We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Paseo de Ixtapa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Grenfell, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is our first time in Ixtapa and absolutely love Barcelo¡ the facility and the staff are very friendly always smiling¡ food is very good will lots of different choices. The pools are always clean with lots of beverage options and smiling servers. We swam in the ocean every day. Our room is clean with all the amenities. We would highly recomend this facility¡

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    331
    155
    69
    37
See reviews for
233
231
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The resort was ver nice and clean. Lots of pools, not a problem finding a chair. We went on 2 bike tours 17 kms very good. Juan Pablo was very good on the tour and for water arobics. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating. The food was good and good variety. We walked to village and felt very safe,. The shows were entertaining. The beds were a bit hard. We will come back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just spent 7 incredible days at the Barcelo Ixtapa Beach hotel in January. 30+ degree temperatures each and every day, barely a cloud in the sky and not a drop of rain during our stay. Ixtapa is the perfect destination for a January getaway.

The Barcelo Ixtapa definitely looks like a Sheraton 'circa 1980', however it is very clean, and the staff (though maybe fewer in number than other AIs we have visited) were very friendly and helpful. For sure the newer condominiums looked more luxurious, but we were told they were primarily full time ownership condos. Our impression from the incredible Playa el Palmar beach was that the Barcelo had one of the largest, if not the largest, and most beautiful grounds and pool areas of the All Inclusive hotels along the strip.

Our hotel room was clean, beds were comfortable, air conditioning worked and the mini bar was replenished daily. The bathroom was dated and a bit grungy but the panoramic view from our 7th floor balcony was spectacular and more than made up for the view in our bathroom. Perhaps if we had intestinal problems and had to spend more time in the bathroom it would have bothered us more - haha . We definitely agree that higher floors and ocean view rooms are preferable (the even # rooms have the ocean views) however our other family members were scattered on the 5th and 3rd floors and all had nice views of the pool area and ocean and no one complained about their rooms or noise inside the hotel.

The Barcelo’s location is incredible! We absolutely loved the beach and warm water. Shopping across the street was so convenient. Public transportation is cheap (around 9 pesos per person) and ran all day, taking you either direction - to Zihuatenejo or to the Ixtapa Marina or Playa Linda (where you could catch a small boat to Ixtapa Island for 40 pesos return). We enjoyed the hotel guided 2 hour bike ride to Playa Linda, afternoon games of beach volleyball, snorkelling at Coral beach on Ixtapa Island, and a day trip to Zihuatenejo. Vendors along the beach were plentiful but polite. It was also fun to watch the many parasailers each and every day.

Food wasn’t always the best or particularly varied, but we all still managed to gain weight during our stay! We enjoyed the omelette station, pancakes and fresh fruit for breakfast. Open air restaurants either side of the pool were nice. Kids especially loved the self-serve soft ice cream. The rice and beans, pork tacos and french fries on the buffet at La Palapa restaurant were popular. The chicken fajitas, BLTs, french fries and breaded mozza bites were popular at the poolside restaurant, Caracol. Coffee was good at all locations, and the tortilla chips , fresh guacamole and salsa were always yummy. We all liked the pasta station for dinner in the main buffet, but other buffet offerings were a bit hit and miss. Salad bar at all buffets was okay, not great, but okay. We all liked the Sunset dinner which was a barbecue/buffet. Liked the ambiance of the Don Quixote restaurant but beware the lighting is dim, we could hardly make out the menu. We had the best luck with the calamari appetizer, salmon entree and ice cream dessert at Don Quixote. Overall, alcoholic beverages were a bit of a letdown, wine took a while to adjust too, but within a day or two we all managed to find drink choices that pleased our palates.

Ixtapa and Zihuatenejo both look to be in a bit of an economic slump, restaurants and shops are quiet, which is very sad to see. The people in the shops were friendly and not intrusive in spite of things being so quiet. We always felt safe while wondering during the day, we did not wander too far at night. We absolutely loved our stay in Ixtapa and would return to the area and the Barcelo hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was an amazing trip. Staff is wonderfull. Book the combo tour and book the sunset dinner. Grounds are beatifull. Also great at thte spa. Outside restaurants have amazing food, the fresh fruit and veggies are faboulous.

Room Tip: When you book request a room with a walk in shower instead of a tub, more room in the bathroom. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived at the Barcelo jan 13th with a group of 8 for another one week stay. This is probably our 10th stay here. We also go to at least two other mexican All Inclusive resorts a year but continue to feel that this resort always feels more like home.
One of the best features of this resort is Location Location Location. It sits on the beach of one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever visited, and we visit a lot. The water is warm, the surf enjoyable ( but don't ever turn your back to the waves) and the beach is the flatest and best walking beach of all. You can walk for miles while watching the surf come crashing in. You also won't find any rocks or coral on the sand or in the water. This makes the running, walking and entry into the water that much safer. And if the ocasional large wave hits you, you don't have to be concerned about hitting any rocks. There are however times when the waves are just to large so pay attention to the flags and talk to any of the two great barcelo lifeguards that patrol both the pools and the beaches. They are always there with your safety in mind.
The hotel is also located just across the street from a very large mexican flea market as well as the small town of Ixtapa. The town is very clean safe and filled with various tourist shops and restaurants. On several occassions we would walk through the town in the evening after dinner and felt very safe. Yes there are a lot of time share or vacationship ownership sales people on the street corners but they don't really bother you if you just so No Gracias to any promotional gifts to attend a presentation. So if not interested again just give them a firm NO Gracias and keep walking. Don't be offended by them as that is what they do for a living. I actually say hello to them before they do as I know the routine.
Once or twice during the week we take the 30 minute walk to the marina via the sidewalk. Just walk to the front street and turn left on the sidewalk. This is a nice early morning walk that takes you to the marina filled with larger boats a few shops and some nice restaurants. You can also get to the marina by turning right on the beach and continuing for about 2 miles and then turing left up through the path just before the end of the beach at the marina water entrance.
If you like to golf there are two golf courses, one is actually within easy walking distance. We know of a couple where the husband golf's every morning and loves it.
Once during our week we usually also take the local bus (less than one US $ each way) to Zihuatanejo a beautiful fishing village . Lots of shops beaches and local market to explore. Again very safe for those of you that are concerned about some of the negative media attention associated with the gang wars in some parts of the country. Suggest that such off resort adventures be undertaken in the mornings as it does get hot during the day.
And that's what's also so nice about ixtapa. The Jan weather is usually always sunny and in the mid 80's F or higher 20 C.
The Barcelo itself is a nice 12 story hotel with most rooms facing the ocean. This provides the BEST ocean views and sunsets in all of Mexico. The rooms are very similar to most resorts. Yes a little tired looking in some cases but upgrades are being made. But we certainly don't spend much time in the rooms anyway. Once you see the views from most rooms you will understand why I speak so highly of this aspect of the resort.
As for the food, I do read some of the other reviews that don't rate this area very high.
All I can say is that the breakfasts are great with respect to all the basics. Lots of fresh fruit and cereal. The eggs and omelettes are always cooked to perfection right on the grill for you. So not sure of what the issues are. They will also bring you capucino coffee if you ask for it. All the waiters and waitresses provided great service. In particular Claudio, who knew how we liked our coffee and when. He was also always very pleasant and attentive to our needs as we were a large group of 8.
Lunch was usually at the outdoor restaurant where once again we were provided with a full buffet that always included fruits salads fish chicken and several meat dishes. Also burgers hot dogs and fries for those that wanted it. There was always something being freshly cooked on the grill. Usually fish. So can't see why anyone would ever complain about the food.
The same can be said for the evening Buffets. Yes there could be a more extensive variety of food and there has been a little less selection than in earlier years but that is a factor of the economic reality associated with the number of tourists still able and willing to travel south into mexico. They also have two other specialty resaurants where both service and food are highly rated.
One suggestion I would make is to have more varity of beans during lunch and dinner.
As we usually gathered for pre dinner drinks in the outdoor lobby piano bar area, a special thanks to Maritza for taking such special care of us each year. She is always so pleasant and engaging. Again, that's why we love to call this place home.

The hotel grounds are very lush with trees and flowering bushes everywhere. Staff are always ensuring that the grounds are kept very clean. There are 3 very clean pools, two suitable for children and one very large adult pool with one of the best swim-up bars in mexico. You just can't beat the late afternoon drinks looking out at the ocean with the sun slowly setting. We were also glad to see the lifeguards enforcing the no children in the adult pool or swim-up bar area. The waiters on the beach and around the pools ensured that you were never thirsty for to long. Great service by all of them. And in particular we can't say enough about how Roberto, Jesus and Ullysiss treat us when they see us each year. The kindness of the staff is a major factor in us continuing to come here.
And for those of you that don't like flies, this is the place for you. There are no bugs to speak of anywhere around the beach, pool or restaurants.
We also take a number of bike tours through the area and again no flies or mosquitos. The same holds true for any evening walks around the resort or across the street in Ixtapa. You can sit outside anywhere and not be concerned about bugs.
We will try to go back to the Barcelo in early march to take advantage of the later sunsets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This Jan.was our 15th stay at the Barcelo.( Jan.16th- 30th)
Overall the hotel / location is good.The staff are always friendly.
In the last 4 years there seems to be a steady decline in food and sometimes service due to cost cutting measures. Eg. Bacon is not available at the outside restaurant unless u really insist. Food buffet variety is less for lunch and dinner.They seem to cater to the tastes of the nationals. A shrimp dinner is also off the menu at the 2 a la carte restaurants. The bar by the small swimming pool was closed for the entire 2 weeks. This caused long lineups and slow service at the swim up bar for both alcohol/ and non- alcohol beverages. I have always overlooked the negatives but am 50/50 on returning for year 16.
To the Management of the Barcelo: Please take this seriously as there are many from Canada and the USA who are disappointed and may not return. Gracious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, BC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo in 2008, and decided to upgrade this year from the hotel fontan. |( see my review) The barcelo rooms were wonderful, comfortable, and very clean. Our room # 408 had a wonderful view of the ocean, and we could not have asked for anything more.

The entire resort is kept extremely clean which is a difficult task for the hard working crews. My hat goes off to all of the maintenance staff, ground crews and pool staff. It was a nice surprise to see the air conditioning in the pool side washrooms. Also nice to see an adult only designated pool which for the most part was adult only. ( a few local families tried to bring their children in but were asked to leave)

We were fortunate enough to be there when the baby turtles were hatching and really enjoyed that experience. ( Dec 25 to 30)

The food in the buffet is much better than the food in the Don Quiote restaurant. I must say that the food has improved in the buffets and declined in the ala cartes. The service in the main buffet and the ala carte was not the best ,. Staff seem really unhappy and its a chore to serve the guests. This however was not the case in the outside poolside ala carte lunch restaurant. We always had happy pleasant servers here and the food was good.

We spent a few evenings in the lobby, our waitress was maribelle she was wonderful, quick, pleasent, and very professional. We did not go to the night club just not our thing.

Please keep in mind that this is a family orientated resort and the weekends the resort fills with local clientel. So if you are looking for peace and quiet and no children this is not the resort for you.

All in all we enjoyed our time at the Barcelo but will most likely not return simply because we will be looking for an adult only vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors offer better views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort

Address: Blvd. Paseo de Ixtapa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach***** is located in the heart of Ixtapa, right on "El Palmar" beach, one of the most attractive destinations in Mexico. It is the ideal place to go on family holidays, celebrate romantic weddings, organize successful business meetings and also to spend an unforgettable honeymoon. The Barcelo Ixtapa Beach***** hotel offers a convenient way to enjoy your holidays and experience the Barcelo All Inclusive program. It also offers the perfect location for those guests wanting to experience excursions to other parts of Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Barcelo, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Hotel Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;