We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Paseo de Ixtapa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Portland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Location....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This resort is in a great location but it is not a super luxury resort. We certainly did not loose any weight but the food was rather basic. I enjoyed the BBQ that we were invited to twice. The steaks were pretty tough but the lobster although small was yummy and the chicken was fine. The people invited to the BBQ were the people that spoke english.

Because Ixtapa is so close to Mexico city this resort seems to be a get away for 3 day holidays for familys from Mexico. There was a gianormous wedding on Saturday night that went on until after midnight. It felt like the DJ was in bed with us. The familys seem to take over the family pool and thats fine until you suddenly have them spill over into the adult pool. You see alot of security guys around but they dont seem to care that the 20 somethings drink until they puke by the pool as well.

On the upside during the week the resort was pretty quiet and we truly did relax which was what we were aiming to do. It took us a couple days to figure out a dollar tip now and again certainly improved service. You would get drinks without the tip but much speedier when you tipped a little.

As others have said it would be nice if the lobby bar opened a little earlier in the evening. Trying to find a bar for a sunset drink was a tad of a challenge and a little frustrating. We got a room on the 7th floor ocean front and it was very nice to go up and have a siesta in the heat of the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    333
    155
    70
    37
See reviews for
234
231
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was my 5th visit to the Barcelo Ixtapa. We arrived and were greeted with a cocktail at reception - nice touch. We were first given a room on the 5th floor but realized that we couldn't lock the door to the adjoining room and we concerned about safety (2 females travelling alone) so we called reception. The bellman was immediately sent to our room to pick up our bags and took us to a room on the 9th floor.

The rooms have not changed much but it looks like they've had a new coat of paint and the bedding is new. Large white fluffy duvets with lots of pillows. Everything was perfect in this room plus the bathtub had been removed and was now a walk in shower with a rain showerhead. We had a beautiful view of the bay. We have never paid for an oceanview room at this property, yet we have always been given one when we've arrived.

The Mexican fiesta night was the first night we arrived (Wednesday) so we watched the show. It was great, and the dinner was wonderful also. We had dinner two more times at the property, once at Don Quixotes (which was disappointing as they were out of everything but the lamb) and the other time was a dinner that the hotel hosted for us out on the beach veranda. The staff cooked lobster, steaks and salmon on a grill and we had live music as well. We were told that the hotel would be hosting the dinner every Tuesday and Thursday night and that guests staying for a week would receive an invitation to one of the dinners. It was fabulous.

The poolside restaurant is great for lunch. Try the fajitas, they are excellent. The staff of the Barcelo provide the best service - it is impressive. Don't forget to tip....as they really go above and beyond to make your vacation special. You are always greeted with a smile!

The hotel and grounds are spotless and I felt safe at the Barcelo. I look forward to my Barcelo Ixtapa vacation next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

ive been goin to this clean freindly resort for years the beach is always very clean the rooms are clean the pool is great and the swim up bar has great drinks the staff are always freindly the food at the restaurants is always good the seaview rooms are the best i wiill definetly go back again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After staying in many Barcelo's in Mexico, we tried the Barcelo Ixtapa. Bought from another hotel chain, the layout is not typical Barcelo. Hotel is ok, drinks were fine, food was below par. Ixtapa has a long beach, but waves make it unsafe for poor swimmers like me. Some vendors on beach, but not too bothersome. Loved the trip into Zihuatanejo town and ruins up the coast.

Room Tip: Get a room higher in the hotel and on beach side to get away from resturant and street noise. Floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We wanted some sun and sand. We have been to Mexico on vacation at least 10 times and have stayed in Ixtapa at the A hotel that sits by itself. So we decided on the barcelo because it was on the mainstrip and wanted all inclusive for security reasons. We choise one of the more expensive Jr suites. A double room top floor etc. We knew what to expect about the food,not great but filling. Take good care of the bar tenders at the swim up bar and you will get good service and a special drinks to get yourself feeling good. The same for the wait staff. We bring alot of $1,5 and10. The beds where not great but housekeeping can door wonders with towel design and petals. Now with all that said how could you go from a 4 or 5 star to a 2 dot or even a one dot. There will be children in the streets beging you to buy chicklets to feed thier family. And I buy a lot of gum and am happy to do so . There are vendors on the beach who sell jewlery and crafts and my wife always buys.
But you can't walk 5 feet in the hotel without be accosted to by a time share or vacation club or what ever they want to call it. From the time you leave the elevator for breakfast to when you are just walking around
the vultures are there. please I've got a book , Iwant to read by the pool not hear a sales pitch. G-d forbid my wife forgot her sunglass and I had to go to the room they are laying in wait.
The Barcello has a time share on thier property and permits this.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in an Oceanview suite on the 7th floor for a week. This is a nice property. Staff were friendly, food was reasonable and the rooms were decent. The mattresses can be improved. We got 4 a-la-carte- dinners. This property is directly across from the town/market. The beach & sunsets were spectacular. Massage on the beach is a must!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Rooms here were basic but clean.
Food-Quality was ok--variety was very limited. Not enough choices of places to eat in my opinion.
Entertainment-Again limited.
Pool-outstanding and liked the swim up bar and availability of food. You could eat poolside.
Grounds-nice
This was a smaller all inclusive from what I am used to. It was not as nice as many that I have been to. That being said for the price I paid it was certainly well worth it. It is more of an economy type resort though. If you are expecting lodging and food like a Dreams Resort of Palace..you will be disappointed. If you just want to enjoy some drinks by a nice pool and sun for you and hte family and not go broke-- maybe do some tours this is a good place. I enjoyed my stay. I probably would not go back but because I like variety not because it wasn't decent. I would equate this property with a decent best western not with a Sheraton.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort

Address: Blvd. Paseo de Ixtapa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach***** is located in the heart of Ixtapa, right on "El Palmar" beach, one of the most attractive destinations in Mexico. It is the ideal place to go on family holidays, celebrate romantic weddings, organize successful business meetings and also to spend an unforgettable honeymoon. The Barcelo Ixtapa Beach***** hotel offers a convenient way to enjoy your holidays and experience the Barcelo All Inclusive program. It also offers the perfect location for those guests wanting to experience excursions to other parts of Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Hotel Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.