We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th year and great again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa to your Saves list
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Oroville Calif.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“10th year and great again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our trip was 11/24-12/01. Weather great,pool & beach outstanding. Food was just o.k.
had a wonderful rm. #2117 with full ocean view and no noise from the niteclubs across
the street. Hotel was loaded with people, which is normally not this busy at this time of year.
Definitly the best hotel on Ixtapa beach. This was our tenth year at the Dorado Pacifico
now the Sunscape.
sincerely Bill & Barbara

Room Tip: Rooms up to 17 on any floor have the best view. Higher numbers view is blocked by the condo next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    379
    127
    59
    41
See reviews for
368
372
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

+’s
ROOM
- best room we’ve EVER had out of half a dozen Mexican all-inclusives
- family suite, Full ocean view, 15th floor
- 2 beds(1 king), robes and slippers, bar fridge and coffee maker and 2 balconies
- white linens and walls, with turquoise accents, simple but colourful artwork
- had a few English channels and DVD player so bring movies if you have kids

BEACH LOCATION
- fantastic beach
- ~2.5 miles long, low slope, warm water, good waves
- down at the Barcelo end they’re dealing with beach erosion

FOOD
- buffet was pretty standard but they had a la carte restaurants for lunch & dinner
- Italian (Da Mario), Japanese (Gohan) and seafood (Oceana) were open on alternate nights, all very good
- no reservations or limits on use, though dress code of collared shirts for men etc

LOCATION TO BANKS, STORES, BARS
- right across the street is a mall with everything you need
- General’s Sports Bar (excellent, went twice) was behind Senor Frogs

EASE FOR LOCAL BUS TO ZIHUA, PLAYA LINDA ETC
- bus stops are just outside the resort
- we went to Barra de Potosi on a rainy day and managed to take 3 buses and then the back of a pickup truck to get there (got on wrong buses). Big adventure. Took a cab back – ha!

WINE
- Chilean wine is the house wine and both the Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc were very good
- far superior to all other resorts we’ve stayed at (where they use local wine maybe?)

-‘s or Quirks
TIMESHARE
- the timeshare people were right inside the hotel as they are selling the hotel itself
- pleasant but quite pushy for the first 3 days

CHECKOUT AT NOON / GETTING FOOD OR DRINK AFTER
- luckily another couple told us not to turn in our room cards without a note for late checkout
- otherwise we were cut off at noon for food and drink even though we weren’t leaving by cab until 230pm
- front desk manager was a bit snippy but I said we hadn't arrived until after 4pm the first day so he gave me late checkout
- strongly recommmend getting a late check out slip when you check in

WRISTBANDS, TOWELS
- no bands or towel cards

BAR OPENING TIME
- surprised the beach bars didn't open till 11am
- I’d wanted my first beer at about 9am the first day but adjusted :)

SPA
- too expensive
- they were offering 2, one hour hour massages for $134 US (this was half price?!)
- my husband and I went to beach massage hut and got 2, one hour massages for $30 CDN (300 pesos, then tipped another 100)
- both of us in one hut with door open to the beach, bathing suits on, good massages and GREAT value
- huts are located short ways down the beach to the right

SHOWER HOT WATER
- thought we didn’t have hot water in the shower until I tried setting it to cold, hot and cold were reversed!
- this may be the same for a lot of the rooms because I read other comments about no hot water

I'd definitely go back as we had a terrific time and the staff were really lovely. We also liked the fact that the resort was mostly filled with Mexican families; the rest of us came in on the Westjet flight. Everyone seemed happy to be there. Hope this helps, cheers!

ps We asked for a foamy as the bed was quite hard. They came with it immediately and it made a huge difference.

Room Tip: upgrade to a family suite with a full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here Nov 21 to 28, 2012. This was a great place overall. The staff was exceptional and went out of their way to accomodate us -- there were 8 of us so we were a bit difficult to arrange sometimes. We can't say enough about the bartenders and the waiters who looked after us so well - especially our beach waiters, Cesar and Rebecca. They made our trip so very enjoyable - even when they were serving 'agua' on the beach! The beach was great, very nice sand. Our rooms were plain but very clean and very well stocked. We found the breakfasts very, very good at Windows and liked the fact that we did not have to make reservations at the a la carte resteraunts. The Barefoot Grill was really quick and handy to the beach for lunch or snacks - they also had popcorn!! We have never felt so welcome -- not just in the hotel but everywhere we went in the area. There are many resteraunts within several blocks of the hotel that are very good as well. All in all we would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. (The beds were a little hard but we found out later that you can request foamies to put on top of the mattress.) Margarita at the spa does a great deep tissue massage.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room for sure. We were on the 21st floor but usually the elevators were very f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This has been the best, value for money, all-inclusive hotel that we have stayed at in Mexico. Everything was top notch – food, drinks, staff, kids club. And we didn't have to wear wristbands.

The food was fabulous, though I would not recommend the buffet at the dinner show, go to one of the restaurants instead. The italian restaurant (DeMario) was exceptional and so was Oceana. Bluewater Grill was also very good. We never ate at the mexican (Tamarindo) or Japanese/Sushi (Gohan), so I have no comment on those two. You don't need to make reservations at the restaurants and we never had to wait for a table. With that being said, it was very quiet the time of year we went. And there was usually only 2 restaurants open each night for that reason.

We brought our 10 year old and he had such a good time. The staff in the Explorer's Club kept him well entertained and had activities planned all day long. They were open from 9:30 a.m. - 9:45 p.m. (closed for 1 hour around dinner). They provided food when the kids were hungry and dinner during the evening activities, which was usually a movie and video games (Wii; Xbox; Play Station). Room service is also included, if you prefer to monitor what your children eat. We were lucky enough to have our son participate in the baby turtle release. They have the baby turtles in a caged area on the beach and when they are ready to be released the children staying at the hotel get to release them in the ocean in a very organized and protective way.

We never had a problem getting a lounge chair by the pool or at the beach. Though it gets busier with locals on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, but come Sunday we had the resort to ourselves again. There are two pool slides, which was great fun.

There are two tennis courts. Can be reserved at the Entertainment Desk by the pool. They also provide balls and tennis rackets. They also have volleyballs available for beach volleyball.

A schedule is put under your door every night with the activities for the next day; drink of the day; and the specials offered at the spa.

Our room was very nice. We got the family suite and it was very spacious – perfect if you have kids. We had beautiful ocean views from both patios. Though the beds were hard, as in most hotels in Mexico. The bar is stocked everyday. And make sure to keep your drapes pulled in the afternoon or your room will get extremely hot and it will take a long time for the a/c to cool it down. When we checked in I wished they would have had the a/c running prior to us getting to the room, as it took about 10 hours to cool the room down.

I can not say enough good things about the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel. Would highly recommend it. And if you want a nice, relaxing, quiet vacation, go in October.

Room Tip: Family suites are worth the extra money for families. They are more spacious and you have two balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed Nov 7 to 17/12. Have stayed in dozens of all-inclusive Resorts before including 8 different Sandals Resorts and we found the Sunscape Dorado to be as good or better than most. Biggest asset is the staff (extremely friendly and happy) much like GM Jesus Garcia.
5 a la carte restaurants, all have excellent menus and great tasty food (no reservations required) the buffett has a great selection of fresh, tasty food. Premium quality liquors and wines (Chilean Wines). Resort property and beach were CLEAN, CLEAN. Located on very quiet bay with huge beach, across the street from Ixtapa business district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the sunscape from Nov.7 to Nov.21.We have never been treated so well at the resort.The few little problems we had, were dealt with immediatly.We can not say enough about Rene,Jorge,Antonio,Virginia,Alberto,Horadio,and so many others,that we had daily dealings with.We stayed in the family suite for our second week and it was excellant,with ocean views from both balconies(room 1615).The restaurants and the bars were great and the restaurants alternated every day on who was open.We found the air movement in the hotel and the humidity was a little uncomfortable,but the room stayed cool.The only thing that we think needs a look at is dividing the pool area (using the bridge as the divider) as adults only at the swim up bar area.We found the swim up bar and stairs to the pool is filled often with kids, which does not allow access to the pool or bar.The staff of this resort make the resort a wonderful place.Thanks all at Sunscape!

Room Tip: The rooms in the family suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Ixtapa beach is equal to the best I've seen. The hotel is right in the middle, stroll either direction for a km or more, no worries. Adjacent and right across the street are banks, and the town centre merchants, explore with ease. Make sure to say Hola to "Serafina" at the Baracuda Bar after 19:00 or Raymondo in the afternoon. Several restaurants with a wide variety of tastes. Large, well maintained pool with daily activities. When I was there the Mexican visitors far outnumbered the out of country tourists. You know your in a good place when the local countrymen holiday there! Numerous tours, Ocean Fishing, Seadoos, ParaSailing etc, all available. Had a great week, they had to force me through the airport and onto the plane home. I'm 62.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful beach town of Ixtapa on Mexico's popular Pacific coast, Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa is a mere 20 minutes from Ixtapa Zihuatanejo International Airport. The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.