We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in a beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa to your Saves list
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The staff at this hotel is committed to providing the best service to their guests, as we experienced repeatedly during our stay. Our room was kept beautifully clean and extra towels were available for the asking. The mini bar selection was also tailored to our request. The variety of menu items throughout the various restaurants was diversified and always fresh. Our only disappointment was the food in the Italian restaurant.
The things we were disappointed in were the repeated breakdowns of the elevators and the lack of restaurant availability from 17:30 to 19:00 hours.
This is a great place for families as there is a staff contingent dedicated to entertaining the children who are guests at the resort. There is also always something to do for the adult guests. So whether you wish to just sit and read at the pool, want to parasail, like to play beach volleyball or enjoy aqua-fit, it's all here, each day for you to enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose a room numbered 17 or higher if you want less evening/night noise overall. You will still ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Cherbal,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, we are very pleased to know that our service was excellent and you enjoy it. Also, we would like to thank you for your observations, they are very important for us and definitely we are going to work on them in order to improve day after day.

We hope to see you soon at this your home away from home, Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    379
    127
    59
    41
See reviews for
368
372
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Fishing was wonderful and eating your catch at the resort restaurant was even better. Mahi Mahi was fabulous. Thank you Marcelo for arranging cooking our catch. The a la carte restaurants were very good even though only one 1 or 2 were open each night. November is a great time to go because the resort wasn't very busy except on the weekends. The Mexicans show up on the weekend and bring all their kids. Busy and noisy on the weekends and quiet and relaxing on the weekdays. The beach and the pool were great. The activity guys were a lot of fun. The food was very good. The beds are very hard (ask for an extra foam). The rooms were clean and the views and sunsets were great. Elevators were sketchy, at least one wasn't working at any given time. Staff were nice and helpful. Let the time share people know up front that you aren't interested and they are very good at leaving you alone. Ixtapa island was a nice day trip full of snorkeling and good lunch. Shopping in the town was good as well. Not too many tourists in November. I would consider going to Ixtapa and Sunscape again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra charge, as long as its up on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Grant,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful time at our Resort Sunscape Ixtapa, we really appreciate each one of your comments, this is the best way to know our areas of opportunity and work on them, so, we would like to thank you for giving us your opinion, it will be taken into account to improve day after day our service.

We hope to see you soon, it will be a pleasure having you once again at this your home away from home.


Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuolumne City, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have just arrived home from a three week trip to Ixtapa staying at Dorado Pacifico Sunscape Hotel and Resort!! We have stayed in the same resort for the past 6 years and each year is better and better! First a big shout out to Mr Garcia and his staff!! From the housekeepers, maintenance crew, bartenders, waitstaff in the restaurants and poolside, chefs, bell boys, security staff, and front desk to the activity staff, we found them all to be exceptionally professional, friendly, attentive, courteous and enthusiastic!! It is apparent that your management staff emphasis customer service as their priority!! From the time we arrived to the day we checked out we were treated as VIP!! Thank you Ricardo for arranging the most amazing accommodations! We have always found our rooms to be comfortable and clean but this year was exceptionally special!! The food in the restaurants was great! We understand that in off season when you are not at full capacity you cannot open all 5 but your gave us a nice variety with Mexicam food, Chinese and Japenese sushi as well as fabulous fish dishes!! We never went hungry!! Room service was fast and also delicious!! Loved loved loved the breakfast buffet with my delicious omelette every morning and yummy fresh fruit!! Kudos to the Head Chef!!! Ramiro the activity Manager has a great program of events and activities for all ages! His staff Alberto, Blanca, Carlos, and Himur were great! Loved being part of Judging participants in the Voz!!! Of course you wore out Hubby with beach volley ball, pool soccer, and water ballon fights!!! Loved the Mexican Fiesta and salsa dances! Thank you bartenders Jorge, Simon and Ramundo for those delicious drinks and Antonio for keeping my glass full!! Benito, Alicia, Saul, GG and Omar gave us the most excellent service at every meal!! Bell Boys Sergio, Freddy, and Fillipee made sure we had a cab for our daily trips to the golf course and ice to keep our beverages cold!! Not to mention anything else we needed! We travel to Mexico not only to have a great vacation but to experience the Mexican people and culture! We met so many wonderful Mexican nationals who obviously love Dorado as much as we do! It touched my heart to see how wonderfully close the families are and am so pleased this resort is so family oriented!! We plan to bring our family next year and know they will have a wonderful experience!!! Thank you so much for not only being our home away from home but our Family away from Family!! We also loved that great shopping and eateries were just across the street and that many other sites and activities were available to enjoy in Ixtapa and zihuatanejo!! Thank you so much for yet another fabulously AWESOME vacation!! See you next year!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Lynn L,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa Staff & myself we want to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to receive positive comments about our service and facilities as you have letf. We have as commitment to provide a quality service in order to keep you happy and this way meet with your expectations, so, it is very nice to know that you had an awesome stay with us.

Thank you very much for your preference, see you next year.

Sincerely
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

loved everything about it, entertainment staff was awosme. what i did not like were the " 200 usd " coupons.. it was cheaper to pay regualr price than to use these.. not worth it at all..
itallian resteraunt wasnt good but enjoyed all the other a la cartes. clean beach, clean resort, loved it... i would go back in an instant.
had an ocean view room on the 19th floor, WOW it was definitly worth it.
24 hr room service is a plus for sure.
hotel is right in the middle of ixtapa which makes it perfect to walk around everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it, this is the best way to know our areas of opportunity,we have shared your comments with our Food & Beverage Department and we will definitely be working on the Italian Restaurant situation.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The best part about Suncape Ixtapa is the people who work there. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure you are happy - - with a friendly smile on their face the whole time! After 6 days here we got to know them pretty well, and their demeanor and energy did not change. Freddie at the bell desk will take care of whatever you need - no matter how crazy busy things may be with people coming and going. He's the best I've seen. Simon the bartender at the pool was excellent and Antonio the waiter was great! These 3 individuals watched out for us, and made our stay very enjoyable. We did also experience poor air conditioning in our room the first night, and they moved us right away (Freddie was right there to move all our luggage - - on the hangers and all); The elevator situation was not good on the weekend when the hotel was at capacity - - long waits! Also the pool was very crowded over the weekend with many kids. Weekdays were fantastic! The rooms were large and had a great view. The food was good, not a lot of variety on the menus, but it was prepared well. I would go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear NancyR1966,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa Management & Staff we want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, it is very important for us, we are very pleased to know that our staff made your stay enjoyable, definitely we will share your comments with Freddie, Antonio and Simón and recognize them for their friendly attitude.

About the elevator situation, we would like to inform that we are working on this in order to avoid to happen again and provide the best service as all our guests deserve.

We really hope to welcome you once again at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Kindest Regards
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Service was good but that was it. We had horrible air conditioning in our room for the first day, no hot water to shower in for the entire trip, 3 out of 4 elevators worked but ran extremely slow or they were working on them so people traffic was backed up. The food for horrible, cold, bland, and poor quality. It was advertised that they had 5 restaurants but only 1 was open per night. The Italian place served our food cold and on a second try it took them 3 hours from start to finish and the food still wasn't any better. Only 2 ice machines were working for 6 floors of rooms. Kids were hanging all over the pool bar that clearly states ADULTS ONLY and the hot tub water was grey.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Standard E,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa Management & Staff we would like to express our most sincere apologies for the experience that you had during your visit at our Resort. We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your vacation in our property, we would like to tell you that we are working on these troubles in order to avoid to happen again, we want to make it up to you for the inconvenients that you had with us.

Please, give us another chance to guarantee that your next stay will be more comfortable. It is going to be a pleasure having you among our Guests again.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincher Creek, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was by far the best vacation we have taken, Ixtapa is an excellent place to visit. The resort and staff where very friendly and helpful, not to mention the entertainment staff which kept our daughter constantly entertained. The room was very comfortable and clean, as was the resort. We did one tour, fished for a day and a half with great success and our favourite though was the day trip to Ixtapa Island. We did this on our own not through a tour, as it is very easy and comfortable to leave the resort without a guide.

One experience we had provides a true testament for the people in this area. On our third day we went to Zihuatanejo shopping and accidentally left a bag of souvenirs we had purchased in a coffee shop. After making a couple of inquiries with hotel staff and the tour guide we thought it was gone for good. Then three days later, the bag of stuff showed up at the resort. I would never expect that to happen here in our home town, never mind Mexico.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Duane F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about our Resort Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa on TripAdvisor, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your vacation at this your home away from home. It is really nice to read good comments as you have shared, that is our main goal,the guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your review.


We are looking forward to have you back. It will be a pleasure welcome you once again.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful beach town of Ixtapa on Mexico's popular Pacific coast, Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa is a mere 20 minutes from Ixtapa Zihuatanejo International Airport. The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.