept at it. One 10 lb. Spanish Mackerel, 2 small dorado by 10.30. Then it got real quite. But on the way back we found the Jacks. And man did we find them. None stop for about 90 minutes. Two of us caught 7 and lost 3 more, All were in the 20 lb. range. Hundreds of birds dive bombing bait fish. And hundreds of jacks feeding. If you love fishing as much as I do and you haven't wrestled with one of these jacks you have to give it a try. I have fished up and down the West coast of North America and lb. for lb. nothing comes close to fighting like they do. If you are looking for a great place to holiday at a nice 4 star resort. Give the Dorado a try. If you want to do some fishing give Ed Kunze a call.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear jimbow54,

I would like to thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor, we value your time and opinion.

It is so nice to know that you enjoyed Ixtapa and its surroundings, our destination has plenty of activities that you can delight yourself with, such as fishing. Thank you for recommending our resort, our guests compliments are the best publicity that we could ever ask for.

It would be so nice to have you back at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We traveled with a group of 14 friends with Apple Vacations. This was a no hassle, friendly and comfortable trip. Staff at this hotel were all very friendly, easy to communicate with and seemed to enjoy their jobs. This hotel was extremely clean, accommodating and easy to get around. We did not have any problems with the elevators, and when one was out of service it was fixed asap. I am not aware of anyone being stuck in one for any length of time. The beds were a little hard but no one in our group had any problem getting to sleep. We called the desk to ask for more pillows and a robe and these were provided to us within 10 minutes. I was astounded by that since they were full and we were on the 2nd to the top floor, which I believe there were 11. Everything was spotless including the glass on the windows! Pool was cleaned 2x's/day, pool area was cleaned all day long. You did have to get up early to get some chairs poolside, fortunately for me some of my fellow travelers are early risers. You have to get there by 6:30a and stand in line for towels and pool floats. Food was plentiful and enjoyable. You don't have to reserve a seat for specialty restaurants which is nice and they have 24hr room service. You never have to worry about going hungry. This is a small intimate all inclusive, I,my husband and friends we traveled with all agreed it is much nicer than the larger more expensive ones. We all plan on traveling back here again in the near future...We strongly recommend giving the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico a try.

Room Tip: ocean view room higher up gives you a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Jacki A,

I would like to thank you so much for giving us a try and also for giving us that nice review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate all of your comments.

It is so nice to know that you enjoyed the resort and our services, as it has been said we are a staff fully committed with the wellness and comfort of our guests, our best reward is the pleasure of knowing that we have provided a quality service to our clients.

For us it would be a great honor to have you back in the not too distant future at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We could not have asked for more. We are used to the larger all-inclusives in the Maya, but the intimacy and service here could not be exceeded. We traveled Westjet and the connection was effortless. Every bit of service was accompanied by "It was a pleasure" and it looked like it truly was! The food was awesome and the beach is really amazing. There were several days the waves were too high to swim in the ocean, but there is a lifeguard on duty all day. Like everything, a lot of attention was given to cleaning the pools. Every night and early morning they were thoroughly hand brushed in addition to the normal systems. Zihuatanejo is just a couple minutes away, and buses pass every few minutes. The small Ixtapa shopping center with local gift/drug stores, restaurants and banks is just across the street. Raul at the front desk ... your girls are great, Sandra and Laura at the concierge ... the tortillas made it home, Maria and the girls at Windows, Charlie and your helpers for the Beach Volley ball and the Bike ride to the Marina, Hector and Moses .. the Life guards, Fernando who kept the beach spotless, the drink servers... thank you all for a wonderful time. You are an amazing team.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Rstan50,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa staff and my own, I would like to thank you so much for your nice feedback, we appreciate every minute of your time to put down in words your experience at our resort.

It is so nice to hear that every member of our team did everything to make of your stay an incredible experience, for us, it really is a pleasure to assist our guests in any petition that they have we are fully committed to perform our job to the best possible way. Thank you for letting us know that the fresh tortillas made it home, be completely sure that we will give your compliments to Raul, Sandra, Laura, Maria, Charlie, Hector, Moises and Fernando.

For us it would be an honor to have you back at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have travelled quite a bit and this resort is a very close second for us. As others have already said, the Food - Very Good, the Staff - Excellent, the Pool - Very Good, the Beach - Outstanding.
A few comments, the buffet while small was very good, the bars around the pool could have been open a little longer, chairs (like most resorts) can be challenging and could have had more on the beach, the beach we were told by the staff (and I hope I have this right) is reviewed by an Australian organization that checks cleanliness and eco responsibilities. This beach is ranked #1 in the world as the longest cleanest beach. 880m long and 35m wide. The beach must be certified twice a year to keep this accreditation. The elevators are a problem but will be repaired in May 2014.
La Fusion restaurant across the street from the resort was very good. Casa Elvira (been around since 1956) in Zwhat was our best meal, look for Milton, great guy, great food. We did our own thing and went to Las Gatas, met Orilio at El Macamba restaurant very, very good. Milton and Orilio are friends.
Zip Lining was fun, but at $55 a person, a little rich as a tour. I would try to do our own thing for this next time.
Would we go back....YES!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear naturaltraveller1000,

I would like to thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to visit our resort and Ixtapa, it is nice to read that you had a good time here with us, also I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of us on TripAdvisor, your comments are very well appreciated and important to us, they are the best way to know our opportunity areas and our strengths.

Please be completely sure that each of your comments will be shared with the staff in order to improve in all the possible ways.

For us it would be an honor to have you back, at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbank, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Windwrful place to stay. Great food, lots of dinner choices and restaurant options in the resort. Swim up bar, pool service was exceptional, Carlos, part of the pool entertainment team is great, all the staff frim the greetings upon arrival , to the wait staff, and our wonderful housekeeper consuella... we had a great vacation , and hotel location central to the other bars on the strip fir the real late night or early morning party goers... and plenty of shopping options. Thank you sunscape for helping make our 6th anniversary a memorable one... you rock Ixtapa.....

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Ruth T,

I would like to thank you so much for giving us that nice review on TripAdvisor, your time and opinion are so valuable to us.

It is so nice to know that our staff made a good job by making of your 6th. anniversary an unforgettable experience, we are fully committed to provide an excellent service to our friends, and create memories that last, such as yours.

For all of us would be an honor to have you back hopefully in the not too distant future, we would be welcoming you with smiling faces and a cheerful attitude.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful beach town of Ixtapa on Mexico's popular Pacific coast, Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa is a mere 20 minutes from Ixtapa Zihuatanejo International Airport. The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.