We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa to your Saves list
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had a excellant experiance hot accomidation was very good but above all the employees of this hotel made the difference. They were all without exception curtious and verry frindly thank you for a wonderfull wrrk of fun and entertainment. Also please send me the link to ideo thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Patrick T,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor about your stay, we are more than happy to know that you really enjoyed you’re your stay with us.
We really appreciate your kind and honorable words, we would like to have to opportunity to host you again in this your home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Kindest Regards
Jesus García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    459
    158
    65
    45
See reviews for
423
450
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
University Place, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff at the hotel made this one of our best vacations ever! Ixtapa felt safe at all times. The security at the hotel was good but not intrusive. The food at the buffet was very good. The food at the specialty restaurants was outstanding and we never had to stand in a line. One waiter named Saul Zurita was absolutely the best. He went way above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of. The hotel was clean and comfortable. At dinner almost every night we watched the most beautiful sunsets from our table.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Leon B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments thru Trip Advisor about how was your experience with us.
Definitely your comments are very important for us, all the Sunscape Staff are more than glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay in this your home away your home.
We would like to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. We remain at your service and once again thank you for recognizing our good work.

Warmest Regards
Jesus García Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The service in general is amazing, but the entertaiment team is awsome congratulations for Ramiro and his entertaiment team for everything in general. Chencha(blanca),carlos,alberto e himer). The rooms were nice, the facilities were very clean. We would like to come back the next year. also special thanks to Rene the concierge he is very nice too. Once again thank you Sunscape!!!!

Room Tip: The ocean view 2114
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Rubén V,

Thank you so much for let us know thru Trip Advisor how was your experience in Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa, your comments are very important for us.
On behalf of all the Sunscape Staff we want to thank you so much for recognizing our good work. Ramiro, René and all the entertainment team appreciate your great words.
We would like to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Jesus García Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It was a really fun vacation. I had a great time and the service was great. I would defietly come to this hotel again if come to Ixtapa again. The employees were really good, especially Freddie and Brian. They were both really friendly and helpful with everything I needed. The price to stay in this hotel is very cheap. Lastly, I recommened that if you ever visit Ixtapa stay in this hotel. My family and I had a great time during this stay, and I would like to thank the employees for the great service.

Room Tip: Visit this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Samantha S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us thru Trip Advisor, your comments are very important for us.
We are more than happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us, your honorable words motivates us to be more professionals every day.
We sincerely hope to welcome you to Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to host you in this your home away your home.

Kindest Regards
Jesus García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ok this my first vacation to Ixtapa, México. I have been to other all inclusive Hotels in the past. The Sunscape hotel in ixtapa México accomodations were fine. The service that Ii received were excellent. The staff was more than helpful and accomodating the guest. I met some new friends and was pleasently surprised by their loyalty to guest. I recommend this hotel to anyone that wishes to visit Ixtapa México. The entertainment was the best. Blanca a staff member kept my family entertained during my 7 Day visit. She and her brother Carlos were very helpful with all guest at the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a ocean front room suite if posible. I was able to up grade upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello J B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor about your stay with us.
We are more than glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience.

Sincerely Jesus García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desoto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

After hotel finally finding our reservations after 15 minutes we got to our room we were just tired & wanted to get on w our vacation. The AC did not work well. After being outside you want somewhere cool to relax and to get a good night sleep. The bed was also hard. The pool area was crowded with kids around bar area. We did complain about the AC but there was no follow up. I should have said something but we also had to call for wash clothes & the water, I got tired of complaining. It's a very beautiful place to visit and loves parasailing and the beach but we've decided next time to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Upon our arrival, we were met with ice cold lemon-scented towels to wipe off the "travel dust". This was followed by glasses of rum punch. Check-in was quick and painless. We were upgraded to full ocean view without requesting. Rooms were lovely and the beds were a bit hard but I had read prior reviews so that did not come as a surprise. We did have a problem with the air conditioning in one of the rooms. The boys were immediately moved to another room and the staff had the ac running an hour before the allowed the boys to enter. The recreation staff, Blanca and Carlos were OUTSTANDING! I cannot say enough good things about them. They got everyone involved in all of the pool activities and were always willing to go the extra mile to make our stay fun. Gloria in the bar made the best Mai Tai's and the boys (both over age) enjoyed their time with her. Now for the glitches. #1 Not all of the restaurants were open nightly. On our last night, we wanted to eat either Sushi or Italian. Neither was opened which was a big disappointment. I did ask one of the hostesses if there was a schedule as far as openings were concerned (the Mexican restaurant was closed on the day we arrived and didn't open the entire week we were there; We were told no. There was however "Mexican Night" and we did get to eat authentic fare. All restaurants were outdoors except for the Italian restaurant which made dining uncomfortable with the heat, humidity and mosquitos. My 19 year old son who is bothered by the heat was miserable with the dining al fresco. He and his friend took advantage of room service. Another problem was the $30 bottle of sunscreen that we had to buy at the gift shop in the hotel as we had gone through 4 cans of spray. I found that totally unacceptable. We would however go back as we did enjoy our stay immensely and the positives definitely outweighed the negatives. We will just remember to pack a case of sunscreen/bug spray. Now that we know the restaurants are all outdoors, we will be better prepared (mentally) to deal with the heat. Food and drink was EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: All restaurants except for one are outdoors for those who are bother by the heat. Prices is the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful beach town of Ixtapa on Mexico's popular Pacific coast, Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa is a mere 20 minutes from Ixtapa Zihuatanejo International Airport. The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.