We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
TORONTO,CANADA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“B+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our second visit to Dorado.

POSITIVES:
weather fantastic as usual. 85 plus. no clouds
great beach
staff friendly and fast with food and drinks
pool large and warm with water slide for kids( and some adults)
room clean and comfortable
close to airport...2o minutes by cab
food way above average compared to most A1's we have visited

NEGATIVES:
"Towel game" is out of control
people saving spots by the pool as early as 4:30am
all loungers gone by 9am
non-smoking policy not being enforced as stated by hotel
cigar and cigarette smokers near pool
disco across the street is loud on thurs, fri, saturday. went till 4am one night.

final note:
I'd book again. great weather. great staff. clean hotel. good food. fun options for kids.
just be prepared to get up early if you want a nice spot near the pool or on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    361
    117
    56
    41
See reviews for
342
360
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After visiting this Resort for the past 15 years, I regret to say that the changes thru the years have not been a blessing. In the past this was a quieter, more adult, personal Resort. Since it went "all Inclusive" 2 1/2 years ago I miss the "good old days". Don't get me wrong, the staff, ammenities, & food were all ok. but not the "stand out 5 star" service of the past. The breakfast buffet with made to order crepes, eggs, & omelets, was great, but the rest of the buffets all kind of blended together buy mid week. I didn't know you could change chicken in a chafing dish so many ways by simply pouring a differant sause over it! The Italian Resturant was a definate standout with great fresh food & service. Had it not been for the many old friends we meet every year here, I'm not sure we would return. Sadly the list of friends has diminished with the changes over the past years. Our room requests, verified by phone, were not granted upon arrival so we had to pack & move after the 1rst day again. This seems to be an on-going arrangement.. 50/50 chance of making it 16 years!

Room Tip: advance requests seem to do no good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Barcelo (3 times) The Krystal, and Park Royal. The Dorado beats them all hands down!!! I LOVED the room service open 24 hrs a day. I used this many nights after coming back to the hotel late at night after out on the town. There was so much food around all the time and it was really good food. The breakfast buffet was never the same and soooo much of it. I ate at the Oceana atleast 3 times. The stuffed crepe appetizer and lobster bisque were to die for...The entire group loved this restaurant. The only restaurant that didn't have that great of food was the Italian but the atmosphere was wonderful. The room was fantastic and I was on the 12th floor so I was low and still had great views and never heard any noise. The activities staff was SUPER!!! tip these guys they work hard!!! Compared to the other hotels I stayed at not many locals came here on the weekend and wasn't over crowded. If they would get a bar/dance floor this place could really get hopping and be the perfect all inclusive. I felt bad for the activity group because karoke night was inside a conference room. Why not outside? They said it was management that made that call. Noone wanted to be stuck in a conference room...bad call!!! This is the hotel I will always go back to!!! Looking into next year already with family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from Ixtapa. Of course wonderful weather, wonderful beach, etc.

The hotel we stayed at was very, very good. No buffet, all al-a-cart with no reservations. They knew what they were doing when it came to the type of food cooking, only one I was disappointed with and that was the Mexican - go figure!

The check in was seamless, the room great and even when my friends found they did not have a refrigerator, they were moved immediately.

Staff were outstanding, very helpful, friendly and I especially liked the Coffee Bar with snacks and lattes etc. Nice to get this first thing in the morning - only made coffee in my room twice.

Bar liquor was top grade.

The only negative as usual is the getting a chair at the beach. They do need more chairs and palapas so you don't have to get up at 5:30 AM to secure one with your towel. I have always hated this. Would also have liked a small dancing area, but really, not a big deal.

I will certainly be coming back to this hotel. It lived up to all of our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there with a group of 12 people from 2/15-2/22. This was our 8th trip to an all-inclusive. The service was great. Food at the resturants were average. Do not expect to have buffet every night. Italian was the best. If you are looking for night entertainment, this is not the place for you, but you can go across the street for that. There are also markets across the street to deal with. The pool area is quiet, if you want a chair you have to get up at 3:00 am to put a towel on them or you won't get one. The entertainment staff during the day do a nice job around the pool, the music could be alittle louder. We did tip at the pool bar and it did not make a difference, they treat everyone the same.

Two people in our group upgraded their rooms, the only difference is they had two beds instead of one with a better ocean view, not worth the upgrade. The beds are VERY hard,wake up sore, that is the only complaint. Weekends the noise is loud from across the road till 4:00 am but if you drink enough you won't hear it. The staff was very nice and always ready to help. Overall I would recommend this place to anyone, value wise you diffently get what you pay for. We had a great time! This place has elevators which is kind of like a mystery ride, be patient you will get to your room or lobby eventually. The resort is small but the view is awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First time at the Dorado in Ixtapa. Everything went very smoothly when checking in, the front desk staff were helpful and there were a lot of staff available as there was a full bus of us arriving at the same time. We had two adjoining rooms booked. Each had 2 double beds. The beds had a little extra padding so they were comfortable enough. I had read other reviews saying the beds were very hard but this bed was not the hardest I've slept in before in Mexico so I was pleasantly surprized. The biggest complaint I had was the bar fridge. It was so old and I couldn't tell if it was on, the bevies were lukewarm. The rooms were kept clean. The food there was fantastic. There are about 5 specialty restaurants and you don't need a reservation. We had no concerns at all about the food. I could go on and on but I'd run out of room the food was that good. The restaurant staff were excellent also. They took good care of you. The pool was terrific. It was big and had two small waterslides which were a lot of fun. The pool was never crowded either (except at the swim up bar). The bartenders at the bars were fast and they never stopped running. The drinks were good and plenty. The hotel was noisy the way it's built with the lobby in the centre. The noise drifted up and after a while you craved a little peace and quiet. One problem we noticed were the elevators. We heard from other guests about the elevators breaking down constantly but luckily we didn't encounter any problems but we also took the stairs a lot. The fitness centre is small and best avoided in the morning but it had a little of everything to get in a workout. There were lots of chairs around the pool and on the beach but the hotel should have more umbrellas on the beach. The sun was relentless.

Room Tip: We were in 1517, full ocean view but west facing so you had the sun beating down into your room from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our 5th time at the hotel. We were there 2/9/13 - 2/16/13.

We had booked a king bed room, but when we checked in no king rooms were available, despite our confirmation to the contrary. We were given room 1408, which had 2 queen beds. Both were like sleeping on granite. Awful!! Rest of room was good (miniscule closet, though). The bathroom was nice, but they've GOT to lose the stupid metal toilet paper roll covers and put the dispenser in a more accessable place.

No smoking in any of the rooms, which is fine, but greatly disappointed that smoking isn't allowed on the balconies. Smoking is allowed anywhere outside the hotel, so it's ok to ask for an ashtray anywhere but inside the Windows restaurant (if you're seated outside, it's ok) and in Da Mario.

The restaurants are never all open at the same time, so don't be fooled by the claim that there are so many options at the hotel. Best one was Da Mario! There's a buffet each morning in Windows that has some fun offerings, and the omelette station is worth a try (or 5). Mimosas are a nice way to start the day. We tried Bluewater Grill only once and had horrible food. The fillet mignon was ordered medium but was bloody, the chicken breast was almost raw. Good thing we didn't have to pay for it because we left it all after two bites. Never got to eat at Oceana because it was never open when our schedule meshed with their hours. Da Mario was quite good. Try the risotto. Don't expect "incredible" from the restaurants, but it suffices.


Restaurants all have dress codes. Guys--bring at least one shirt that has sleeves because you need one at each restaurant except outdoors at Windows. You'll also need a pair of shoes that aren't flip-flops at Da Mario. Gals--bring a pair of sandals that aren't flip-flops and some capri pants or skirts because if you eat at Da Mario, you'll need them.

Theme nights border on cheesy but they do put a lot of effort into them. The only real annoyance with the daily themes is that many of them kick off by 8am inside the hotel, so if you plan to sleep in, good luck.

Entertainment staff, particularily Alberto, are fantastic. At the pool, Alejandro and Antonio are the best beverage servers ever! The daycare for kids seems to do a lot of business. Lots of happy kids the week we were there. The spa and fitness center were also hopping, especially early in the morning.

Bring a big insulated mug for the free-flowing booze and beer.

Get your pool chairs by 5am or you'll be out of luck.

This is still the best hotel on the beach for the price. The proximity to the village across the street is fantastic. Despite some disappointments now that it's all-inclusive, we'll still return next year.

Room Tip: The rooms with higher numbers (1420, as opposed to 1406) are on the quiter side of the hotel, away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful beach town of Ixtapa on Mexico's popular Pacific coast, Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa is a mere 20 minutes from Ixtapa Zihuatanejo International Airport. The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.