We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Solid Clean Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fontan Ixtapa to your Saves list
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Solid Clean Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our family of four stayed at the Hotel Fontan from Dec. 25-Jan 1 2012. This was our first trip to stay in Ixtapa and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The weather was perfect and the ocean and beach were beautiful. The waves were perfect for boogie boarding, which our family enjoys.

Hotel: The hotel was older and smaller than most in the area and located in a great location. The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained by its friendly staff. The rooms were adequate and the beds were relatively comfortable. Although the rooms did not have safety deposit boxes, you could get one for free at the front desk. We chose this hotel based on the price. Christmas holidays are a very busy time and the prices are inflated. We saved approximately $2000 for our family by staying here than staying at the Barcelo next door.

Food: The food at the buffet was below average. We had breakfast there, but then for lunch we would eat at the Miramar restaurant located onsite by the beach which was a la carte and included in your trip price. Their lunches were good and much better than the buffet or hamburgers and hot dogs being served by the pool. Also included in our trip price was to have one dinner at the Hacienda restaurant on site which we also thought was decent. For our other dinners, we chose to eat out with all the money we saved by staying here. There are many great restaurants in this area and in Zihuatanejo. If you enjoy nightlife at the hotel and being able to drink 24 hours a day, this place is not for you. The bars do not open till 11:00 am and are closed at 11:00 pm. There is no disco and the shows offered are all in Spanish and were okay.

Other: The New Year's Eve gala night was spectacular! The tables were all set up poolside and the entertainment and food was fabulous. They had fireworks along with all the other hotels in the area. We had a great time ringing in the New Year on the beach watching the firework show.

Summary: We enjoyed our week in Ixtapa. The Hotel Fontan is a clean hotel that is reasonably priced. Plan to go out for most of your meals and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    117
    109
    53
    60
See reviews for
129
101
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We recently visited Ixtapa. It was a beautiful place, but the Hotel Fontan....where does one start? We have been to many all inclusive resorts, but this one does not even rank. The beds were very small, there idea of a double/queen is like a big twin in Canada, the food was tasteless and not much variety. There was hardly any english spoken, mostly Spanish and there were alot of Canadians there between Christmas & New Years. We found out New Years Eve day that this property is actually a timeshare for the Mexicans, so they pretty much took over the second week that we were there, which was very unfortunate. There is a pool for the kids, but apparently the Mexicans don't have to adhere to those rules, kids were in every pool there was at the resort! Beach chairs unless you were up at 6AM to put your towel on a chair, you didn't get one! Some of the staff were very nice & helpful, but most didn't care and could hardly understand you when you tried to ask for things. Also the rep for Air Canada that was at this Hotel......couldn't speak english, spanish or any language very well for that matter. Unfortunately we will not stay at the Hotel Fontan again, but we will return to Ixtapa; it was a beautiful place & we met alot of really nice people!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

where to start ? i have been to many all inclusive resorts over the years and this was a hard one to like. ixtapa is amazing and you should go there but not so sure about the fontan.
first off i want to say the positive about this property because there is a wonderfull hard working staff there and they all were kind courteous and extremely helpfull. i enjoyed the food for the most part a little short on variety and a def no go if you are a vegan and for that matter slim pickins if you are a vegetarian....you can go to the beach side restaurant every day at lunch and order off the menu which is included in your package...there you can get quacamole , garlic shrimp and more good food daily.the one time visit to the hacienda was great as well we enjoyed the coconut shrimp. our room was clean and the king size matress was fine some of the other rooms i looked into were pretty rough tho so ask for a king room and you will be in the newer better section.
so what is the problem you say?
this hotel is grossly overbooked!!! all the time there was never a relaxing moment and you cannot escape the mayhmem! the fontan is now geared to be sold as a time share to local mexican familys and they arrive daily in busloads to spend the 2 virtually free days to see the hotel and go thru the sales process and in the meantime they can bring as many kids as they can stuff into a room!! hence your vacation will feel like you are in a mexican water park with150 screaming kids in the pool most days!!
we booked ourselves into the posada real for a day and had a much better experience and we also booked ourselves into the emporio for a day and were blown away by the place for very little more you can go to either of these places and have an enjoyable relaxing stay
that being said if you like the waterpark atmosphere the fontan will not dissapoint also when the hotel is rockin be prepared to line up for everything

Room Tip: ask for a room with a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Trip Advisor is our Travel Bible. We never book a trip without reading other peoples’ opinions. We chose the Fontan based on many good reviews, unfortunately, I believe that this time we were sadly misled.

My wife and I are well travelled. We have had twenty nine all-inclusive trips, seventeen of which have been in Mexico. I have never written a derogatory review about any one of them. I have never complained about food or lodging, until now.

We have stayed both low season, and high season at resorts ranging from 3 stars to 5. We are no strangers to three stars, but I feel hard pressed to warrant the Fontan anywhere near that status. I feel compelled to pass on our personal experience at the Fontan in order to save others the disappointment that we have just experienced.

We booked two weeks spanning Christmas and New Years. This is considered "high" season, when the prices go up, and the food is supposed to be great, and everything is wonderful. Air Canada Vacations should dump this hotel. We have booked close to twenty trips with them, and this one’s a sore spot. It is way overpriced for what we received. We spent really good money to be there, and we feel like we were totally ripped off. This is the first trip ever that we both wished we could just go home. That's pretty sad.

Before I get into the complaint department, let me first say that the staff at the Fontan are absolutely wonderful. None of the following has anything to do with them. The administration, however, should take some serious notes.

Firstly, the hotel was grossly overbooked. This was confirmed by our Mexican Air Canada Rep after we arrived. An overpopulated resort is not fair to anyone staying there. It was like an anthill. There was NOWHERE on the small property to take a quiet breath and be alone. It was a constant gauntlet to reach food services and bar areas, just to stand in line. We were always moving out of the way of other people, and stepping over kids. I got run into, elbowed, and soaked walking by the pool area....all totally wrong!

We initially asked for a quiet room, and were given one by the pool. We had no privacy on our second floor balcony during the day, and could not sleep at night with all of the people and cleaning noises. We had two almost good sleeps in the first week. We like to sleep with the balcony door open, but that was impossible. Even with the door closed, sleep was fitful at best. The sheets didn't fit the makeshift bed, and the mattress was so scuzzy you didn't want to wake up with your face on it. The bedding spent the night on the floor, with the exception of the sheet.

After some major cajoling, we were able to secure lodging in a quieter area for the second week. We were finally sleeping, but the bedlam outside prevailed. The resort was so overbooked that the sidewalks leading from the lobby to the main street were filled with parked cars, making them impassable. When we left the resort, our shuttle bus was unable to enter the grounds because of the congestion, and we had to haul our luggage out to the street to board.

Contrary to some reviews we read, there are NO in-room safes. You may leave your money and passports at the front desk, but nothing of any size. That is frustrating, worrisome, and inconvenient.
There is no min-fridge, stocked or otherwise. You are given two bottles of water on your day of arrival, and anything else must be purchased, either off resort, or even bottled water at the bars had a charge. If you wish to keep chilled beverages in your room, you must buy a cooler. You will be given about two cups of ice for the cooler if you ask, or you're on your own for that as well.

Another major bone of contention was the inedible fare in the buffet. Instead of saying "Let's Go Eat", it became, "Let's get it over with."

I have read people complaining about food at resorts before. They say, "Well, at least breakfast was good." Not so here. Sure, you could get an omelette, if you wanted to stand in line, or help yourself to such savoury dishes such as pig skin, or how about cow stomach? I am not making this up. All food was on the major cheap. The only fruit available at breakfast was papaya, and brutal watermelon. I think I saw bananas twice in two weeks, pineapple once, and the only citrus was in a couple of salads. The juice was Tang! Forget about bacon and sausages, think more along the lines of wieners and Spam. (True)

It was only the second week that I started seeing fresh cucumbers and tomatoes. Lunch became soup and salad. Everything else gave me toilet issues. Breakfast was down to yogurt and Tang at the end. Suppers were off-site, a trick we learned from so many other guests with similar gastronomical issues.

The wieners at breakfast are a fact. It's also fact that wieners were served THREE MEALS A DAY! You could always get a wiener. The menu varied little. Same old, same old. This is the first place we've stayed that didn't have a weekly menu that was different every day that repeats every week. There are theme nights, i.e. International, Italian, Mexican, Traditional, etc. The Fontan varied only in what creative ways they could reuse the food that was served the day before. It was disgusting, and believe me, aside from seafood, I am not a picky eater. As long as I'm full, I'm happy, but I couldn't even do that. There were no little extras like sliced cheeses, olives, or fruit. Hot dogs and pizza are not my choice of evening entrees.
Even the napkins were like Kleenex...everything was cut rate. The dining room furniture was plastic patio furniture with rocky tables. The trip was not cheap, but everything about this place was!

We had a discussion with the local Air Canada Vacation Rep about our concerns. She got upset with my wife because as she said, “Other people like this place. What’s wrong with you?” Wrong! We talked to several other Canadian couples who were not in the least bit pleased with the resort, and where does an Air Canada Rep get off bad mouthing a customer?

Make your own choices, but we would never go back.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

As our first trip to Mexico,Do not ever experience it at the Fonton! It is the most filthy mold and mildew so called resort I have ever seen! The staff is rude and not helpful at all! You have to pay for a safe that is kept at the front desk. Our mattress and boxspring were so covered in mildew everything stunk so bad, there was mildew on the ceiling everywhere in the bathroom not to mention the hot water faucet on the sink was missing! Do Not waste your hard earned money! We stayed there 1 night and went a few resorts up the road to the Presidente! It was $665.00 extra but they had us in a rock and a hard place so we had to pay it!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money! I wish I had the photos to download to prove to you all to not take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

From all the Canadian tourists we met at Fontan, NOT ONE was satisfied with this hotel. So we don't understand reviews stating "We didn't want to leave" or "Now looking to book again". This hotel gives Mexico a bad name.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEAFORD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is not the worlds most luixurious hotel. However it is across the road from downtown. It is also on probably one of the best beaches in mexico. Very rarely do you get both of these. Also it is usually priced close in relation to say a cheaper Cuban holiday, only the food at the Fontan is very good. Especially when you realize that you can have a great ala-carte meal at lunch on the beach.The rooms are dated and big. You are only going to sleep there, so the most important thing is the bed. The beds here are great for the back, fairly firm. Like any smart traveller take the comforter off and never use it ! Only common sense wherever you go. Most have an ocean view or partial and try to request a balcony, they don't all have them and they are a lot nicer. Overall we have been here a couple of times and we are seasoned travellers. You will get great value for your money, Like any hotel in Mexico tip the staff a little and you will get your monies worth and a friend who appreciates the income as they don't make a lot , so come on give a little and enjoy yourself !

Room Tip: Request it with your travel agent on this sidw , not when you get there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fontan Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontan Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 472
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Fontan Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Fontan Ixtapa
Fontan Ixtapa Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.