We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Ixtapa to your Saves list
Azul Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevar Paseo Punta Ixtapa s/n Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Melia Azul Ixtapa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kid heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just returned from Azul Ixtapa with our six- and eight-year-old boys and wanted to share what a unique all-inclusive it is. It is amazingly clean with unbelievably friendly and helpful staff--and we liked trying out our Spanish with them. Our boys were able to paint pottery with Mexican children and visit a whole gaggle of iguanas up on the field when they weren't swimming in one of the pools. It was packed--it was Semana Santa week--but you could always find a deck chair or restaurant spot no problem; it didn't feel crowded.
We were blown away by the food; the buffets were better than average due to the fact that they were real Mexican; one day there was an authentic Guerrero meal, plus wonderful Mexican choices amid the usual North American breakfast fare (we loved the chilaquiles), and those wonderful pastries. But it was at the restaurants, where you make reservations, that you find a five-star meal with incredible presentation. They made my son's birthday very special with a cake and candle. And of course, the pina coladas on offer around the pool were great; we actually didn't mind the cutoff time at, I think 6 pm--no drunken louts ruining it for everyone. The rooms were clean and they upgraded us to a balcony room with ease and no fuss at all. Everything is very family oriented, with a games room with pool tables and a giant chessboard that my kids begged to hang out in every evening.
The only drawbacks? The beach is not fantastic; we were OK with this because we headed out to a sandier beach later during our holiday. The music blasts from the lower pool all day long, but you can escape it by hanging out at the upper pools. The pools could be open a bit longer--say to 7 or 8 pm. But overall we would recommend this resort highly; we're not all-inclusive people but we had a relaxing, fun time here!

Room Tip: Get a room high up and away from the pools for peace and quiet and a stunning view--and make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azul Ixtapa A, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for prefering our hotel during you trip to Ixtapa and for writing us regarding your impressions on our hotel.

We like hearing from our guests since this is the best way to find out about their feelings. Comments such as yours stimulate our efforts to continue doing our best.

We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you soon again.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    151
    57
    16
    19
See reviews for
219
98
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family recently returned to Calgary, Alberta, Canada and we wanted to comment on our very positive experience at the Azul Ixtapa. Our kids are 6 and 9 years old and somewhat prone to fussiness. This turned out to be the best family holiday we have ever had and this would be compared to Disneyland, Disneyworld, 2 Disney cruises and the Mazatlan Riu.

The entertainment, room, common areas in the hotel and abundance of facilities (pools included) made our stay very comfortable. The pools and ocean were a comfortable bathwater temperature and the ocean waves were manageable by our 6 year old.

The food was excellent and abundant and we discovered some favourite items such as coconut ice cream and a green juice containing cactus that was delicious!

The staff were outstanding. Although a number of the staff spoke primarily Spanish we were taken aback with how pleasant and accommodating they were and how they went the extra distance to give us great service. The English speaking staff - in particular Bill, Johnny, and Faida – made an effort to connect with us and our children daily to see if we needed anything and if we were enjoying ourselves. In particular, Bill Miller went out of his way to explain to us the best sight seeing routes and interesting stops in neighbouring town Zihuatanejo and guided us on a personalized tour of the new Azul Ixtapa Grand hotel. We are exited about returning!

Room Tip: We chose a room right near the pool and this worked out great for the kids. Not super quiet but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed as a couple Mon - Fri. All rooms have fantastic ocean view, many with balconies. Our housekeeper did an outstanding job with beautiful petal designs. Pillows were little hard, but we did not bother requesting softer. Beds large and wery comfortable. Complimentary bottled water supplied daily.
Food concept consists of 3 smaller buffet restaurants (mexican, italian and oriental / international) as well as 2 a la carte. Up to 4 night stay you can reserve one of the two, fifth night makes you eligible for 2 reservations etc. Occupancy was low during the week and on Wednesday night two neighbouring hotels joined forces and made one great dinner with fantastic multimedia entertainment show. Bars have good choice of drinks and excellent bartenders. In restaurants they make great espresso.
Front desk runs smoothly and with smile. Their English might be limited, but if they are not sure, they will always call someone to assist you. Checking in/out was very fast. Bell staff will call you a cab at any time, and can hold your luggage if leaving later.
Beach is nice, with gentle surf, swimable and pleasant water temperature. Pools are big, on two lewels and might need better communication with the beach to avoid circling all around the upper pool.
Great stay. Will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We travel to Mexico once to twice a year usually to an All Inclusive. We're in our early 30's and don't have children. This resort was nice however it is showing its age. Not to say is not clean, they clean non-stop, literally scrubbing every inch of the entire resort. But the age is very easy to see especially if your tour their sister hotel next door (Azul Grand). I want to make this extremely clear. Ixtapa/ Zihua is a huge vacation spot for residents of Mexico City. Its a 45 minute flight for them and its a big bus tour destination. This resort and the majority of the others is 95% nationals with 5% Americans/ Canadians. Not a bad thing at all but almost everyone will attempt to speak to you in Spanish first, also most of the music, entertainment and signage is geared to the nationals. But I'm telling you right now it refreshing to not get hounded like other Mexico areas especially the cruise ship towns. Keep in mind couples that this is a family resort. 95%+ is there with kids.
WIFI is available for free at all of the restaurants, pool, and lobby. Rooms they charge you but we found if you go out on your balcony you generally could pick up a signal.

Food:
Good, to Very Good. Buffets were pretty good, I'd say you should always be able to find something. Their ala-carte restaurants are good if to order correctly. Order local food! When was the last time you saw a salmon in Mexico? :) Get shrimp, ocean fish, chicken, etc. You won't be disappointed. The cooks and staff take a great deal of pride in their food/ presentation. This alone added greatly to the food experience. The cocktails are great, they have an awesome selection of high end liquor depending on which bar you go to at the resort. We're talking Don Julio, Black Label, etc. Just ask and they'll get your cocktail the way you like it.
Staff:
Extremely kind and helpful with one exception (I'll explain in a minute). Everyone is very nice throughout the resort. Constant greetings, house keeping stops by with mints every night, great servers, etc. We had an issue and heard it from several others. Their time share "Points" people are all over the lobby, up and downstairs. They know you are coming and that is no joke. Literally they know when they Americans are coming and "Bill" will be waiting. So you might be friends with Bill until its Points time. We were gilted into the presentation, its not that bad, not really a hard sell. However after you say no you need to start to avoid the lobby. You'll get hounded by Bill and then he turns on you even though he's supposed to be your guide.

I'd recommend the below if you stay:
1. If you are staying at this resort don't take a transfer! They use buses and its the last hotel as it the farthest from the airport. It will take between 1-1/2 hours to get to the resort, 20 minutes by taxi. The taxi is a set rate at 320 pesos each way. (You might be able to talk them down but it won't be higher)
2. Go to the island, the boat is 40 pesos per person round trip. Its extremely well organized and very enjoyable. Every little restaurant will try to convince you to eat at their place. I'd check them all out and pick but I don't think you can go wrong.
3. If you decide to charter a fishing boat here's some advise. They'll cut you a deal at your travel desk, if you pay with cash. Don't be afraid to talk them down we paid $270 and $290 for 7 hours including everything, they asked $375. Google the boat to make sure its really everything you want. When you get dropped off at the marina walk to the table in front of the little store front (she was our favorite). You can get Sopas (stuffed sandwiches) for 15 pesos each. Great for breakfast and lunch on the boat. This one seems weird but if you decide to charter a fishing boat don't go during a full moon! We went two days in a row and only caught 2 fish. All of the boats coming in didn't have anything.
4. If you decide to do the Points talk. I'd try for one of your last days as you'll get a little bit of cold treatment from your "guides"

Overall I personally don't plan on staying here again. Not because I wouldn't recommend it but because we don't have children.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that the standard room doesn't have a balcony. You need to pay extra. Also try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has amazing staff and amenities. I am a first time all inclusive patron but certainly a fan now. The hotel room was clean and everyday there were flower sculture in the room. It is a large hotel though easy access. Childrens facilities are extraordinary with a water park and designated play area. There were plenty of chairs around the pool and I didn't see the hated towel saving chairs dilemma. Activities for adults and children abound. Kayaking, catamaran, biking, target shooting, ceramics were all busy. The shows were fun with one show, cinema review was outstanding. The dancing was enchanting. Most of the restaurant staff were very accommodating though we did one into one waiter at Costa Azul who wanted to ignore us. The staff attending the beach activities were helpful and well trained.

Room Tip: Different rooms have different prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The word that most comes to my mind when thinking back on my experience at Azul Ixtapa is clean. The staff does a wonderful job of keeping the resort very clean. Housekeeping did an amazing job! Each day they would design fresh, tropical flowers on the bed and in the bathroom. Such a nice touch! The resort is very family friendly, perhaps too much so for a couple with no kids. Kids are everywhere! The all inclusive price is cheap compared to other places that we have traveled. The result is not very much variety and lots of Mexican buffets, but it also gives you the opportunity to get out and explore the tastes of Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo! I suggest Villa del Selva in Ixtapa. Wonderful meal and ambience, especially at sunset! With the all inclusive plan you are limited to only three specialty dinners for a one week stay at the resort (something that was not publicized until we arrived at the resort). There are only two choices, a Mediterranean themed restaurant,which was okay, and a waterfront seafood restaurant, which was pretty good. Again, the all inclusive is cheap, so no big deal to go out and grab some tacos on the beach! The timeshare salesmen are not too pushy, but that was a downside to my experience. We already own timeshare so we were not interested in their program, but our guy, Bill, had been so helpful and nice that we agreed to listen to the presentation as a favor for him. He had to have known we were not going to purchase anything. Luckily we did this on our last day, because as we were leaving the resort our friendly Bill was suddenly very rude and unpleasant. Not enough to leave an unpleasant taste, but had this happened earlier in the week, it would have made for an awkward and uneasy resort experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 10 days, the service was excellent, even with the language barrier. The beach was clean and grounds well maintained. The pools were not crowded, you could swim up to the bar at one of the pools. We ferried across to the island for 40 pesos round trip and snorkeled. I cannot swim, so I used a guide with a boogy board for 30 pesos. I cannot say enough about this place, and we will both definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa

Address: Boulevar Paseo Punta Ixtapa s/n Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Melia Azul Ixtapa)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Azul Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Azul Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Sol Melia Azul Ixtapa
Sol Melia Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.