We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Had a great time!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is my first all-inclusive so I won't be comparing this place to a bunch of others like some people do. The best part of this resort is the incredible staff. They are extremely friendly and helpful and make your stay easy and enjoyable. The bar staff was amazing and if you didn't like one of the drinks, they would make it the way you like it. The Tequilini Azul was fantastic!!

The food was hit or miss for us. Portions are small, which was fine, except for at dinner. We were looking for a little bit more. Service at the restaurants was also hit or miss. Seemed we would never get everything we ordered or it would come out randomly. The breakfast buffet had a good variety so you should be able to find something you like. Lunch and dinner at the Bluewater Grill were always good. The Da Mario Italian restaurant had very good food, but be sure to order an appetizer, soup and a salad before your main course because the portions are small. I ordered ravioli for dinner and only got 3 small pieces. Way too small of a serving for dinner. Gohan was probably our favorite for dinner. It is billed as a sushi restaurant, but that depends on your definition of sushi. Technically it is just an Asian restaurant with some maki rolls, but it was all very tasty.

The pool area was very nice. Get down there by 7:00 to reserve a prime spot along the beach. If you put your towels or belongings on a chair and leave, they will not be moved. Our stuff was never touched the entire week we were there. It was nice meeting people during the week so you could also watch out for each other. The beach is nice, but not really for swimming as the waves break not too far out and you get battered a little if you aren't paying attention. We walked the beach every morning and were fortunate enough to see sea turtles hatching from the sand!! There is also a baby turtle release most evenings for the kids which was pretty neat to see.

The hotel itself was pretty average. There are no pictures on the walls anywhere except in the lobby area. Definitely need some art work or decoration or even fake plants. Just something to liven the place up a bit. The room was nice and clean and plenty big for the two of us. The air conditioning is not the best, but it was enough of a relief. The elevators were a little sketchy. Use the two across from the recepting desk. They are better than the other two.

Overall we had a really good time here and will probably go back some day. If you are looking for something simple, a good deal and friendly people this is a great place. The weather, pool, bars and staff are reason enough for us to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    362
    117
    56
    41
See reviews for
343
360
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband have been traveling to Mexico for over 25 years and have not had a bad experience until we had the misfortune to book our vacation at the Sunscape. Reading the reviews we did see bad ones but we also saw good ones when we booked our stay the hotel had a rating of 4, so thought the bad reviews were distorted. We stayed at the Sunscape in April of 2012 . I would not be exaggerating to say it was the worst place we have ever in our 34 years of travel . Yes I would agree most of the hotel staff works very hard but that is because the hotel is very understaffed. When we booked our week vacation we upgraded to a suite. What joke the room was anything but suite but then again when you are held hostage in your room do to the hotel being so overcrowded that you are unable to use the beach or pool. The pool was so filthy we were afraid to go in it. We arrived on a Saturday the front of the hotel was so packed with cars our transfer from the airport had to let us out on the sidewalk we had walk up to the hotel with our luggage as the driver could could not drive to the entrance. We had read the hotel sells passes to the locals we thought this would be a temporary situation. The situation never got better, if you did get chair by the pool if you left for more than 20min. Security took your stuff off the chair and you lost you spot. This happen every time we went to get lunch. Only one ice machine for 8 floors was in working order. We went to lobby one morning to see people actually sleeping on the couches we then started to count people coming out rooms in one instant we counted 9 adults in one room, this was not an isolated situation. After 4 days of pure hell we left the hotel and booked room at a diff end hotel. This was only way to at least have 3 days of enjoyment.after continuing to follow reviews of the hotel I truly believe the Sunscape is writing or hiring people to write the favorable ones. Our best advice is stay away from this place. We booked our stay thru Apple vacations we have used them many times in the past no issues but Apple owns this hotel and was no help in trying to resolve the issues at this hotel. The only response we received after our return home was request to document our experience and they would get back to us it has been over 6 months no reponce other than we have received your complaint and will back to you soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent a week at sunscape dorado in october, sorry it took so long to write this review, just want to thank every employee, for making our trip wonderful. Renne for finding me a dentist after my tooth broke, andriane at the spa for a wondrful manicure,Raul at the front desk for a better room. Bryan for teaching how to take a cab, and happy to do so. Tracy just the wonderful welcoming person she is, also Juan at UVC . Virginia who works everywhere it seems. And less not forget the absolute great bartenders and waiters Renauldo,Jorge,Serafin, and a whole lot more just dont remember the names, maybe theres a reason for that. Drinks and food are plentiful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The housekeeping was spectacular, all in all the trip was wonderful. Even though we were there for 1 week the first day you feel comfortable. If you get a chance stop by the General across the street for a drink all sports bar and free calls home, also if you go to Zihuat stop by Banditos and see Jesus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I just returned from a last minute trip to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico with my Wife and 2 kids (ages 3 and 8).
I had not reviewed the property and never stayed here but the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. There were smiles and bienvenidos every where we went.
The Staff is what makes this Resort Exceptional. Tracy sat us down and explained the Layout of the Resort to as well as the many options for Dining and Entertainment. She was great at answering our questions and listening to my Children's wild stories about the Dolphins and Turtles. Rene, the Concierge was an amazing source of knowledge about the surrounding area and unique activities.
We opted for the Family Ocean Front Suite and we liked it very much. The view was fantastic and we were high enough (20th floor) to miss much of the noise.
The entire staff at the Kids Club was Amazing and we knew our kids were in good hands each time. Our Children loved the Kids Club and would always ask to return there every day.
We don't usually frequent All Inclusive Resorts mainly because the food and drink options are limited. The food and service here are surprisingly exceptional. Julio and Armando did an excellent job serving in every Restaurant they were placed and always greeted us with a smile. The Chefs did a wonderful Job with the Menu for Adults but the Kids could use an extra Item or two added to theirs. We tried every Restaurant in the week we were there and were never disappointing.
We all tried the Spa and the Service was great. The Hydrotherapy was a little disappointing because the sauna and Hot Tub were not turned on prior to arrival and were pretty cold.
The Beach was great but at times was encroached upon by the whistle blowing para sailing and Jet Ski Vendors trying to get your attention.
Delfini Dolphin show was a highlight for our Family and well worth the expense. My son thinks the Trainer Oscar is as entertaining as the Birds and Dolphins.
The Management at Sunscape Pacifico Dorado has created a fabulous resort by surrounded himself with an Amazing Staff. My one suggestion to him would be to give people the option to leave Tips at Checkout and distribute the money monthly to the staff. This would enable everyone behind the scenes to be rewarded for their service.
Great Vacation and we look forward to our return next year.

Room Tip: Higher Floors for Families with Kids or early risers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I am a travel agent and I had the opportunity to stay at Sunscape Oct 9 -11, 2012. WOW! After visiting other properties in the area, I have to say that this resort HAS everything! When we first checked in I was pleasantly surprised by NO wristbands! I was reminded that there are no reservations necessary for for the restaurants and every guest has unlimited a la carte dining at ALL of the restaurants. YOU WILL NOT find this at any other property in the area.

The food at every restaurant I ate was great and the service was perfect. The staff went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect for everyone in our party.

My room was on the 19th floor and the view was amazing! The room was very clean and spacious! The air conditioning could be a little cooler, but definitely NOT a deal breaker. The bathroom was clean and shower was large :) The bed was comfortable and the bedding was nice.

The beach and the location of the Sunscape cannot be beat. The beach is very large and extremely clean. It was great walking up and down the bay (which takes about 1.25 hours). We even got to release baby turtles during our stay at the resort.

The staff - A HUGE GRACIAS to the entire entertainment staff! If you are looking for fun and entertainment, be sure to participate during the day at the pool and beach and even at night. Jesus, Juan, Cowboy and everyone else on the team will make sure that you are having a blast! However, if you choose not to participate, there are plenty of quiet areas too.

The bartenders will make awesome drinks and serve them with a smile, EVERYTIME! I requested champagne at the lobby bar and even though they didn't have it, the bartender made sure to find a bottle for me :). Same thing happened at the coffee bar, there wasn't any bottled water left and the sweet staff member made sure I had a bottle of water before I left.

The kids club staff was very attentive and the kids at the kids club looked as though they were having a blast. The spa was quaint, but very clean and nice. I didn't use the gym, and although it was smaller than I am used to, I believe it would be adequate.

From the bellmen that greeted us to the GM at the property, everyone was fantastic. I cannot say enough about this place and the staff who are working there. It was a pleasure meeting all of you!

Before I forget, the resort is located across from all of the action of down town Ixtapa, yet a few blocks away from a great walking and biking path in the area. Take the bus to Zihuatanejo, you will NOT be disappointed. What a great little town.

Finally, I felt totally safe and would recommend this destination to couples, families, groups and singles. THANK YOU so much Sunscape and all the staff that made my stay memorable! I promise I will be back at some point!!!! And to all the guests on their way to this property, have an great trip! -Ketti :)

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean. :) The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have been going to the Ixtapa area for 20 years and have stayed at this hotel on three different occations.
March of 2012 was the last time we stayed for one week only to notice when we got home and received our credit card bill that $100.00 was charged as a cash advance at the front desk the day we arrived, this is a practise that will not show up on your bill when you go to check out.
Reported it to Visa and so far have been refunded $79.00 investigation continues, so watch your credit card bills while staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were married on Sept 29, 2012 on the beach at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico. As savvy travelers we have had many hotel experiences. Without exception we can confidently recommend this hotel. What TRUELY defines a guest experience however is the quality of people. Each and every request was met with a smile. Specifically thanks to you for making our wedding and honeymoon a happy experience: Maleni, Juan, Ricardo, Jesus, Rene, Simon (Pool Bartender)...
It was OUR pleasure! -Laura & Kenneth Wolfe

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view with 2 balconies for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful beach town of Ixtapa on Mexico's popular Pacific coast, Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa is a mere 20 minutes from Ixtapa Zihuatanejo International Airport. The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.