We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overpriced hotel in a charming town on the Pacific Coast of Mexico” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Paraiso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villas Paraiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villas Paraiso
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo del Rincon Lote 1 | Manzana 3, Supermanzana III, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Ajijic, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An overpriced hotel in a charming town on the Pacific Coast of Mexico”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel looks like it was built in the 60's and hasn't been updated since then. Our room had a refrigerator with a cord that had been spliced together with electrical tape in multiple places. It was also one of the loudest running refrigerators I have ever heard. The ceiling fan sounded as if it were in its final death throes.The tiles in the front room were broken and inexpertly patched in multiple places.

The bathroom sink, cabinet and mirror must have been the original ones, based on their appearance. At least one of the knobs for hot and cold water had obviously been replace because it did not match the other one. The towels should have been retired years ago and given to the "tipos de lavado de coches" (car wash guys).

One of the beds in the bedroom was concave and the other bed was too soft for comfortable sleeping also. The sleep sofa and trundle bed in the front room were on the opposite end of the spectrum --- hard as granite.

If you are a masochist, or looking to atone for past sins or transgressions or just looking for a place to be miserable on your vacation, then this is the place for you. Otherwise I would avoid this place and search for more comfortable accommodations elsewhere in Ixtapa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    5
    2
    19
See reviews for
19
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel was a mistake and is not worth staying at.The room was shabby,and dirty and those were the good points.I used two packages of clorex wipes to wipe down all the surfaces in the room which had a layer of greasy dust all over.I went and bought a cheap shower head and installed it because the existing one was just a water spout.The air conditioning only blew coolish air.The bed was hard as a rock and was made up with really old sheets.The included meals were awful,I only had a couple of breakfasts there.The maid did make the room every day but this only included making the bed,replacing the towels,and washing the floors,nothing else was cleaned.There is no sense complaining because it's obvious they don't care about this place.If you book this place you will be sorry.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel is old and not much is being done to improve it. Rooms are hot, we had a thermometer, it was 29C all the time, Our room was supposed to have air conditioning 24 hrs - the vents blew air, but it was not cool. Fridge in kitchen had to be stuffed with styrofoam to stop it from rattling. There was no balcony - for some reason, the balcony was removed and the room made bigger. Beds are hard as a rock, pilows flat. TV got some good channels, but was small and one corner was smashed - I'm surprised it worked at all. Room needed a thorough cleaning, everything looked and felt grubby. Mirrors were shot. Half the ceiling lights were burnt out, and remained that way. No place to sit out front of the room. Plastic pool loungers were black with age (dirt?) and had no cushions. There were some newer wooden ones - still no cushions. Not on the beach, no beach club. Our meals were included, but we just ate breakfast there about 5 times. Pancakes and omelettes were ok. No toast, Juice came out of a big pail on the floor. Do yourself a favor - pay a bit more and stay in a better hotel on the beach. This hotel is more geared towards local clientele. This is not worth the money you save. But it was super-quiet at night.

Room Tip: In another hotel. lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Let me start off by telling you that those Google pictures are fake, don't be fooled. We bought a package deal, food and room for 5 people. The food is dry and lacking flavor, the kitchen staff is verry cheep and inattentive, with first come first serve. The rooms are so dirty that you can't even see yourself in the mirror. Usually in hotels by a beach there are tours,to the fun places, offered with a discount from your hotel, if u stay here good luck trying to find an affordable and safe tour. Overall my experience here was ridiculously horrible, this shouldn't even be a Villa (which means a fancy house in Spanish). The list goes on and on. Please, do yourself a favor and don't spend your precious vacation in this DUMP!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City IN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is the third year in a row that I have stayed at the Paraiso, and each year was better than the one before. With so many people returning year after year, it's like meeting up with old friends. The rooms are spacious, cleaned on a daily basis, with friendly staff and management. You are truly treated as a valued guest, and every effort is made to ensure your comfort. Food is very good, and only two blocks from the heart of downtown. Would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

As far as I am concerned, I am happy to accept modest or outdated accomodations. I don't need the place to be fancy. I would be willing to put up with the filthy floor, the outdated and overpainted rooms. However I feel that two things are vital to a hotel room in a cliamte where teh typical daytime temperature is 90 degrees. Every hotel room nees a bed and it needs air conditioning. However I was told, after checking in, that the hotel has a policy of only turning on the air conditioning from 10:30 at night until 7 in the morning. You might think that it wouldnt be too hot by 9 in the morning, but it is still quite humid.

I did notice that Orbitz and Expedia did say that no refunds were allowed after seeing the room, which I thought was suspicious. Nonetheless I had assumed that it was just because too many foo-foo Americans just didnt think that it lived up to their five-star expectations. I really wasnt afraid. After all, I have stayed at $5.night hotels where the bed was just a piece of foam. I really thought that I could accept it whatever it was like. But I cannot accept no air conditioning!

The staff policy also seems to be to lie in whatever way possible to placate the client, and then do nothing. When I called upon arrival, I was told that they would turn on the AC "early" (9pm), and then hook up the individual unit in my room. (There was a brand new unit in the room, it just needed an extention cord). The next morngin we left to spend the day at the beach, and I told the front desk again that somebody needed to plug in the air conditioner. I was told by that lady as well that of course it would be done. Of course nobody did anything. Moreove when we returned at 6pm that night, we found the door to our room was wide open. Not just unlocked, but wide open. The maid had done the beds, so I know that we couldn't have possibly have been the ones to leave it open. There was my $500. PDA blinking its little light right in view from the hallway. Luckily nobody had stolen anything, but the door must have been like that for hours.

We reported to the front desk (the phone was did not work, so we had to go down in person). They pretended thast they would "make a report" and that someone would come fix the airconditoner. We already knew not to believe them.

Yes, the beds were rock hard, the pillows felt like they were made out of rags, not foam. The pool was murky and disgusting (we decided not to use it). The floor and bathroom was moldy and filthy. But if the air conditioning had worked, then that stuff probably would not have bothered me.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I travel to many cities for business. Only rare hotels like this one are in my list for vacations. What actually sets this hotel apart is how it makes you feel. Most hotels have the same stuff and make you feel like another customer, or they fill you up with propaganda and useless stuff. Villas Paraiso is that hotel that has a personnality in Ixtapa. Its a place to relax and feel, smell and see nature out of your window. The rooms are great and the service is impecable. The workers don't look like robots, they laugh and enjoy working there. In other words, VIllas Paraiso is like a hotel with life, nature and freedom. The kids love to play hide and seek in the back garden or just play in the large pool. The food by the way is delicious. The hotel is close to everything and i cant stand those awful commercial, huge hotels that treat you like a insect. I know alot of hotels and this is one of my favourites. Dont hesitate to take a couple of nights there and you will see exactly what i mean.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villas Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Paraiso

Address: Paseo del Rincon Lote 1 | Manzana 3, Supermanzana III, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villas Paraiso 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villas Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Paraiso Hotel Playa La Ropa
Paraiso Hotel Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.