We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fontan Ixtapa to your Saves list
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Winnipeg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Fontan January 21 for 2 weeks and overall it was very good for the price that we paid. Most people that feel negative about the resort are forgetting that it's a Mexican resort and therefore there will be Mexicans and Mexican food. For an all inclusive the food was quite good, better than we expected. The quality of the alcohol was not good at all though but what can you expect for the price? There was only one lobby area and the bar was not open till 5p there and it was not too big so that was a drawback is that there was no other places to hang out in the evening if you were not wanting to go off the resort. The service at the hotel was very good, the staff are awesome.

The hotel is on a great spot on the beach and the beach is gourgeous. Nice silky brown sand and nice waves to watch. During the week the hotel was fairly quiet with non Mexican tourists and then on the weekend it was quite busy with the Mexican tourist and the hotel hope to sell some vacation time shares to them, We never once were approached by the salesman at the hotel so that was great. In town you were asked but not aggresive like other areas of Mexico.

The weather is awesome there, we are used to going to Huatulco as we love the weather and Ixtapa weather is very similar.

We booked a fishing trip off Gustavo on the beach and caught 4 black tuna and 4 mackeral, it was a good day.

There are many shops, restaurants and bars behind the resort zone ( the beach has only a few hotels and lovely condo building on it), beer is very reasonable ranging from $1 and up but the hard alcohol is expenive - $7-8 a shot! There's a couple access points to the beach and no bars and restaurants on it therefore mainly condo/hotel residants on the beach so that is nice too. We do like to go to bars on the beach and you would have to go to Zihuatinao for that. There are a lot of cabs and a lot of buses that go in so would be easy to get to. We were too relaxed for that!

If you do not want to be in a hotel with a lot of Mexican tourists then this hotel is not for you. One week at the hotel would be fine and 2 weeks if you plan to go off and out and about. If you plan to park yourself than 2 weeks would be long re the lack of places to hang out and the quality of the booze.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    95
    93
    44
    50
See reviews for
98
80
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I've been reading all of travelers reviews on this hotel. We knew going in it wasn't a high end hotel. What was pleasantly surprising was how well maintained it was and very very clean. The beds are very hard and smaller than what we are used to. The food was average and we would have appreciated more variety in fruit. I think what makes this place though; is the staff. Everyone was so friendly and said hello to you from the maids to the front desk staff. If you want frills this is not the place to be; but, if your looking to meet great people and be treated well; this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at the Fontan over Christmas and New Years. Room was ok as far as space went but the mattress was filthy as was the blanket and spread. Our room was near the pool area and it was impossible to sleep at night because they clean the pool decks and drag the chairs around for hours.

The food was awful. Just awful. There were three decent meals in two weeks - Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and New Years Eve. We paid extra to take additional dinners in the Hacienda Restaurant and we ate out, something we have never felt we had to do in 30 past all inclusive vacations.

This resort is so overcrowded it is impossible to find a space of your own. We never did get to sit on a beach chair. There are so many people that you actually feel uncomfortable.

I cannot understand why Air Canada Vacations carries this resort. It is not up to their standards. Not even close. Lower end resort?? I would say, bottom of the barrel. We will never return. I can't even give it 1 stars. Does -3 count?

Pick any resort but this one.

Room Tip: Pick another resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Got back yest. from the Fontan. We paid $300. plus taxes for the week, AI. It's not worth anymore money than that. It is clean and well kept, the trees and plants etc are very nice and lush. Hotel is older and dated and needs some work, but it's not a dump at all. Just lower end. Staff are all nice and try hard to give you what you need.

Room - clean, tidy, nice bathroom, decent shower. Some repairs needed to the walls but nothing serious. Beds rock hard as are pillows, tho the maid will get you soft pillows if you ask. Great towel art every day! Tip the maid, they make so little money and work hard for what they get. Get a room with a balcony and ocean view.

Food - well, the palapa restaurant by the pool is the best, the garlic shrimp is awesome, I had it several times. Buffet is repetitive but there's plenty to eat. Tea is never hot. Servers are very nice and very efficient. Booze is watered down everywhere.

Pool - there's 4. Clean, inviting. Beach is nice, beautiful view, I'm not into swimming or going in the ocean, but many did, and had fun.

Ixtapa - a manufactured tourist trap. Long string of hotels, stores directly across from Fontan, many restaurants too. Vendor market to the south, the usual stuff for sale. Too many people pestering you to buy excursions, timeshares, junk...dont get sucked into pricey tours, go on the bus for 9 pesos. Go down to Zihua and go to the beach, it's lovely. Have a meal there, it's very relaxing, wander along the malecon. Visit the stores in the town, it's real Mexico.

Take the bus north to Playa Linda, see the crocs, pay the $3. for the boat to Ixtapa Island, again dont get sucked into the pricey tour to get there, the bus stops right there, it's the end of the line. Go to Zihua and get the bus to Playa la Ropa beach.

Ixtapa looks like Florida to me, it's not the real Mexico. It was nice, it was cheap, it was away from winter in Ontario. But I've been to better and wont be back to the Fontan, or Ixtapa for that matter.

The Fontan was at 30% capacity on Tues. when we got there. The Mexicans with a ton of kids showed up Thurs. nite as they can stay for almost free for the weekend as it's pimped as a timeshare for them. So it gets up to about 90% full for the weekend, then Sun. they go home and it's quiet again. They dont talk or interact with us tourists much, if at all.

Room Tip: Get ocean view and a balcony, get soft pillows if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Fontan in Ixtapa for 7 nights in January 2012. I would rate the hotel as a 2 star. We opted for the AI option....and definitely got our moneys worth. The rooms were average with beds a bit harder than we like. The food was average to a bit above average. The only downfall was that they only had one bar open at a time and the lines would get a little long on the weekends when the occupancy rate at the hotel doubles.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just returned from a week tonight and needed to write my review.
This hotel is most definately a 2 star!! I have been travelling since 1977 and have been to many 3, 4 and 5 star resorts and this is NOT a 3 star.

First the good ----- The staff is amazing, they can't seem to do enough for you. If something goes wrong it is fixed within 5 minutes. Give them a little tip and your drinks will never be empty and will be served to you on the beach!!
The hotel is extremely clean and the beds fairly comfortable. The location to the markets and the little town is literally accross the street and that was awesome!

The food was average and what you would expect from a 3 star hotel, but if part of your Mexico experience is the fresh fruit - you won't get any here - just water melon. We were always able to find something decent to eat so not really an issue. However -- this hotel will not even provide you with one bottle of water - you are on your own!!

Now the problems ........ OMG this hotel seems to be falling apart!! You can hardly find a beach chair which isn't broken, even the Beach umbrellas are about to collapse - every one was broken. Pool tiles broken, room tiles broken,
ceilings about to cave in from the water damage above in your bathroom. The wiring is so bad that you have to turn off the lights and airconditioning to use the blow dryer otherwise you the fuse popped.

There was very little activities at the pool or beach --- one water aerobics class in the morning at the pool and one beach volleyball game in the afternoon at the beach. No bingo, no spanish lessons, no dancing lessons, no games. No free boogie boards or kayaks, no free snorkel equipment ---- NOTHING!!

Evenings at the resort don't exist!! They might have 2 decent shows during the week, but if you don't speak spanish, you won't understand any of it because it is 100% catered to the local people. The rest of the nightly entertainment is kareoke --- and that singing is so terrible you find you have to leave. Once 11 pm comes --- that is it --- you can't get a drink or a snack or anything --- and there are no fridges in the rooms, so you can't even have a nice cold beer on your patio.

It is very true what some of the other reviews have written...... DO NOT GO during a busy Christmas, reading week or easter holiday ---- becasue the rooms will be sold out and the small facility can't handle that many people comfortably!
Also --- on Friday night and Saturday mornings ----- here come the locals by the bus load for their free weekend in hopes they will buy a time share.

For a little more money, there are so many better choices!!! Next time I will try the Emporio, Barcelo or Tessoro!!


Air Canada has no business telling their clients this is a good 3 star hotel --- it is CRAP - shame on them!!

Room Tip: Insist on an ocean view room - this will help you get over things about your room, also the odd roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our family of four stayed at the Hotel Fontan from Dec. 25-Jan 1 2012. This was our first trip to stay in Ixtapa and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The weather was perfect and the ocean and beach were beautiful. The waves were perfect for boogie boarding, which our family enjoys.

Hotel: The hotel was older and smaller than most in the area and located in a great location. The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained by its friendly staff. The rooms were adequate and the beds were relatively comfortable. Although the rooms did not have safety deposit boxes, you could get one for free at the front desk. We chose this hotel based on the price. Christmas holidays are a very busy time and the prices are inflated. We saved approximately $2000 for our family by staying here than staying at the Barcelo next door.

Food: The food at the buffet was below average. We had breakfast there, but then for lunch we would eat at the Miramar restaurant located onsite by the beach which was a la carte and included in your trip price. Their lunches were good and much better than the buffet or hamburgers and hot dogs being served by the pool. Also included in our trip price was to have one dinner at the Hacienda restaurant on site which we also thought was decent. For our other dinners, we chose to eat out with all the money we saved by staying here. There are many great restaurants in this area and in Zihuatanejo. If you enjoy nightlife at the hotel and being able to drink 24 hours a day, this place is not for you. The bars do not open till 11:00 am and are closed at 11:00 pm. There is no disco and the shows offered are all in Spanish and were okay.

Other: The New Year's Eve gala night was spectacular! The tables were all set up poolside and the entertainment and food was fabulous. They had fireworks along with all the other hotels in the area. We had a great time ringing in the New Year on the beach watching the firework show.

Summary: We enjoyed our week in Ixtapa. The Hotel Fontan is a clean hotel that is reasonably priced. Plan to go out for most of your meals and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fontan Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontan Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 472
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fontan Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Fontan Ixtapa
Fontan Ixtapa Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.