We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Ixtapa to your Saves list
Azul Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevar Paseo Punta Ixtapa s/n Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Melia Azul Ixtapa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for three nights in October. I was impressed with the hotel. Food was better than I expected - good choices and everything seemed fresh. Went kayaking and snorkeling which was a lot of fun. Hotel was kept very clean and there were lots of activities going on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia A, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, and we would like to express our gratitude for your kindly preference.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    135
    51
    16
    17
See reviews for
198
90
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, México
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I went to Azul Ixtapa on september from the 9th to the 16th, we had the master suite and it was beutiful, We're a family of 8 with teenagers between 17 and 19, they have a lot of fun and the hotel provides a lot of activities for them. We tried the kayak trip and even though the waves where so high we had a lot of fun. Socorro was the maid in charge of our room and all I have to say is that she's very hard working and she did her best to make us feel like home.
PROS:
Rooms with ocean view (I think most of the have ocean or pool view)
Lots of activities for everyone
Italian Restaurant is good, little lack of choices but it's pretty tasty (thanks to Roberto our waiter he was amazing)
The kids club and baby club is amazing for those with little babies and kids, they would have a lots to do, even a private area for swimming.

CONS:
The beach is not so beautiful like in other hotels on that area
Food is repetitive
They don't offer alcoholic drinks in the restaurants during the day (LOL I just wanted a mimosa with my breakfast, after all when you're on vacation you want a little boost)
The drinks are watered, the mixers they use to prepare them are good, nevertheless they don't taste like they have any alcohol.
Beds are too soft that I felt my back hurting during all week.
It's a little far for everything so you better ask for the all inclusive plan, the hotel and comercial zone it's at least 30 minutes walking.


Ricardo in the rappel area was a doll, he help the teens during the week to have fun and get a little exercise, thanks Ricardo!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher floors with ocean view, even when you're a little far from all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It takes guts
Let me tell you a Secret, Ixtapa is the place to be, it is one of Mexico’s best kept secrets, mostly unknown to most people, it used to be a Small Fishing town, and still has this small town ambiance. It has been less affected by the Economic Downturn and a very safe place to visit, most people are Mexican Tourists from the center of Mexico. Although harder to get via Land from Morelia and the Center of Mexico, flying into the small newly remodeled Airport and doing the 15-25 minute drive to your hotel is a breeze. There is not a lot of night life action going on, but the Señor Frogs, will go the distance with its sister property in Cabo San Lucas.
It is very refreshing when a Property owner has the guts to take over their property from a Professional Spanish Operator and then open a new Premium “Grand” property, the traditional Family oriented Azul, has now an upscale Cousin Grand Azul. Do not be deceived by the name as part of the Cruz Azul Family (Cement & Soccer Team), operation is run by Family members who are very Professional & Proactive, they are looking to offer the best possible “Grand” experience not be found elsewhere in the Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa Location, it is Adult Couples Only. The Agave Specialty Restaurant will compete with Mexico’s City’s Trendies restaurants; do not miss the Lettuce Salad with Chipotle Dressing, the Robalo, or the Coconut Flan. The Asian Restaurant serves up to date Fusion Asian/Mexican, Sushi is OK but main courses are not to be missed. The Lobby Bar is huge has a lot of LCD’s and you can play Pool, nice. If you want to Party you may want to scoot over to the Sister Hotel’s Azul for their Sea Breeze Lounge directly on the Sea, you almost Partying over the Sea, felt more like a Cruise Ship Night Club. Too bad it closes at 1 a.m. it is still a Family oriented Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

You cannot get into this hotel unless you take a tour of their "club membership process" or are already a member. My boyfriend and I wanted to visit and see what it was all about so we went for the tour. The tour was $20 for both of us. Along the way a guy who was taking us there told us that we had to pay more but we didn't fall for that, as we have found that they will try to get as much money out of you as possible. With the $20 we were able to eat breakfast and lunch and lay around the pool. There were no seats available around a pool but a couple offered us their two chairs. (I never really figured out if there were saving the extra two for themselves or for someone else...I also don't really know if all the chairs were taken or if everyone was doing the same - Keeping extra seats by putting their stuff on it.) It clean but over crowded and loud! It was not a relaxing spot. This is the type of place to go with a large group or children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here with an 18month old child, and had a great experience. There is a lot of shallow pool space for children, and the entire hotel seemed family-focused. Most of the guests were national travelers, or central/south American. There were a few smaller Canadian and French-Canadian groups and American groups, as well as Europeans. Overall, the staff and other guests were friendly and considerate.

There is a market nearby, as well as a platform for viewing crocodiles - these are within a 10min walk. (Turn left as you exit the hotel and follow the sidewalk). There is also a 7km bike/hiking trail across the road from the hotel that we used daily. It's well traveled by lots of people, and it goes through some lovely forest area. We took a stroller on the path with no problems.

The beach is a bit small compared to other resorts, since you can't swim in about 1/3 of the beach are in front of the hotel - it has rocks under the surface that are dangerous. But the tide is long, so it's great for children, and it has great sand-castle sand! There were a few vendors along the beach, but no one was overly pushy.

The food was good overall. We ate in all the different restaurants and were always satisfied. The New Year's eve dinner was interesting, but because we were only 2 adults, we were seated at a banquet table with another family. It seemed that for this one meal, they had to fill every table, and all the tables were large 8-10 people. So it was a little awkward. The people we sat with were pleasant, but it was clear that this family of four had hoped to have their own table and not have to make small talk all night with a couple.

Overall - this is great for families, and we would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia A, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your time, that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to host you again in the nearest future.

Sincerely:
Azul IXtapa Manager Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel is amazing, it is filled with activities for all ages. Very clean rooms and service is great. There are 3 different restaurants with excellent food. The pools and lifeguards are great, as well as an excellent eco gym. Nightlife is also wonderful filled with music in the lobby and a club for those whom which to party longer. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia A, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your feelings regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the hotel areas.

we appreciate your preference and look forward to having you as our guests again in the near future.

Sincery;

Azul Ixtapa Manager Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was my 3rd trip to Azul Ixtapa. Everything was excellent. The rooms are very clean,the food is good. Most of all, the service and hospitality is wonderful. The staff everywhere was very kind and friendly. We went this last time with friends in the beginning of June. We all had a great time. We plan to return again soon with family.

Room Tip: Ocean view is amazing. Higher up floors offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia A, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay wih us, we are glad that you enjoyed all the services and hospitality of our personnel and areas of the hotel.

We will be pleasure to have you again here with us.

Cordially:

Azul Ixtapa General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa

Address: Boulevar Paseo Punta Ixtapa s/n Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Melia Azul Ixtapa)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Azul Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Azul Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Sol Melia Azul Ixtapa
Sol Melia Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.