We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Real Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Posada Real Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Real Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Ixtapa s/n | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to Ixtapa and our 1st stay at this motel. We had no complaints. Rooms were clean, staff was very nice and helpful. We chose the drinks inclusive plan because we wanted to try all the good restaurants in Ixtapa and Zih. We usually go AI but always get tired of the food after a couple days, so this was a nice change for us. We did eat a few meals at the motel, but found them expensive compared to what you can get across the street. The only thing we missed was having a balcony. If you don't expect a 5* for a 3* price, then you will like this place.

Room Tip: we were in room 420. it is top floor ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    65
    23
    16
    6
See reviews for
36
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mpls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I will never tire of the Posada Real Ixtapa. For now it is one of the few remaining hotels in the city that are not "all inclusive". Rooms are simple and clean. Hotel is quaint and friendly. Grounds and pools are very nice. Staff is great.

Ixtapa is a very easy city to get around in. If in decent shape you can walk to just about everything Ixtapa has to offer.

Can't wait for next year - though I will be staying alot longer!

Room Tip: Whenever ever staying at an ocean destination always if possible stay in an ocean view room. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

From the moment you arrive, you feel already relaxed. It’s not a luxury hotel but you won’t miss one. The rooms are fully equipped, with a nice view to the beach and the pool. The pool is the first thing you’ll want to hit because it’s just beautiful with a complimentary national alcoholic and non alcoholic beverage bar. You can buy your reservation with either breakfast or all inclusive features, I personally recommend you to include only breakfast and beverages, because you are close to towns and beaches where you can have a very nice lunch and dinner.

If you happen to be there on a Sunday night, visit Zihuatanejo, there’s a typical food market starting at 7pm (I think) and you will enjoy local made food.

Also visit “La Ropa” and “La Isla” beach (La Isla, specially if you want to do some snorkeling). They have a very confident travel agent who can recommend very nice places, trust in what they sell, you won’t regret.

One other thing you can’t miss is the flea market of Ixtapa (by nights it’s better since there won’t be this very hot sunlight) and try a natural ice cream in one the stores that is in the way. They prepare the ice cream form a blend of any of the fruits you would like to mix and they freeze it on a special fixture, so you can see how it’s prepared since the beginning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We are a group of seven adults (ages ranging from 27-62) who booked a one week, all inclusive stay at the Posada Real in Ixtapa from Jan 24-31, 2012. We booked with Nolitours, flying out of Toronto with CanJet. Over the years we have stayed at most of the larger all inclusive resorts in Ixtapa. This year, for the first time, the Posada Real offered an all inclusive option. Based on great reviews on Trip Advisor over the years, and a very competitive price we decided to give it a try. We enjoyed the quieter, more “laid back” atmosphere that the Posada Real offers.
The hotel is small (100 rooms), clean and well maintained.
The check in/out staff were quick and efficient. The same staff exchanged money (rates comparable to Canadian bank exchange rates) and handled the towel exchange service. They were always very accommodating and courteous.
The room was clean and our king size bed was firm but comfortable. The bathroom was small but adequate. The windows in the room are small (and old) but offered an ocean view, and allowed enough light into the room to make it bright.
The hotel has an amazing, fairly new infinity pool which is situated overlooking the beach. The pool has a swim up bar and Carlos, the bar tender, was professional and friendly and more than willing to ensure our thirsts were quenched.
The dining room is situated on the beach front. The meals were some of the best we’ve experienced in the 7 all inclusive resorts we’ve stayed at in Ixtapa. Breakfast had a selection of fresh fruits, cereals and yogurts, and some hot dishes. There was also an omelette station where a very pleasant and efficient young woman would prepare eggs to your liking each morning. At lunchtime we ordered from a menu. The fajitas and taco plate were two of our favourites. In the evening there was a buffet that included dishes of ribs, chicken, fish and several other hot dishes. Each evening there were different options to choose from. Constantin and his team were excellent and attentive.
The service at the Posada Real was exceptional. I've mentioned a few staff but all staff were very pleasant and couldn’t do enough to make sure our needs were met.
We went to the shops across the streets a few evenings to look at silver jewellery. On Sunday evening we went by local bus to Zihuatenejo. There was live entertainment in the Zihuat town square which apparently happens every Sunday evening. The town was “alive” and we enjoyed the atmosphere. We also enjoyed 2:1 margaritas at the restaurant beside the town square before leaving to return to Ixtapa. We walked back to the bus stop area to catch our bus back to Ixtapa. It was after dark and at no time did we feel uneasy or at risk. The west coast of Mexico has had their share of problems but none of that was evident during our stay in Ixtapa or our visit to Zihuatenejo.
On the beach we met Luis, a sales guy who offered several different trips for tourists. Four in our group decided to go to Ixtapa island with Luis for a morning of snorkelling at a very competitive price. Luis picked them up at the hotel, arranged the snorkelling gear, and accompanied them snorkelling. When purchasing tours on the beach you have to be careful you don’t get ripped off and rarely is the sales guy the same person to accompany you on your tour. The group enjoyed snorkelling and Luis insured they got the most out of the experience. Luis was knowledgeable about the Island and the different types of fish. He is fluent in English and was a pleasure to deal with. Luis’ contact info is luizito79@yahoo.com if you’re interested in getting in touch with him or, he can be seen most afternoons walking the beach promoting his tours. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Posada Real and our trip with Luis. We would return to the Posada and utilize Luis’ services again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 4th floor and facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Changed rooms 3 times first night, walked into hotel room, completely disappointed, smallest window, no balcony, window did not open and was foggy so no point of ocean view, could hear Carlos N' Charlies ALL NIGHT, changed rooms, could hear next room so changed room again, next room the next room to us kid was coughing all night long, parents were talking, could hear everything they were saying, there is ZERO sound proofing in this hotel. Pool is beautiful, staff nice, drinks included. Checked out next day. Moved to high rise hotel with Ocean front balcony, all could hear at night was the ocean surf, excellent sound proofing. This hotel is strictly a budget hotel for people whi wants free drinks and a place on the beach. Stay away if you want a relaxing vacation. I would not recommend to ANYONE!!!

Room Tip: there is no good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Just returned home from an 11 day stay at Posada Real. Again, we enjoyed it a lot. The view from the pool area over looking the ocean is one that I never get tired of. The rooms were clean and service was great! The staff work so hard to make sure you always have a drink or whatever you need. Felt very safe and very at home. The thing we love the most....very small place where in just seconds you can leave your room and be by the pool or the beach. Definitely recommend this place if you not a five star traveller. Saskatchewan, Canada

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I were sent to Ixtapa for our honeymoon and booked in the Posada Real for a week in 2001. Since then we have been coming back for 10 years and this is our spot. The rooms are clean, good AC, very friendly staff and you can't beat the deal for the all inclusive drinks and very inexpensive good food if you choose to eat in the hotel. We also think they have the best pool on the beach since it is truly "on the beach" we will be back in Feb. this year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ocean side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Real Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Ixtapa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Posada Real Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Best Western Ixtapa
Ixtapa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Real Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.