We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa to your Saves list
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
A TripAdvisor Member
“5 star service !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

loved everything about it, entertainment staff was awosme. what i did not like were the " 200 usd " coupons.. it was cheaper to pay regualr price than to use these.. not worth it at all..
itallian resteraunt wasnt good but enjoyed all the other a la cartes. clean beach, clean resort, loved it... i would go back in an instant.
had an ocean view room on the 19th floor, WOW it was definitly worth it.
24 hr room service is a plus for sure.
hotel is right in the middle of ixtapa which makes it perfect to walk around everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it, this is the best way to know our areas of opportunity,we have shared your comments with our Food & Beverage Department and we will definitely be working on the Italian Restaurant situation.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    379
    126
    59
    41
See reviews for
369
370
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The best part about Suncape Ixtapa is the people who work there. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure you are happy - - with a friendly smile on their face the whole time! After 6 days here we got to know them pretty well, and their demeanor and energy did not change. Freddie at the bell desk will take care of whatever you need - no matter how crazy busy things may be with people coming and going. He's the best I've seen. Simon the bartender at the pool was excellent and Antonio the waiter was great! These 3 individuals watched out for us, and made our stay very enjoyable. We did also experience poor air conditioning in our room the first night, and they moved us right away (Freddie was right there to move all our luggage - - on the hangers and all); The elevator situation was not good on the weekend when the hotel was at capacity - - long waits! Also the pool was very crowded over the weekend with many kids. Weekdays were fantastic! The rooms were large and had a great view. The food was good, not a lot of variety on the menus, but it was prepared well. I would go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear NancyR1966,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa Management & Staff we want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, it is very important for us, we are very pleased to know that our staff made your stay enjoyable, definitely we will share your comments with Freddie, Antonio and Simón and recognize them for their friendly attitude.

About the elevator situation, we would like to inform that we are working on this in order to avoid to happen again and provide the best service as all our guests deserve.

We really hope to welcome you once again at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Kindest Regards
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Service was good but that was it. We had horrible air conditioning in our room for the first day, no hot water to shower in for the entire trip, 3 out of 4 elevators worked but ran extremely slow or they were working on them so people traffic was backed up. The food for horrible, cold, bland, and poor quality. It was advertised that they had 5 restaurants but only 1 was open per night. The Italian place served our food cold and on a second try it took them 3 hours from start to finish and the food still wasn't any better. Only 2 ice machines were working for 6 floors of rooms. Kids were hanging all over the pool bar that clearly states ADULTS ONLY and the hot tub water was grey.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Standard E,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa Management & Staff we would like to express our most sincere apologies for the experience that you had during your visit at our Resort. We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your vacation in our property, we would like to tell you that we are working on these troubles in order to avoid to happen again, we want to make it up to you for the inconvenients that you had with us.

Please, give us another chance to guarantee that your next stay will be more comfortable. It is going to be a pleasure having you among our Guests again.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincher Creek, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was by far the best vacation we have taken, Ixtapa is an excellent place to visit. The resort and staff where very friendly and helpful, not to mention the entertainment staff which kept our daughter constantly entertained. The room was very comfortable and clean, as was the resort. We did one tour, fished for a day and a half with great success and our favourite though was the day trip to Ixtapa Island. We did this on our own not through a tour, as it is very easy and comfortable to leave the resort without a guide.

One experience we had provides a true testament for the people in this area. On our third day we went to Zihuatanejo shopping and accidentally left a bag of souvenirs we had purchased in a coffee shop. After making a couple of inquiries with hotel staff and the tour guide we thought it was gone for good. Then three days later, the bag of stuff showed up at the resort. I would never expect that to happen here in our home town, never mind Mexico.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Duane F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about our Resort Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa on TripAdvisor, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your vacation at this your home away from home. It is really nice to read good comments as you have shared, that is our main goal,the guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your review.


We are looking forward to have you back. It will be a pleasure welcome you once again.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixtapa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. But the pool was very dirty and cloudy, it needs to be drained and refilled with proper chemicals. There was supposed to be 5 restaurants, but only one at a time were open. Too big of a gap between snack shack closing and dinner restaurant opening. Food was not very good. I upgraded to a full ocean view and was given partial view facing hotel next door. I moved to a new hotel due to the pool situation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Roxane Marie,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Management & Staff, we would like to express our most sincere apologies for the inconvenients that you had in your first and only day with us.
It is important to distinguish that we just had the tropical storm “Manuel” and the “Raymond” hurricane a few weeks ago. We had a very low occupancy, which forced us to keep a limited restaurants operation. About the pool, as we already mentioned it was raining, for that reason it had leaves of trees, our Maintenance Staff was working on this area. We are really sorry for that situation.
We want to inform you that we have a normal guest service in all the areas, our main goal is the guest satisfaction, we are doing the best. We thank you for sharing your feedback to us, and hope that you will come to visit us in the near future once again to exceed your expectations as all our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixtapa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This resort provided us with a great place to stay. We've been to Ixtapa many times prior to staying at the Sunscape we found our experience to be all positive. The food, drinks, room, staff and location brought all the good things of Ixtapa to the surface. The layout of the resort is absolutely charming with inventive ways to separate various activities. You can find a quiet place or a party. The choice is yours and always available. It is important that the room is, as much as possible, away from the street side to avoid community noise late into the night from a local night club. This resort made us feel welcome and comfortable in one of our favorite places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Terry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive review. We really appreciate it, it is very nice to read good comments as you have shared on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to count with your presence among our Guests, for this reason, we do our best effort to provide you a quality service and find everything at your complete satisfaction.

We would like for you to come back again.

Kindest Regards,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have just returned from our trip at Sunscape Dorado and it was fabulous! I can't say enough about the staff. From the moment we arrived we were well welcomed and our names remembered instantly! Fredy and Oscar were fabulous!

The hotel is clean, the price was great and I plan on bringing my 6 year old daughter back there next time.

Some other things I loved about it were the fact that many Mexican families vacation there, they had tons of daily activities and there kids club seemed fabulous!


I WILL return with my family and friends!

Room Tip: Some things I wish I would've known going: 1. Although there are 6 restaurants on the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Bonnie M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your review on TripAdvisor. We are very lucky and proud to have Fredy and Oscar in our team, they make a difference with their personalize service and honor Sunscape Ixtapa with their friendly attitude.

Definitely we will share your comments with Fredy and Oscar and recognize them for their great service.

We are looking forward to have you back at this your home away from home, Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Kindest Regards
Jesús García
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful beach town of Ixtapa on Mexico's popular Pacific coast, Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa is a mere 20 minutes from Ixtapa Zihuatanejo International Airport. The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.